We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alfiz Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$177
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tcherassi Hotel(Cartagena)
$401
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$80
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$793
$350
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$313
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$367
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$146
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
433
76
15
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
76
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge tubglass of sangriaold townwalled cityboutique hotelegg dishessmall poolbread basketpataconesplunge poolthe breakfast areahighly recommend staying herefresh juicelower floorjunior suitefirst floorairport pickup
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 539 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had read about many of the properties in Cartagena before booking here. We decided that we wanted to be inside the walled city so that we could walk around and not rely on taxis. (We had just come from Bogota and were tired of being driven around.) Plus, we didn't want the big hotel experience that you can have anywhere. The beaches in Cartagena are not good, and we knew that, so there was no point getting an expensive hotel on the beach. (We did plan to go, and went, to Islas Rosario for our beach time.)

This is a nicely renovated, very old building. It was fairly recently renovated (2007, if memory serves). It is very small hotel - 8 rooms, I believe. So we felt that the staff knew us and was very attentive to us. Breakfasts were excellent, served in the interior courtyard, which was beautifully designed next to an outdoor kitchen. The courtyard had lovely potted plants and arches. Breakfast included a BIG bowl of cut-up fresh tropical fruit, juice, coffee or tea, eggs cooked to order, and a side of your choice of starch - fried yuca, fried plantain (patacon), a basket of toast, or a combination of the 3. The ladies who served breakfast were really nice.

We booked the family room for 3 of us, and the Indigenous room for the other two. Both rooms were great. The family room was two-story, the king-sized bed being on the loft level, along with a very small bathroom. The downstairs bedroom had its own door for privacy, and its own bathroom. The beds were comfortable. There was also a hammock in the sitting area downstairs - each of us had a chance to feel the power of the hammock....SOOO comfortable you just fall asleep within minutes. We were trying to figure out where to install a hammock at home!

There was a mini-bar in the refrigerator, and the prices were reasonable (we normally do not use anything in a hotel mini-bar...but it was nice to grab a bottle of water or a beer and not be overcharged).

There were only two small negatives - one was the smell of insect poison, but I think it is probably fairly important to use it, and either we got used to it or it dissapated on its own. The smell was only in the family room, which is very large with an open-beam ceiling. Better to have the poison than mosquitos. The other negative in the family room was the very low water pressure in the upstairs bathroom (plan to wash a few inches of your body at a time). And sometimes there was no hot water upstairs. However, I would still book the family room - it was nice to have the sitting area (and the hammock!!) The other room had no problems - and it had a huge bathtub/shower.
The indigenous room was on the first floor, just off the breakfast area. The family room entrance was on the second floor. The hotel is very quiet, so both locations were good.

The front door into the lobby is kept locked. To enter, we knocked on the door and the porter opened a little window. Upon recognizing us, he opened the front door. This added to our secure feeling in this hotel. Only registered guests are allowed. We liked this.

The hotel is just a short walk to the plaza where there are three banks with ATM's. There are a number of good restaurants, sights, and shops within walking distance too. The location is great. Be sure to carry the hotel's business card with you in case you take a taxi or need directions. Because it is small, the hotel is not well-known by everyone.

When we had our day going to Islas Rosario (we chose Cocoliso, which was really nice) our hotel provided beach towels for those who had forgotten to bring them. It was an easy walk to the boat dock from this hotel.

There is a nice little swimming pool on the second floor - more for sunning and cooling off, but a nice addition.

I want to thank Karina, Erica, and Fatid for a wonderful stay in your hotel. You all added to our positive experience. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upandaway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My only complaint is that we only stayed one night.

This is a great find and a great value in Old Town (our room cost about US$186/night in May). We had the best rest of our vacation on their comfortable mattress, sheets and pillows. Despite being in Old Town, it was quiet on a Saturday night and we didn’t hear any street-noise. Our room and the surrounding communal rooms and dining areas were spotless. The staff was always helpful and friendly. And we were served a welcome drink of Sangria, which really took the edge off the Cartagena heat.

I would definitely go back; but next time I’ll stay longer so I can enjoy the library, pool and hot-tub more.

And now, Cartagena travel tips:

1) The tap water seemed fine to drink, but is heavily chlorinated and doesn’t taste all that good. There is plenty of bottled water to buy around in the tiendas around the hotel.
2) A taxi from the airport to Hotel Alfiz cost about 12,000 Colombian Pesos (or just over US$ 6).
3) For a quick and rough Colombian Peso to US$ conversion, move the decimal point to the left three spots, and divide by two. For example: 20,000 Colombian Pesos would be about $10. This is not exact (our conversion was 1883 Colombian Pesos to the US$), but is a good ballpark and you can barter more effectively.
4) Lastly, we always felt safe. Colombia doesn’t seem to have a great reputation in the States, but I felt safer in Cartagena (and Colombia) than in many of the Central and South American countries I’ve visited. Keep your wits about you, but you will be safe and will be happy you came.

Please let me know if this review was helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My lady and I booked this hotel after searching for the perfect romantic getaway in the old city. With only 8 rooms there was really no bothersome noise and the street had little traffic. The room was large, comfortable, gorgeously furnished, and very romantic. The staff were unobtrusive in their presence and the morning breakfasts were delicious. The pool is small and refreshing, and we used the hot-tub on the top floor sun deck twice in three days! The price I thought was fair for a Colombian three-day-weekend (about $250 US per night) and the location couldn't have been better. We will definitely be staying there again I'm sure.

Room Tip: I saw some of the other rooms and they are all beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Robert, thank you for your warm words. I am glad you liked your room at Alfiz and luxuriated in our romantic atmosphere. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our jacuzzi on the sundeck so much!
Hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found the Alfiz hotel on Trip Advisor and stayed for 5 nights, together with some friends of ours.

We loved every minute of our stay at the hotel.

The hotel is exactly as the pictures look. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The linen and toweling are high quality and immaculately clean.

The breakfasts were fresh, healthy and made to order.

The staff are friendly, helpful, courteous. The reception staff speak perfect English.

The pool is not big, however it is perfect for the hotel.

The hotel is in a prime location in the heart of the old city and is walking-distance to most of the major attractions.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Beverley B, Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words! It really means a lot to me and to our entire team who try hard every day. I am so glad you find our rooms spacious and clean, liked our central location in the middle of the old city, and enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you at our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We used Trip Advisor to review several options for our recent trip to Cartagena. The staff were very welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived until we departed. From time to time we had questions regarding things to do, services, or simply directions and we were always given the time for complete explanations and responses. Our room was very nice - characteristically matching the decor of the main hotel with the interior space - we particularly liked the loft sleeping area and Spanish based artwork. We have good friends in Cartagena who - from time to time - offer referrals to visitors and friends. They will be putting Hotel Alfiz on the top of that list.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are more spacious!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. Good to hear you found our staff helpful as we always try to give useful information about Cartagena. Our goal is to help our guests to have a great experience in the city. We are glad you are with us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews