We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Ranked #14 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Milford. Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located in the heart of old Cartegena this hotel provides value in a generally overpriced city. Warm and inviting atmosphere, attentive staff and large rooms equals value in this expensive city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rypnhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    144
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
89
202
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
957 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Centrally located Bantu Hotel is a great hotel to stay at. Many rooms to choose from, the upper level one's offer a little more quiet and privacy. A great rooftop pool offering a vista of Cartagena. A little on the expensive side, but worth it.

Room Tip: upper levels at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a nice hotel, breakfast was standard. The air conditioning was truly a god send on the hot days in Cartagena. The roof top pool was probably the highlight although very very hot during the day - but that's to be expected! Don't get your washing done here we put one big bag in and it isn't $100 crazy! My friend I was staying w ith thought the bathroom fittings need updating. It's not bad though so I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie-Sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Two beautifully restored 16th century homes comprise this boutique hotel. There are two open atria, one equipped with a marvelous swing attached to a large tree. Because the rooms surround the atria, most open to the inside. The breakfast served in a lovely dining room is ordered individually rather than a buffet. We stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful location in the Old Town. It was easy to walk to the historic sites, the harbor and restaurants. Free internet service is available in the lobby. We especially enjoyed the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel. On the roof is a very small pool, but large enough to be refreshing plus affording a great view of the surrounding area. I give this hotel a high recommendation.

Room Tip: See if one with an outside window is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I cried when I left this hotel - it is sheer perfection. It is well-managed with a very friendly, accommodating and sensitive to individual needs general and administrative staff. It is located on a quiet street so when you leave the property, you are not accosted by street vendors, food stalls or traffic. I was traveling alone and felt very safe here.

I had room 106 which was comfortable as well as atmospheric -- and came complete with an in-room archaeological site! The expanse of wall behind the king-size bed is original 15th century wall and a large section of the floor is made of glass tiles showing what could be original foundation or maybe the remains of a cistern. This section is beautifully back-lit. There is also a small garden which gives the room natural light. The garden is only for looking at as it is too small for furniture. If it were cooler, I could have opened the sliding doors and let the garden become a part of the main room. The bed and its linens were great and I had a very restful sleep each night.

The bathroom was adequate and had a full range of very nice amenities.There is good air-conditioning and hot water was never a problem.

Two colonial buildings form the bones of this hotel. The hotel stretches from De La Tablada Street to Calle de la Moneda, but the entrance (to which you must be buzzed in) in is on De La Tablada Street. It has three courtyards and most rooms face them. Each room is a little different. I saw rooms 201 and 202 which are bi-level and share a long balcony facing Calle de La Moneda; room 203 is more of a basic room, but it has a nice bathroom (I spent one night there); room 107 was almost identical to mine.

I enjoyed the rooftop plunge pool especially since I visited in July, which was very hot and humid.

The buffet breakfasts were good and later each day I always enjoyed the restaurants’ excellent lemonade.

I spent 7 nights at this hotel and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each room is different, so it is worth taking the time too look at a few upon check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Right in the heart of the old city, this beautiful hotel is a dream find. With super friendly helpful staff, the single most comfortable beds I have slept in anywhere in the world, and a beautiful environment it's a great base for anyone in Cartegena. Big rooms that are spotlessly clean, fluffy bathrobes and towels with hot showers and lovely bathrooms the bedrooms are wonderful and the aircon plentiful! The pool upstairs is small but when I was in the hotel no one but me and my friends were up there so it was a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy fresh mango juice in the sun. Breakfast was OK, certainly not the standard I would have expected but it was fresh, tasty and sufficient (and certainly better than breakfasts I'd had in other places!). Highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 - large room with two huge beds and a great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is a nice hotel, good location, but a former colonial house does not equate a "boutique hotel". That said, staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious and well-tended. There is a small pool in the roof. It is a good choice but nothing too fancy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.2 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique

Property: Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Address: Calle de la Tablada 7-62 | Historic Center, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#34 Family Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bantu invites you to discover a charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Cartagena de Indias, colonial city of Colombia, and one of the most amazing places in the Caribbean, full of warmth and authenticity. Distinguished with the category of 5 stars, Bantu Hotel offers an inside-edge design, colonial architecture and unique services: XVIII colonial infrastructure, chill out terrace, solarium, pool area, spa, bar, restaurant ... a bespoke luxury. Meet one of the most charming hotels in Colombia for couple getaways and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantu Hotel And Lifestyle
Bantu Hotel Cartagena
Bantu Hotel Lifestyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing