We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what they offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After looking the pictures they show in the web site I decided to make a reservation for the Don Jaime room. My first impression was that pictures look much better than the room itself. The room is small and the sea view is eclipsed by a 42" LCD TV located in the very center of the window. Conclusion, five hundred dollars per night is just to much for this hotel that has nothing special to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 145 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel very recently and must be honest -- I was underwhelmed. The hotel was nice. But that was it -- it was just nice. For the money that we paid for our room (nearly $400 per night), we could have stayed in a much better place with better views and in a better hotel. The location of the hotel was great -- but Cartagena is such a small town, anywhere in El Centro is a good location. The pool's location is also odd -- it is right in the middle of the hotel where everyone walks through so there is no privacy and little to no sun. It would have been much more prudent to have a pool on the rooftop where there is sun and a bit more privacy. The breakfast, however, was fantastic! The food was delicious and the staff were very helpful. Our favorite was Fernando who was very helpful and talkative (even though our Spanish was quite limited) but he was always there to help. Overall, this is a nice hotel, and it is not a bad decision if you decide to stay there. But for us, it was not worth the money that we paid. I think for that price point, we were hoping for a more stylish and trendy boutique hotel while still honoring the historic architecture of the building, which we saw in many other hotels as we walked through Cartagena.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sansari528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent location, and extremely helpful, friendly staff. Very pleasant breakfast. Rooms well kept and serviced at least twice a day. Nice touches like robes and slippers. Pool is tiny but part of a charming and cute courtyard. We were two 30 something women travelljg alone and felt very comfortable and safe. Perhaps slightly overpriced, but that's truly the only remotely negative comment. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Androniki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at La Merced. Service was remarkable …. all staff provided an excellent service but must give a special mention to Daniel and Fernando who clearly made a difference. Very relax atmosphere, we truly felt at home while living in a very beautiful environment. The hotel is located in a very quiet street but is very close (walking distance) to the great restaurants and shops.

Recommend as great location for couples - I rate this hotel as excellent!

Francois

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I originally booked a different hotel; after a 17 hour journey, I arrived at the hotel and was told I did not have a room. I was devastated as I really wanted to be in a boutique hotel in the historical part of town. LUCKILY, it happened as I was placed at Hotel La Merced, where I was welcomed by a helpful, doting staff. My room in this beautiful property was a walk-up to the 4th floor, but worth the climb as it was spacious, clean, modern, great linens with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The breakfast was made to order and I enjoyed the chance to try traditional Colombian food prepared and served with pride. My thanks to the great staff, particularly Daniel.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms on the 4th floor have a large outdoor terrace and hot tub overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseMHern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a quiet and relaxing time at this beautiful corner in cartagena. We arrived tired and hot(we went from 9 to 35 degrees celsious in one hr journey from bogota) - and they received us with an AC temperature ready car and a cooler with cold water....once we arrived at the hotel another welcome drink! This time some kind of delicious exotic fruit juice.....and a cold wet towel for each one to refresh.....

Our room besides having about 50 sq mts, was absolutely perfect, nothing like some expensive hotels that exaggerate and become somewhat pre potent, this one had the luxury and good taste hand in hand. A few design pieces mixed with natural finishing material and the perfect lighting.

Breakfast time was one of our most enjoyed moments.....theres is a complete menu which offers from french toast to their typical empanada, everything done fresh, on the spot. We also enjoyed the mango lemonade served on the jacuzzi, and the ocean view.

I usually have something to complaint about....but this place offered exactly what we were looking for, it was like staying at our home, away from home.

Room Tip: Room Don antonio was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmanickchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great stay, pampered all the time, best breakfast ever, silence, help. Exquisite. The hotel manager, Doña Johan, a pearl, se made our stay! And also Daniel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inesarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#82 of 159 in Cartagena
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#63 of 159 in Cartagena
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#97 of 159 in Cartagena
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#30 of 159 in Cartagena
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#27 of 159 in Cartagena
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal

Address: Calle Don Sancho No. 36 - 165 | Centro, Cartagena 3333, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $118 - $948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Merced Hotel Boutique was designed to offer its guests a place where they will enjoy the full comfort of a first class hotel/in the privacy that you will only find at home. All the rates Includes free high speed internet access/breakfast and airport transfers if you provide the flight information. Experiencing Cartagena will give you a unique feeling of history/beauty and magic.La Merced Hotel boutique is part of the historical past filled with pirates/sea and treasures. This Boutiques mansion was built during the first half of the XVIII century.It was both the scene and the target of countless battles and its history is closely linked to that of colonial Cartagena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing