We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Bistro

El Bistro
Ranked #68 of 669 Restaurants in Cartagena
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came back to El Bistro after our first dinner because it was that tasty. I had shrimp and calamari, my boyfriend had steak; both were excellent. The next day we shared the paella, and it was also delicious. Our waitress was attentive and very friendly. We actually stayed until closing--it's a really nice environment. We had great food and a lot of fun, so I'd definitely recommend checking it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    267
    68
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good Enough TO Personally Thank The Cooks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great for lunch or dinner. Prices are moderate. Order off the daily calk board menu for some delightful creations. The atmosphere is casual and they have a good central location. All pork dishes hit the mark. The restaurant was full of local diners having a good time-that is a very good indication on what your dinning experience will be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Epic food, great character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a superb meal here. Was about 40 US dollars for two with a couple of drinks and a main each. BBQ ribs were great, as was the pork chorizo, well presented and super tasty.
We loved the setting and general look of the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Casual spot, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped in here after a long hot walk and were relieved to find a relaxed atmosphere and good prices for a delicious lunch! My husband's paella was authentic and tasty. We would go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DarcyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was around 2:00 pm. We had not eaten lunch yet and were tired. Crowded restaurants are usually a good sign that the food is decent and fresh--but what a surprise at El Bistro! The service was friendly and helpful and the food was soooo good. I ordered the Filet of Dorado, which came with a delicious cauliflower soup, a very tasty salad and the fish was prepared perfectly. And for all that, the price was 16,000 pesos--about $8.00 US. We ended up returning two more times including our last night's dinner in the country. Each time, the food was wonderfully prepared and the service was commendable. We ordered the langostinos for dinner . All I can say is WOW. 6 juicy fat, grilled to perfection, with very tasty friend potatoes. Each bite of everything was pure pleasure. Hey...even the cappuccino came to our table hot and the desserts (mango tart and chocolate something... were yummy).
I highly recommend this restaurant. It shows that passion for food and customer service don't always require high prices to back them up. This is a simple restaurant with excellent food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bistro also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing