We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Boutique Veranera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Boutique Veranera
Ranked #104 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Ibarra, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I agree completely with KFCB, the place is lovely, the location perfect, but the place needs renewing, the staff are lovely, but have received very little training, so they commit mistakes that make the place a poor value! I had a fantastic time in Caretagena, a must!! Casa Veranera´s owner should take care of the lovely place she has!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are better, get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    38
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
82
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just came back from a wonderful 5 days spent in Cartagena. The hotel is beautiful and cozy, and if you are traveling with friends or family, perfect. Located in the center of old city, literally 5-10 minute walk from everything.
The staff was great, although did not speak perfect English, they were able to help with everything, boat reservations, restaurant reservation!y
Home made breakfast every morning was a very pleasant surprise, with different fruit juice ever morning, fresh fruits.

Room Tip: Best rooms are either Blue or Yoga room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_M0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had read wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, so we chose this hotel for the final stop on a five-week holiday in Colombia.

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. However, we arrived during a bank holiday weekend when there was clearly just a skeleton staff, one person on duty at a time. The woman who worked the nights was lovely, but the main person taking care of was a man who, although friendly, was just so incompetent at his job. He clearly had little or no experience or training in hospitality, was unable to answer our questions (we both speak fluent Spanish, so it wasn't due to a language barrier) and was in no way proactive. I often had to go down to the basement to find him, where he was lying on the bed in the guest room dozing.

The hotel is starting to show signs of wear and tear - the pool needs some repairs, there was a big damp patch on our bedroom wall.

The hotel is still very nice, but at the prices they charge, it is very bad value for money. For example, the breakfast was very disappointing.

Maybe the owner/manger was away for the long weekend and so standards slipped, but for the price charged per night we should not have to receive such poor service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

we visited this exquisite boutique hotel midweek and found it to ourselves. the location is perfect; the surroundings were quiet and beautiful with a location that was an easy walk to all the tourist sites in the old city. The service was impeccable; the staff catered to not only our needs but our desires. we actually loved this place--it seemed like a home and not a hotel--from the exterior you would never know it was anything more than a typical colonial style home in the city. we found ourselves drawn to the courtyard and upper deck room overview drinking cuba libres and noshing on some of the best coconut seafood ceviche from a place around the corner. we even enjoyed the spa room and enjoyed a massage down in the lowest level of the building. the pool was small but since it was just us at the property is was romantic and tranquil during our moonlight swims. we loved it here.

Room Tip: get the suite; it's worth it with a private balcony. loved the decor/interior design
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n2research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Casa Veranera is a beautiful small boutique hotel in Cartagena, next to every place you will want to visit. The pool is small, but great for a refreshing bath after a day of walking around the city.

The room we stayed in was next to the pool: it was really pretty, a perfect combination of the colonial style with the ammenities of modern day life.

The best part of Veranera is the staff: Katrina, Navy, Jose Luis and Lisette are extremely kind and always worried to make you feel at home. They will help you with everything you need. Katrina even walked us to a nearby restaurant the night we arrived so we wouldn't get lost. THAT'S how nice they are!!!

The breakfast is amazing. I suggest you try the local alternative: unbelievably good. I had it every single day.

If you go to Cartagena (which you should), you won't regret going to Casa Veranera. Among the many boutique hotels you can find there, it has a fair price and everything, from the service to the accomodations, is awesome.

Room Tip: The one thing I'd reccomend: ask for any room but the one that's underground. Too dark for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PelonFJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

this is in a quiet street right in the heart of the old town so perfect location. There is nothing outside to tell you that it is an hotel so it feels like you are a guest in a small colonial house. There is an inner courtyard and a small plunge pool on the top floor. There are only 5 rooms I think and the staff are very helpful and attentive. There is no fixed time for breakfast and you have access to the kitchen to help yourself to drinks from the fridge. Its very relaxed. Everywhere is clean and well maintained and there are nice touches like a small ipod supplied in the bedroom already loaded with Miles Davies and a large Mac computer in the salon and free wifi elsewhere. The salaon is imaginatevly decorated as are the rooms though the one on the groundfloor has no view and is dark and a bit claustrophobic. We asked to change and they did so with no problem.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs with a view of the courtyard- quiet and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Casa Boutique Veranera is a bed and breakfast located in the historic walled district of Cartagena, an easy walk to all the major tourist sites, and a short (and cheap ~ $3-4) cab ride to other places like Boca Grande and the historic fortress).

We stayed for 10 days in the suite. Our stay was fantastic.

Casa Veranera has five guest rooms, one of which is a suite (where we stayed), which includes an in-suite bathroom, shower, living room, and private roof deck. There is also a separate public roof deck and small pool/adjacent lounge area, dining room open to the central courtyard, library with computer and internet service, all shared with the other 4 small one-bed one-bath rooms. We had the hotel arrange to pick us up from the airport for $30. When we stepped out of baggage claim and through customs, the driver was waiting for us with a sign for the hotel. He managed our bags and dropped us off at the hotel door, with a little bit of a tour on the way. A very nice service. We were greeted at the door by the manager who checked us in and showed us around the building.

Katerina cooked our breakfast every morning (no set time, which was awesome!) – choice of Desayuno Americano (scrambled eggs) or Typico (various fried empanada-type things). Each breakfast also came with fruit, fruit juice, coffee. We tried both types many times– both always delicious. Katerina also made up the rooms and washed our laundry half way through our stay. She was assisted by Julia on days that there were several rooms booked. Most of the days we were the only ones there, so we had the staff and the whole house to ourselves. Luis watched the place overnight, and let us in when we rang the bell. The staff were super friendly and helpful. They understand a bit of English but are more comfortable with Spanish, so our high-school level Spanish helped out a lot.

The place is definitely unusual/funky, ie our bath and shower had clear glass walls that look straight into the sitting area (so you would need to be on intimate terms with your travelling companion!). It has a lot of character and charm, which we loved.

We’ve traveled several countries overseas and historic walled city of Cartagena feels very safe. The police are ever-present, friendly and helpful. The government has made a concerted effort over the last several years to make the country tourist friendly, so there were were a fair number of tourists around, mostly from South America. Seems that Americans haven’t discovered Cartagena yet, except via cruise ship (ships stopped on two of our 9 days, and we happened to be out of the city those days—el centro the main historic area likely gets significantly more crowded when ships arrive). Prices everywhere were very reasonable ($3 cab rides, $1.50 for an ice cold coconut with straw from a street vendor, 50 cents for sweets at plaza de los dulces, etc.) A few of the touristy things like the boat ride to Playa Blanca on Isla Rosario where also pretty reasonable (minimum ~$30 for the boat, taxes, lunch, additional $10 for a few hours of snorkeling or a cabana for the day). The vendors are very annoying on the beach, they are also everywhere in the old city but not nearly as aggressive as on the beach.

Overall Cartagena was a great place to visit and Casa Boutique Veranera was a great place to explore it from. One caution to any visitor to Cartagena is, that a passing understanding of Spanish is most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vatech97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Diego de Alcala Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel LM
Hotel LM
#32 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#86 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#42 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#13 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Boutique Veranera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Boutique Veranera

Property: Casa Boutique Veranera
Address: San Diego | Calle Quero 9 - 65, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Boutique Veranera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Boutique Veranera is a stylish, comfortable and intimate boutique hotel in the popular neighborhood of San Diego, inside the centuries old and irresistibly charming historical city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Just one block away from Plaza Fernández de Madrid and two blocks away from Plaza San Diego, guests can enjoy the sunny bustling city by day and rest in this tranquil quiet hideaway on Calle Quero. The property is furnished with updated Cartagena antiques and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Boutique Veranera Cartagena
Casa Boutique Veranera Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing