We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make fun of me”
Review of El Corral

El Corral
Ranked #126 of 708 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They make fun of me”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Vegans are better off never going there: the servers WILL make fun of you if you order just the french fries with some veggie toppings. I can understand that they think it's funny, but when they are making a scene out of it, it's just plain tasteless and disrespectful. If you disagree with a client, keep it to yourself.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    87
    37
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for a burger!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped at el corral on our first night in cartagena because we notice that is across the street from McDonalds and burger king but this 2 places were empty and el corral was pack! It took a little be for our order but it was perfect!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikitosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Colombia!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

No visit to Colombia is complete without a burger from El Corral
Amazing burgers cooked fresh to order!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wich456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I love these burgers!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I was first heading to Colombia, everyone was pushing me to go to El Corral, but when I saw it i had no interest in a fast food joint. However when I finally tried it, I found it to be more than a MacDonalds or Burger King. If I had to compare it to something I would say it is more the old dinner style, The burgers are flat top cooked and steam to really lock in the flavor!

They have a huge selection to put on your burger and the only place i have found in Colombia that carry's something close to Real BBQ sauce. They even put a season salt on their french fries.

Dont get me wrong it is fast food, it is unhealthy, but it is good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Colombia's Favorite Burger But...”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I consider myself an American hamburger expert. A great hamburger is 8 ounces, charcoal grilled, swiss bacon burger or with blue cheese or with a juicy tomato and purple onion slice and lettuce..and it might cost $8 with large cut fries and iced tea. So you can imagine my shock at paying $10 to $12 for hamburger combo at El Corral. The burgers do have a distinct flavor that the Colombians love. It is without a doubt my Colombian family's favorite. They have a good strawberry milkshake too. But...my goodness, for a family of 4 you can easily spend $45 to $50 at El Corral. Ironically in Cartagena, which has the most expensive restaurants in Colombia, El Corral is a bargain.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Corral also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing