We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been a better guide”

Scarlet Macaw Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Classic Cartagena Highlights Tour
Ranked #47 of 179 Tours in Cartagena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Scarlet Macaw Trips excels both in local expertise and understanding of what today's travelers seek. We believe in the global ripple effect of intercultural exchanges and are proud this experience will continue to resonate with you after you return home. Custom itineraries, individual, couple, and group packages available. Email us for a quote. -City tours (CTG) -Boat trips -Bachelor parties -Palenque -Custom-packages available, as well as concierge services for all your needs in Colombia
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Brayan met me at the airport with a driver and delivered me to my hotel. Along the way he talked about the history of the city. Very well informed and his English is very, very good. A couple of days later he picked me and my daughter and her family up in a small bus ,just the five of us. We went to the salt marshes in the neighboring Provence and on to the mud volcano where my daughter and my grandchildren went into the warm mud. I preferred to watch. Then on to a hike through the jungle to the ancient painted rocks. Later to a local restaurant and on to a artisan village. It was a truly Memorial Day inColumbia and not on the regular tourist trips. The bus was great for the children as they could stretch out and sleep on the return trip. Brayan was a terrific guide, always trying to please. We accidentally met him a few days later when he had a cruise ship group going through the walled city and it was like meeting an old friend.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Scotsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tour guide"
in 6 reviews
"walking tour"
in 4 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"itinerary"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"mercado"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 15 reviews
"city"
in 17 reviews
"cruise"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time with Brayan & Edwin! They picked us up at the cruise ship terminal & drove us all over Cartagena. We went to La Popa, the old Fort, the old walled city & through the new city. When they picked us up, there was a small issue with my companion being unable to get into the van. Brayan managed to find a stone brick that we could use as a step into the van. We drove around with that all day!. We drove up to La Popa & Brayan & I toured the inside. My friend couldn't make it up the stairs so Edwin, the driver, stayed with her. I had more than enough time in the monastery & Brayan pointed out several areas of the city. He was very knowledgeable & his English is excellent. He made very sure that wherever we went we felt safe & ensured that we were not harassed by people trying to sell us things on the street, unless it was something we wanted. He stopped & bought us some Fritos, (street food) which was delicious. He supplied bottled water for us as well. The tour lasted about 3 1/2 hours before he had to take us back to the ship. It was a wonderful tour & it cost less than any of the excursions that the ship was offering. Plus we saw all of the highlights, not just some of them. I highly recommend Brayan. This tour was one of the best things we did on our cruise!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We booked this tour several weeks before our cruise stop to Cartagena with Brayan and were so glad we did so. We were 3 active couples in our sixties and first time visitors to Cartagena and so impressed with the knowledge and maturity of this young Columbian man. His English was excellent and he was very adaptable in changing the itinerary to fit our interests. We got a thorough explanation of the history of Cartagena and were exposed to wide cross-section of the city that included a trip to the city's highest point overlooking Cartagena Bay and a walking tour of the church atop this point. Cartagena's skyline surprised us as we were not expecting high rise buildings and high demand condos by visiting South Americans for their holiday destination. It is a very colourful city and protected from the ravages of hurricanes that often cause devastation in that area of the world. We travelled through the city in an air conditioned van comfortably and saw three times as much as we would have seen on a ship excursion. I recommend this tour highly. You will be in good hands with Brayan.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank yenally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We had an absolutely fabulous time in Cartagena, and Brayan's tour was a huge part of the reason! The city is beautiful, rich in architecture and history and we were able to learn tons about the city (both the old parts and new). We were picked up at the cruse ship terminal a few minutes early which was nice because our ship arrived early. The cruise port is so nice, with a mini zoo/aviary-give yourself a few minutes to see the monkeys and birds! Then Brayan's tour began, taking us to the major sites, giving us the history, allowing for lots of time for photos (we were a photo-taking group), and even changing up the itinerary a bit when we realized we wanted more time in the old walled City. I think the thing that impressed us the most was that rain sent us into a coffee shop for longer than we'd anticipated for a break, and Brayan extended our tour so we'd get the full time out and about. He said that he realized we couldn't help the rain. We were thinking he couldn't either. But he didn't want us to miss out and we didn't. We will recommend Brayan to anyone we know headed to Cartagena and if we ever return (and we hope to) we know who we'll be contacting!! Brayan will tailor a tour anyway you'd like, so do some research to see wha you'd like to experience and book him. He's going to be busy so don't wait too long!!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Considerable knowledge for someone so young in years. We were able to see a great deal of the city on a rainy day.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Lance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarlet Macaw Trips also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Scarlet Macaw Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing