We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of El Bistro

El Bistro
Ranked #77 of 689 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

El Bistro is one of my regular haunts in Cartagena. It is very casual, great food and extremely reasonabke for Cartagena. If you arelooking for a "fine dining" experience with white tablecloth service, this is not the place for you. If you want a great meal and excellent people watching, this would be the place. This is the only neighborhood bar/restaurant that I've found in Cartagena.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    271
    69
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hip and Local - very good food”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Wandered in for lunch one day, full of locals chowing down on gorgeous langoustines, sea bass and other seafood goodies, washing it down with good draft beers. Menu is on the chalkboard. Very comfortable and relaxed. We had fish one day, served with salad and patacones, and went back another day for the langoustine, which were huge and delicious. Next trip we'll try it for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We went here several times for lunch and found it delicious and great value. They do a great lulo juice!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service and hearty portions”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited El Bistro our first night in Cartagena and were very pleased with the meal . We had the chicken in BBQ sauce and the barbecue Ribs . Both we're filling and very tasty. Our server was very helpful even though we have no Spanish and he had little English. The atmosphere was comfortable and the restaurant had some interesting art on the walls. Great value for the money!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathym1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been to Cartagena many times on a cruise ship so we just wanted to go to lunch in the old city. El Bistro was a wonderful lunch. Would recommend highly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catlady143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bistro also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing