We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alfiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alfiz Hotel
Ranked #4 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of July. It is very small, very cute, in a great location, and the staff are very friendly and very helpful. There is a small pool on the second floor that is great to just dip into and cool off. There is another open common area on the 3rd floor. The bedrooms are small and our sink and shower were in the main bedroom, but it worked fine. Breakfast is included - a fruit plate, a variety of choices for eggs and a basket of different breads - more than enough. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Alfiz Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    66
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
289
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Its hospitality is a model by which other hotels should follow. We couldn’t stand to leave the Alfiz when our trip had come to an end. In fact we returned three times during our initial stay in Colombia using it as a base point!
The hotel itself was originally a house belonging to a French merchant. The house has changed hands many times, and once served as home to a British consulate. Alfiz has a very homey feel from the moment you walk through the doors. We stayed in four of the eight rooms each having its own characteristic and charm. All the rooms were spacious and nice, with the rooms that I preferred being located on the second floor. Our last two nights we stayed in a suite, which is very spacious with a large bed and balcony overlooking the street. Everything in the suite is controlled via iPad so it’s very advanced. All rooms have access to wifi, a/c, a fan, tv, mini bar, and a complimentary breakfast. The breakfast is wonderful! Fresh Fruit and a different juice every day, followed by a selection of egg dishes (my favorite was the Pirate) and assortments of bread. In the evening we’d head up to the rooftop lounge area and have a drink before heading out for dinner as well as upon return a night cap. You cannot ask for a better location! We walked everywhere and didn’t need to waste money on a cab ride.
I don’t have enough words to describe the staff at Alfiz! They’re friendly, courteous, knowledgeable, helpful! A special shout out to Farid, Karina, Manuel, Estaban and Sandra! You made our trip to Cartagena so enjoyable and we can’t wait to return! We had made plans to spend 4 nights in Santa Marta but had a change in plans and Farid and Karina were so helpful with accommodating our new itinerary! Other hotels should take lessons from the staff at the Alfiz.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Cartagena, so much, on our last night there my boyfriend proposed to me on the walls of the city. The city of Cartagena is romantic but there is something so unique and intimate about the Alfiz, you’d be crazy to think you could find a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in four of the eight rooms. We really enjoyed the Pirate Room which is a standard room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved the location on the old town and the tasteful decoration inside. Most of all we enjoyed the very professional and friendly service from all of the staff.
The prices are expensive compared to other Colombia towns but we found the hotel Alfiz to be good value compared to everyone else in Carthagena.
Our room had a window onto the inner courtyard which is probably a lot quieter than onto the street. We loves the breakfast and I was able to borrow a book from their library.
Great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feskerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Nice to hear that you liked our special room decoration inspired in different periods of Cartagena's history, it's just the right atmosphere in our 300 years old house! Cool also that you discovered our library with a large collection of works from Gabriel García Márquez in 17 languages and many others of course. Hopefully you decide to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is very interesting, comfortable, and unique. The room I was in (#6) had a British theme - each room is different. There was a very high, wood, cathedral ceiling, large ceramic tile, one window, a skylight above the shower, and a small porthole window in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, and the AC worked well. Breakfast is served in a courtyard (covered but outside). It includes fruit and a choice of several egg dishes and/or bread, plantains, etc. A different fresh juice is served each morning along with coffee. Wireless internet was free and worked fine. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the old walled city, which seems like the best place to be. There are plenty of restaurants and shops everywhere, and it is safe to walk around in the daytime and evening (didn't go out late at night, so not sure about then). There are a few people asking you to buy souvenirs from them or eat at their restaurant, but a simple "No quiero" was enough to be left alone. They were much less aggressive than in other places I've been. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the web site and pick the one you like the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtarr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had read about many of the properties in Cartagena before booking here. We decided that we wanted to be inside the walled city so that we could walk around and not rely on taxis. (We had just come from Bogota and were tired of being driven around.) Plus, we didn't want the big hotel experience that you can have anywhere. The beaches in Cartagena are not good, and we knew that, so there was no point getting an expensive hotel on the beach. (We did plan to go, and went, to Islas Rosario for our beach time.)

This is a nicely renovated, very old building. It was fairly recently renovated (2007, if memory serves). It is very small hotel - 8 rooms, I believe. So we felt that the staff knew us and was very attentive to us. Breakfasts were excellent, served in the interior courtyard, which was beautifully designed next to an outdoor kitchen. The courtyard had lovely potted plants and arches. Breakfast included a BIG bowl of cut-up fresh tropical fruit, juice, coffee or tea, eggs cooked to order, and a side of your choice of starch - fried yuca, fried plantain (patacon), a basket of toast, or a combination of the 3. The ladies who served breakfast were really nice.

We booked the family room for 3 of us, and the Indigenous room for the other two. Both rooms were great. The family room was two-story, the king-sized bed being on the loft level, along with a very small bathroom. The downstairs bedroom had its own door for privacy, and its own bathroom. The beds were comfortable. There was also a hammock in the sitting area downstairs - each of us had a chance to feel the power of the hammock....SOOO comfortable you just fall asleep within minutes. We were trying to figure out where to install a hammock at home!

There was a mini-bar in the refrigerator, and the prices were reasonable (we normally do not use anything in a hotel mini-bar...but it was nice to grab a bottle of water or a beer and not be overcharged).

There were only two small negatives - one was the smell of insect poison, but I think it is probably fairly important to use it, and either we got used to it or it dissapated on its own. The smell was only in the family room, which is very large with an open-beam ceiling. Better to have the poison than mosquitos. The other negative in the family room was the very low water pressure in the upstairs bathroom (plan to wash a few inches of your body at a time). And sometimes there was no hot water upstairs. However, I would still book the family room - it was nice to have the sitting area (and the hammock!!) The other room had no problems - and it had a huge bathtub/shower.
The indigenous room was on the first floor, just off the breakfast area. The family room entrance was on the second floor. The hotel is very quiet, so both locations were good.

The front door into the lobby is kept locked. To enter, we knocked on the door and the porter opened a little window. Upon recognizing us, he opened the front door. This added to our secure feeling in this hotel. Only registered guests are allowed. We liked this.

The hotel is just a short walk to the plaza where there are three banks with ATM's. There are a number of good restaurants, sights, and shops within walking distance too. The location is great. Be sure to carry the hotel's business card with you in case you take a taxi or need directions. Because it is small, the hotel is not well-known by everyone.

When we had our day going to Islas Rosario (we chose Cocoliso, which was really nice) our hotel provided beach towels for those who had forgotten to bring them. It was an easy walk to the boat dock from this hotel.

There is a nice little swimming pool on the second floor - more for sunning and cooling off, but a nice addition.

I want to thank Karina, Erica, and Fatid for a wonderful stay in your hotel. You all added to our positive experience. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upandaway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My only complaint is that we only stayed one night.

This is a great find and a great value in Old Town (our room cost about US$186/night in May). We had the best rest of our vacation on their comfortable mattress, sheets and pillows. Despite being in Old Town, it was quiet on a Saturday night and we didn’t hear any street-noise. Our room and the surrounding communal rooms and dining areas were spotless. The staff was always helpful and friendly. And we were served a welcome drink of Sangria, which really took the edge off the Cartagena heat.

I would definitely go back; but next time I’ll stay longer so I can enjoy the library, pool and hot-tub more.

And now, Cartagena travel tips:

1) The tap water seemed fine to drink, but is heavily chlorinated and doesn’t taste all that good. There is plenty of bottled water to buy around in the tiendas around the hotel.
2) A taxi from the airport to Hotel Alfiz cost about 12,000 Colombian Pesos (or just over US$ 6).
3) For a quick and rough Colombian Peso to US$ conversion, move the decimal point to the left three spots, and divide by two. For example: 20,000 Colombian Pesos would be about $10. This is not exact (our conversion was 1883 Colombian Pesos to the US$), but is a good ballpark and you can barter more effectively.
4) Lastly, we always felt safe. Colombia doesn’t seem to have a great reputation in the States, but I felt safer in Cartagena (and Colombia) than in many of the Central and South American countries I’ve visited. Keep your wits about you, but you will be safe and will be happy you came.

Please let me know if this review was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My lady and I booked this hotel after searching for the perfect romantic getaway in the old city. With only 8 rooms there was really no bothersome noise and the street had little traffic. The room was large, comfortable, gorgeously furnished, and very romantic. The staff were unobtrusive in their presence and the morning breakfasts were delicious. The pool is small and refreshing, and we used the hot-tub on the top floor sun deck twice in three days! The price I thought was fair for a Colombian three-day-weekend (about $250 US per night) and the location couldn't have been better. We will definitely be staying there again I'm sure.

Room Tip: I saw some of the other rooms and they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Robert, thank you for your warm words. I am glad you liked your room at Alfiz and luxuriated in our romantic atmosphere. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our jacuzzi on the sundeck so much!
Hope to see you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfiz Hotel

Property: Alfiz Hotel
Address: Calle Cochera del Gobernador 33-28 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#6 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Business Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfiz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfiz Hotel is located in a XVII century colonial house in Cartagena's historical quarter. It´s situated between the city´s two oldest squares, close to the cathedral and governor's palace.Consequently our guests may find high-class colonial features in its interior. The restoration and decorative design of our eight rooms take in to account the most important periods of Cartagena's history in order to provide a stylish getaway and encounter with Colombia's historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alfiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfiz Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing