We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of a hotel combined with the sensation of being at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
Ranked #86 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great stay, pampered all the time, best breakfast ever, silence, help. Exquisite. The hotel manager, Doña Johan, a pearl, se made our stay! And also Daniel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inesarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this excellent hotel. Even though rooms are a bit on the small side, bed and pillows were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great (very needed in this 'hot' city of Cartagena).
Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. They were also very helpful with every request and in contacting all the tour companies for confirmations and/or questions.
Loved the cozy pool!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothing_but_treble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I just had the most beautiful wedding anniversary on Cartagena, and thanks to all the sweet details and special service from the people at La Merced, i can say that IT WAS PERFECT!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi_col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamerced, Joan Mac Master, Gerente at NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009
Google Translation

Nos alegra saber que disfrutaron su estadia, esperamos contar con su grata presencia nuevamente, en La Merced Hotel Boutique, su casa en Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We were supposed to stay two nights in the hotel but we end up staying five. Employees and the manager were great. During my stay, I got sick and the manager went with me to see the specialist. I had never had such personalized attention!

Since you walk in the hotel you feel a level of relaxation and tranquility. This hotel is not like the big hotels, service is very personalized and people are willing to help you with anything you may need. It is well located from walking distance from main parks and plazas.
I loved the hotel. When I walked in the building it was great to experience the Colombian coast traditions right away. The decorations were done with modern handcrafts and cool furniture.
The room and bathroom were spacious, clean and looked almost brand new. A nice little detail that I liked, was that at night, when I went back to get some rest from the hot streets of Cartagena, I found a basket of local juicy fruits (first night only). It was cool that they took care of little details.

In the morning, I enjoyed the Jacuzzi that is located at the top of the building and when I got to hot I went downstairs to the pool. Even though, I would have liked the Jacuzzi and the pool in the same floor, the colonial infrastructure makes it difficult.

Price is somewhat high but aligned with the others high end hotel boutiques of the area. If you want to have a great gateway or even a honeymoon you cannot got wrong with La Merced.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank conosur24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Honestly the best hotel I have ever stayed at... and I have traveled extensively, worth every penny.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Boricuazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Maria_Aguirre_NH, Gerente at NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitación en el último piso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jheyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Maria_Aguirre_NH, Gerente at NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#82 of 158 in Cartagena
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#87 of 158 in Cartagena
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#72 of 158 in Cartagena
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
#61 of 158 in Cartagena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal

Address: Calle Don Sancho No. 36 - 165 | Centro, Cartagena 3333, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $142 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Merced Hotel Boutique was designed to offer its guests a place where they will enjoy the full comfort of a first class hotel/in the privacy that you will only find at home. All the rates Includes free high speed internet access/breakfast and airport transfers if you provide the flight information. Experiencing Cartagena will give you a unique feeling of history/beauty and magic.La Merced Hotel boutique is part of the historical past filled with pirates/sea and treasures. This Boutiques mansion was built during the first half of the XVIII century.It was both the scene and the target of countless battles and its history is closely linked to that of colonial Cartagena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing