We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor, average service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Passion Hotel Lounge
Ranked #84 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, average service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, and the roof with its swimming-pool is spectacular. But I found the service poor, and was left wondering whether the staff were taking it easy with the owner absent, or whether this is a hotel established by an interior designer who doesn't know about hotel management.

The receptionist was particularly charmless and unhelpful - our room was changed without any notice and she misread our booking and claimed that it wasn't valid (if she'd just read to the end of the paragraph, she would have seen it was correct). We asked for an aromotica (herbal or fruit tea) but they didn't have any and brought us black tea (without milk), and 24 hours later had still failed to get any (very easy to buy in any shop in Cartagena). And the lightbulbs in the bedside lamp were both broken - if I ran a hotel, I would check to see if all the lights worked before guests arrived, but not apparently at La Passion. These complaints wouldn't matter so much in a budget or mid-level hotel, but at this price, I would really expect better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    55
    24
    13
    13
See reviews for
29
130
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In fact, some of the travelers are right, the hotel does not worth the money. We have seen other hotels during our stay in Cartagena that seem to be more interesting for the relation price-quality. We arrived at the hotel with a reservation of a junior suite with balcony. They gave us a room in the ground floor, without any balcony or even an outside window, and with strong smell of humidity.
We complained to the staff and they sent us to the owner, who said he was sorry and that the next day we would be moved to the Suite (the best room of the hotel) as compensation. It was weird because we arrived late and we were supposed to be in a balcony room, but for some reason another couple arrived before and they gave them our bedroom (we guess they complained of the initial bedroom and since they stayed more days than we do, they were moved). The following day we were moved to another bedroom without balcony, and of course not the promised SUITE.
This was even weirder. We complained again and the owner said that the suite was busy since the couple that is supposed to leave stayed (OF COURSE! THEY HAD THE SUITE BOOKED for more days!!), then we said we were really disappointed because of the management of the whole thing and he said he understand, but we think he really doesn’t care. Finally he said he would do a discount in our bill the next day.
The next day doing the check out, he showed us the bill with some extra charges we did not understand like tips (tips in a hotel???????) for an amount of more than 10% of the bill. Then if you have the discount and the extra charges, it was almost the same bill.

The hotel is beautiful, it is in the heart of Cartagena, the service and the staff are correct, and the swimming pool is awesome, but it does not deserve to spend this amount of money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lluc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochristi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been staying at the hotel "La Passion" for 4 days in september 2012. It is a very nice, romantic hotel. Breakfast is very tatsy and very fresh! Our room was amazing, having a very nice comfortable bed. Air conditionning was working as it should. The pool on the roof is just amazing,offering great vues at the towers of the old city center. In front of the hotel, there is a ballet school, every day from 5.30 pm till 9 pm. The music is nice although a bit loud, but one could try a ballet in the pool just to have fun ( we are kidding), but it has never actually disturbed much. Although the English knowledge of the hotel staff could be better, we manage to communicate with each other, the staff is very friendly and willing to help. If ever again in Cartagena, we would for sure come back to stay at La Passion!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaroschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our stay at the Passion hotel was far too short. On the tail end of our trip to Colombia, we emphatically enjoyed our room, the hotel, location and incredible roof deck with pool. The aforementioned cat in some reviews did not show it’s face, and after spending a few nights at the beginning of our trip at another hotel in Cartagena, one that was more expensive and higher rated, we felt this hotel was a better deal.

The rooms were a mix of modern and old world antiques, albeit it without losing the charm and history of the old building. The glass door to the balcony was a nice touch, the high ceiling of our room (We think we were in the brown room, given it’s by color) was dramatic, as was the updated bathroom.

The roof deck was the highlight with a large pool and nice view (we rarely saw other guests on the roof). One charm is the dancing school across the street that you can watch and listen to from the roof.

The lone downside for us was the poor customer service at the front desk, negative vibe they gave us, and overall unhelpfulness of the young girl at as front reception. She barely spoke to us when we checked in, didn’t give us much assistance, and overall acted as though we were bothering her with each question. I understand Passion hotel is substantially less than other high end, boutique hotels, however they have to increase the quality of the front desk if they want to compete with the highest rated hotels in Cartagena.

Room Tip: Chose a hotel with a balcony overlooking the street as the glass doors ensure there is no sound at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weissguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Location is one of the best things about this hotel, you are in the heart of the walled city close to everything. The rooms are very nice, although they could be better, they could be a little cleaner and well mantained, but in general terms they are fine. The pillows are VERY high so they are not very confortable.

The roof terrace is the highlight of this hotel. It has the best pool and the place is absolutely beautiful. You can relax by the pool and have some drinks, it is really amazing.

I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suite No. 10 has the shower in a kind of balcony, it is really nice but the toilette is very tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanihernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The rooms are nice but nothing spectacular, but the roof terrace is worth all you have paid. The pool is amazing, the view is very nice and the landscape is awesome! The breakfast is ok and we didn't eat anything else so I can't say anything more about the food. Honestly, it is completly worth it if the pool is one of your priorities, you can relax there as long as you want. We stayed in suite number 10 which has the shower outside in a kind of balcony, it was beautiful! Location is another plus, you are in the heart of the walled city. Grest hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is probably the most beautiful and poetic hotel I've ever been to. But it's a fading beauty. The rooms are big and beautifully decorated although one may sense that little has been done since it opened. As other reviewers have noted, it's a quirky hotel, hard to find unless you know the direction as it's very discreet in the street. Consider it as a secret hideaway. If you don't like cats this might not be the place for you as the hotel has its own cat that pretty much does whatever it wants. There's a boat in the rooftop pool which feels like a slab of the mediterranean has landed in the caribbean.. which I guess sums up Cartagena itself. And given the city that it's namesake in Spain refers to, the north-african themed furniture and decor makes sense too. As others have mentioned there's a dance school opposite of the north side of the hotel. It didn't bother us at all, rather it felt like it was a part of the hotel, lending to it's peculiar and romantic atmosphere.
The hotel has no restaurant but there's plenty to choose from nearby so no need for that. The breakfast seems to be of the standard you'll get all over Colombia albeit slightly upgraded (Fruits, fresh juice, eggs (scrambled or cooked), toast and marmelade.)

Each room has its own decoder for the cable tv, which results in more than one remote control needed, something that might be a bit cumbersome. It didn't work when we came either, but that got sorted out early. The showers also have a slightly low water pressure so the bath tub seems like it's mostly for decoration. If you want a warm shower it takes time for it to get warm, but remember, this is Cartagena, it's really hot there.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 5 which has windows towards the street. It's not very quiet but not very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Hoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#76 of 155 in Cartagena
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#89 of 155 in Cartagena
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#61 of 155 in Cartagena
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#45 of 155 in Cartagena
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Passion Hotel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Passion Hotel Lounge

Property: La Passion Hotel Lounge
Address: Calle Estanco del Tabaco #35 - 81 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 13001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Passion Hotel Lounge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charmfull Boutique-Hotel in the historic center of Catagena, very close to the most important points of interest in town.Amazing rooftop pool and beautiful authentic decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Passion Hotel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing