We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best steak restaurants”
Review of Quebracho

Quebracho
Ranked #34 of 698 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
san rocco
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“one of the best steak restaurants”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

atmosfera fantastica, servizio ottimo, prezzi ragionevoli, I would really recommend this place, one of the best and coziest restaurants in Cartagena

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    222
    71
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Meat is ok not great, service is POOR”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

After reading reviews here and to please my husband who had had enough fish during our stay in Cartagena,we decided to go here for dinner despite the very high prices.

I gave the restaurant three stars and not 1 bc of their meat which is good, not great, and cooked in a real Argentinian grill. But that is the only positive part of our dinner there.

Service is TERRIBLE. Had to wait over 15 mins to order, and we actually waited again about 20 mins to order desert but in the end decided it wasn't worth the wait. Once we got the bill we actually counted the time it took them to come get the credit card, another 20 mins.

The prices are outrageous, even in Cartagena where everything is overpriced. We were ok to pay such prices but of course hoped for a good experience, which we didn't have.

Additionally, the place was empty, waiters were just talking to each other sitting in a corner, or laughing out loud.

The restaurant survives because their clients are tourists and thus they put no effort in their service. Very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenelfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Almost too much, but not quite.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the real thing - enormous quantities of high quality Argentinian Beef, simply prepared and well presented. Staff are efficient and speedy, assuring a fast turn-over for this very busy restaurant. The menu offers a huge range of cuts, either with one of a small selection of sauces or 'naked on a plate' and accompanied with a choice of various potatoes or salad. It has an informal, lively atmosphere - very popular with both tour and local groups. On a quieter night, it might be possibly to find a private corner away from the crowds, however on our visit, our party of four battled to have any kind of converstion - but people go for the food and the live music, and these would be hard to fault.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meat and ambiance”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Well located argentinian steak house.

Cartagena, being a city on the cost, most of the restaurants focus on seafood, Quebracho is one of the few specialized in meat and probably the best one in the city.

The ambiance is great; elegant but not too fancy, interesting decoration, excellent service, many seating options, meat is really good and they serve fast. Prices are a little high though.

Food: Very Good.
Service: Excellent.
Ambiance: Excellent.

If you want a break from seafood or are just a meat lover, Quebracho is a must on your list while in Cartagena.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCartagenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great meat!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

if you're looking to have some of the best meat you've ever had this is the place! argentinian restaurant with very generous portions, a bit expensive but what do you expect for half a kilo of meat?! great staff too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Istvan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quebracho also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Quebracho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing