We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel but lacking in basic amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Passion Hotel Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Passion Hotel Lounge
Ranked #79 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel but lacking in basic amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is a romantic setting, with a great swimming pool, at a good location. The staff is also helpful and courteous. At the same time, for the high price, there are basic amenities missing. There is no hot water and you can't make phone calls to cell phones from your room (I was advised to look for a phone in the street). The breakfast is also limited - I had significantly better and more food in places that cost one fourth the price of La Passion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonbathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thierryF77, Propriétaire at La Passion Hotel Lounge, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Google Translation
Bonjour et merci pour votre commentaire . Il est cepandant important de préciser que les produits que nous utilisons ( amenities) sont 100% naturel . Il sagit de produits locaux et nous les avons choisis pour leur qualité dans le contenu et non pour leur emballage ( ils sont sur le point de renouveler leur ligne de flacons) . Nous testons personnellement ces produits et nous sommes conseillés par des professeurs au niveau dermatologie . Il est essentiel de préter une attention toute particulière aux soins naturels de la peau . Ceci ne peut être refleter dans la consommation de " grandes marques" qui offrent certainement une très belle présentation.Et après ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    53
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
28
126
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

I think you'll love this hotel if you come with the right expectations. This isn't a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons with 24/7 concierge service; if you're looking for that kind of accommodation, book the Hotel Santa Clara (a Sofitel property). If you are looking for a centrally-located small hotel with beautiful and comfortable rooms, La Passion is a good option.

La Passion is just a few blocks from pretty much anything that you'd want to see in the old town area but it's the decor that is the true highlight here. The rooms are absolutely stunning and the details are exquisite. They can be a little dark (the building was, after all, built in the 1600s) but we didn't spend much time in the actual rooms. Our room's sink/shower area opened up into the room - fine for us but perhaps not for some who might want more privacy.

The rooms are arranged around a pretty, tranquil open courtyard with lovely flowers and comfortable chairs and sofas - a great place to relax and read. Breakfast on the rooftop was a treat - a delicious selection of fresh fruit, juices (try the lulo!), delicious bread (toasted) and eggs (cooked any way you like). The pool is also located on the roof; it was clean and a nice escape from the heat in the afternoons.

The AC in the rooms worked well and drowned out the street noise at night; we slept pretty well but if you are a light sleeper, consider bringing ear plugs - it's a small price to pay for being in the middle of everything.

We found the staff to be very cheerful, friendly and eager to help. The one downside is that they don't speak much English (with the exception of Thierry, one of the co-owners). This made making travel arrangements a bit challenging. I'd recommend sorting out any arrangements in advance, over email, and directly with Thierry. Also, if you ask them to arrange for a car/driver (e.g. to the nearby volcano or fort), be sure to agree upon a price in advance (and whether you'll pay COP or USD) and then to confirm it with the driver and even write it down on a piece of paper. We had a bad experience with a driver (Jose) who increased the price on us on the way back and then insisted that, on top of the increase, we reimburse him another 20,000 COP for gas and tolls. It's worth noting that this was the only time that we ran into this problem, despite hiring other drivers/taxis on our trip, including in Bogota and Santa Marta.

Overall, I would recommend La Passion - just don't expect a five star resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Worth a nod on trip advisor - not only for it's sublime location next to what must be the most romantic ballet school in the Caribbean, situated in a derelict old Cartagenian mansion (the music drifts across to the rooftop pool and was noticably missed on their Sunday day of leave) - but for it's decadent decor and spacious suites. On this note - I must add we stayed in Suite 5 - highly recommended for it's open space and balcony - I personally would recommend an upgrade to a suite to ensure the free flow of air and natural light through your lodgings... The staff are pleasant - but unobtrusive ( I would have liked a little more intrusion in the shape of pool side drinks and evening cocktails NB) - but Thierry is a delight and clearly has used his Parisian flair to decorate this house with some lovely Moroccan details sumptuous furnishings.

Location: Great - to be noted - this is in the centre of town which makes walking to both ends just a hop, skip and a jump. As I'm sure has been mentioned over and over again on this forum - don;t underestimate the need for a good pool in Cartagena - the beaches are a boat ride away - and in a steamy hot Caribbean town - a dip in the pool throughout the day is an essential- don't get caught in the 'pool in the middle of the shaded courtyard trap'. The passion has got this covered with much more than a dipping pool - it's quite delightful. Not full service - this is a house remember ad not a full service hotel - but quite memorable - and absolutely one to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The Passion probably had its hour of glory a few years ago before its owners lose interest in the management of their hotel. There are some vestiges of this past : good situation, beautiful swimming pool. But it does not balance the darkness of some "suites" without real opening, the doubtful cleanliness of the ground floor, the surprising welcome (fumigation at 2 pm), chairs in plastic on the terrace and a staff you can't trust.
The whole with price list aligned on the best boutique hotels of the old town!!
At your own risk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Very unique and gorgeous hotel. It's really stunning! The rooms are HUGE! The staff was friendly & helpful. Great service all around. The tub was great for baths, but very slippery during showers. Also, the room had an open air aspect to it & you can hear your neighbors. Interesting to hear the guy below us shower and the couple above us do it in the tub several times a day. I would go back b/c of the location & aestetics.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howardlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

I agree with the other travelers, this hotel is beautiful. The rooftop pool is amazing! However the service is terrible! I am a person that requires very little but the few things I would expect in such a pricey accommodation were lacking. The rooms are swarmed with mosquitos ( I know you can't control nature, but you could at least provide nets), towels are not always available by the pool, if they run out of cereal they will charge you for buying more (!), and overall service was poor. The staff is definitely more interested in surfing the internet than answering any of your questions. They also include a nice tip for themselves when you check out - that I was never informed of. If you want a great boutique hotel in Cartegena don't waste your money here, go to http://www.alfizhotel.com/ - exceptional service, friendly staff, and beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank masklg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

La Passion Hotel in Cartagena is the perfect place to enjoy the true Cartagena experience. We stayed at one of the suites, I loved the opened showers, and the romanticism that you feel as soon as you walk into the room. The staff is very helpfull, they will do anything they can to make sure you are a happy guest. The roof top pool is just amazing. the views and serenity up there makes you feel you are at the right place. The location of the hotel is almost perfect, you are very centraly located within the Old City. The Hotel definitly trys to keep a very colonial feel to it, but they have found a great way to mix it with a modern touch.
As you stay at La Passion you will enjoy of all of modern amenities: Ipod dock, Direct TV, Flat Screen TVs, etc. all very well blended in with colonial architecture and ambiance.
If you want to stay within the Old City (which I really recommend) this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExpertCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#86 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Toribio
Hotel Santo Toribio
#70 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#47 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.1 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#88 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Passion Hotel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Passion Hotel Lounge

Property: La Passion Hotel Lounge
Address: Calle Estanco del Tabaco #35 - 81 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 13001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Passion Hotel Lounge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charmfull Boutique-Hotel in the historic center of Catagena, very close to the most important points of interest in town.Amazing rooftop pool and beautiful authentic decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Passion Hotel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing