We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Alfiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfiz Hotel
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was recently in Cartagena, Colombia for four days and LOVED the place we stayed in; Alfiz. The staff could not have been any friendlier and more accommodating. They made us feel welcome and like family. The rooms were lovely and charming and clean. The food was delicious! Breakfast was in a lovely garden area; it was a beautiful way to start the day. The location of the hotel was perfect. To visit Cartagena, I recommend staying within the walls as we did. The hotel offered an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in a multi-level room (a windy free-standing stairway led to the second floor). Each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 509 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was blown away by the staff at this hotel. Pablo and his colleagues went out of their way to take care of every detail. My husband and I loved our stay! The hot tub on the roof top and the lovely breakfasts by the garden- wish I was still there. The location was ideal and the staff's dinner recommendations were superb!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

As in the my last stay hear a year ago, this is a great place to stay in the old city of Cartagena. Everything about this b&b is wonderful. the staff is great and very helpful. The breakfast cooked to you liking in a wonderful garden setting adds to the charm. I prefer the rooms to the suites as the bedrooms in the suites are on an upper floor. Every room is a bit different but you cant go wrong with any of them. They have a swimming pool on the upper floor. The staff will help to find places and get you to good restaurants.
This is one of my favorite. places that I have ever stayed

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I just spent 1 week at Alfiz and only have good things to say. The staff was so courteous, helpful, charming. The room was spacious (we had a suite), comfortable - everything we wanted. Th e breakfast was always well prepared and served by lovely young ladies.The hotel was very quiet. There is an aerobics studio around the corner which at times we could hear, but inside the hotel no noise at all. Very good location. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Writing this review very late. My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here in September 2013. We loved the hotel. it's beautiful and the room and bathtub were huge. If you are looking for a place that make you feel like you are in the old Cartagena from the XIX century, this is the place.
Our room was El Virreinato.
The best thing from this hotel among everything is the people. The best service I have ever experienced. They took care of EVERY LITTLE DETAIL and were sincerely happy to help.

Something that we were surprised about was the hot-tub on the roof. Even though we knew about it we didn't expect it to be so well prepared and beautiful. By far that was our best moment in Cartagena.
The hotel is so small that there is a big chance you could have the whole roof just for yourself! (This is the moment when you wish you could stay one more night.)

Room Tip: Book the room way in advance if you are looking for something special like the rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had the opportunity recently to spend 4 nights in this lovely hotel in the centre of the old city. It was a very spacious room and the place has a very tasteful decoration that evokes the colonial origins of the property. The staff was very welcoming, helpful and friendly.
Thanks to each one.:)
Luz & Roberto Aisenberg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luzlondono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Alfiz Hotel is a great choice if you are visiting Cartagena for sightseeing. Its in Old Town near almost everything that you will want to see and close to restaurants. The hotel has an excellent breakfast where you order what you want from a nice menu (not a buffet) and has good Internet access, particularly toward the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Internet access is best toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdude919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfiz Hotel

Address: Calle Cochera del Gobernador 33-28 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Business Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $133 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfiz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfiz Hotel is located in a XVII century colonial house in Cartagena's historical quarter. It´s situated between the city´s two oldest squares, close to the cathedral and governor's palace.Consequently our guests may find high-class colonial features in its interior. The restoration and decorative design of our eight rooms take in to account the most important periods of Cartagena's history in order to provide a stylish getaway and encounter with Colombia's historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Alfiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfiz Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing