We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so beautiful in Beautiful Cartagena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
Ranked #29 of 173 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2012

If what you're looking for is clean, functional, reasonably priced accommodation - this is your place. It is in an excellent location within the Old City, but it isn't the prettiest place around and doesn't have much atmosphere so you won't be spending alot of time here. The beds however are very comfortable, the staff pleasant and they serve a complete breakfast in the tiny courtyard area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapitoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 171 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is a small and quiet hotel set on a corner in a nice part of the old town (not the most touristy street). For 180,000 pesos we got an extremely spacious and lofty room with two large double beds (one was 2 singles that joined together). The attached bathroom was perfectly functional and clean. Colombia has had massive rainfall this year, and maybe as a result, the room had a slight smell of damp masonry. This did not bother me but could be an issue for others. By the lobby there was an internet enabled PC for guest use, and free WiFi was also available. Overall the hotel seemed slightly quieter and smaller in capacity than the Tres Banderas down the road. Opposite the hotel's front door there is a corner cafe and adjacent to it, a small family restaurant. Both are great options, and I particularly liked the lunch in the family restaurant (can't remember name now but will update post if it comes back to me). Most of the diners were Colombians and the food was really tasty and great value. Anyway, back to the hotel - I recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

This small hotel turned out to be the perfect base from which to explore the old city. It is in a great location, from which it is possible to walk to all the interesting parts of the city, and felt very safe, even walking back late at night. The hotel is on a corner, one side of which is opposite a college, so week day mornings can be quite noisy with the students chatter. Other than that (minor issue), we had a nice time here - polite staff, clean, good breakfasts and a relaxing courtyard to sit in after a hot day out on the streets. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yonguk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

the owner and her team made me feel as if i were at home ,excellent prices and excellent place too because it is in the old city close to everywhere,friendly people serving and helping us all the time.
you can go there when you want . it is a very nice place in a wonderful city.
i went there with my family and i can advise you to enjoy it as i did it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natashavisalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

I was staying at the beautiful Hotel Casa de las Palmas for my father's wedding. I stayed longer so they moved me into Puertas de Cartagena Hotel. I have walked by this hotel so many times but never knew what it was. The sign is so small. Once you walk through the door you enter the courtyard. This place is charming, clean and so friendly. Best of all, it is in the most expensive part of the old city.
The price I paid was a lot higher than listed here because I stayed during the high season. If this is your first time in Cartagena I would strongly recommend this place.
I also noticed that someone said they had something stolen here. That could happen anywhere and hotels are the worst because people are always going in and out. I did not have any problems. Casa de las Palmas has a really large safe in each room big enough for a computer. All hotels should have this. Why is this hotel not listed on this website? It is right outside of the old city near the bridge that takes you to the marina. I visit Cartagena a lot and love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank janbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Hello all, i hope you get to read this before attempting to book a room withese people. I have stayed there for four nights with a friend , i was in Cartagena for diving, great city. Any ways I have always been very causious about my belonging in hotels I always use safety deposit boxes to put money and valuables in, well, dont do it in this hotel becuase they will get in it and stael as much as 600 dollars. place was ok but no matter how ok it is uyou should not stay there it is not safe, we have noticed that people (staff) have been in our rooms multiple times and no cleaning was done or anything. so please stay off this place or you will be missing things.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank markk800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhonata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portal de San Diego
Hotel Portal de San Diego
#21 of 173 in Cartagena
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Abril II
Casa Abril II
#23 of 173 in Cartagena
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maloka Hostel Cartagena
Maloka Hostel Cartagena
#11 of 223 in Cartagena
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
#8 of 173 in Cartagena
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#27 of 223 in Cartagena
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Plaza Hotel
Nautilus Plaza Hotel
#82 of 173 in Cartagena
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puertas de Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puertas de Cartagena

Address: Sargento Mayor 6 -05 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $61 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puertas de Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartagena hotel door you can relax and enjoy excellent service and the most beautiful city in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puertas de Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing