We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay on the beach this is the hotel to choose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A very nice clean hotel a bit pricey so I suggest you shop the discount site to get the best price. The room was quite spacious with an acutal king bed. Our view was fantastic a balcony over look ing the pool and the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is decent nothing great but adequate. The pool is great right next to the beach they have private loungers and they keep the local beach sellers away from you. The beach itself is not all that great but is enjoyable. Again if you want to stay on the beach this is the hotel . The do keep the local beach sellers away from you and you wait service for both drinks and food right there on their portion of the beach. We truly enjoyed the hotel and stay will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Dann Cartagena as part of a travel site inspection. The hotel is well located on the popular peninsula but falls down on so many aspects. The reception staff spoke little or no English and the length of time to check me in was unacceptable. The lifts should always be on the lobby floor but through some crazy design feature are four stairs up a level as are all the floors. So heavy suitcases need to be carried to the lift and from the lift to each floor. The service is slow and the rooms are unspectacular and featureless. This hotel is 3 star at best.

Room Tip: A beach front hotel should at least offer guests a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scully01503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our journey started here in Cartagena and we are very glad that we picked this Hotel to stay in. They had arepas and fresh fruit every day with eggs for breakfast, the staff was extremely kind and accomodating, and they upgraded our room when we told them we were on our honeymoon. Great stay, beach front, shouldn't be missed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the coast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mySAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are great, but as always, little thing a can make a huge difference. The room service stops at 10 pm.; they don't have coke in the mini bar, this was a big thing for me; I saw a lot of peruvian restaurants in old city during the day, so I want to have dinner at one of those restaurants. When I call the front desk for a recommendation, the girl give me a name, but it was a formal restaurant so I didn't want to Go there. So, I ask her for another one, and she said that that was The ONLY one in Cartagena. Of course I did my research and I find that there's 9 peruvian restaurants on The old city. So, finally, if you're paying almost 200 dollars per night, you expect a little bit more.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is good, the bedrooms are average size, the beds and pillows were very comfortable, partial view of the ocean from the room, The bathroom is good size but the toilet is located in an awkward place (within the bathroom). Wifi in the rooms worked OK, sometimes the signal was not strong enough. Free internet in the ground floor.The breakfast buffet was good with enough choices. Staff was attentive. There is a lot of staff just standing around in the lobby not doing much. Perhaps it was low season and not enough guests in the hotel?
The immediate surroundings is somewhat rundown (particularly the shopping center across from the hotel). A taxi to the historical centre of Cartagena was easily available and the charge reasonable and fixed.
The main commercial area in Bocagrande (which is walking distance from the hotel) has many restaurants, shops, banks, bars, etc but shows signs of not having aged very well. Many sectors are deteriorated (particularly some of the side walks and buildings).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adm496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Only stay at this hotel if you have to.
Although it is well placed on the beach, the hotel is run down with only the absolute basics (bed and table) in the room.
The staff is unfriendly and not too helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansenHarald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I didn't totally love Cartagena, but if your coming here, this is not a bad spot to stay at. The service was great I will say. Everyone seems to enjoy their job and are happy to help you with whatever you may need. I have never seen better service at a buffet breakfast, which was not a huge spread, but has everything you need to get you going in the morning.

The pool is nice and is never too crowded, our room was plenty big and had everything you needed for a nice stay. It sits right on the beach, which normally would be great, but the hassles from the vendors on the beach make it almost unbearable, especially the massage ladies. Free and fast internet was great as well. All in all, no serious complaints, and I would stay here again if I returned.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_G_12313829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#34 of 156 in Cartagena
1,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#35 of 156 in Cartagena
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 156 in Cartagena
712 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Cartagena

Address: Calle 1A | No. 1-60, El Laguito, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $101 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!The best hotel in Laguito district! The Hotel is Located in the strategic Laguito district near to The most emblematic places of the city such as the Historic Center, the Clock Tower are, as well as San Felipe Castle and the Old Shoes 15 minutes away. Also you can enjoy the direct access to the beach, the ideal place for business and leisure. The hotel has 100 rooms with sea view, swimming pool, solarium, massage area and fantastic bar -restaurant, the perfect place to enjoy the magic and charm from a Heritage city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dann Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing