We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
729
98
17
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
729
98
17
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relais chateaux old city rooftop jacuzzi plaza santo domingo foot massage antique furniture colonial mansion beautiful hotel walled city beautiful architecture the location is perfect rooms are large the entire staff ceviche dinner reservations colombian breakfast high ceilings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 867 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful historic old mansion that’s been sensitively renovated and maintained. It’s full of atmospheric detail like the wall frescoes, gorgeous Spanish colonial detailing and antique furniture. In the afternoons with the hazy light streaming into the courtyard and the sound of horse drawn carriages passing by you could almost be transported back to the 18th century to a scene from Love in the Time of Cholera. The location is fabulous, in the heart of the walled city with all the good restaurants and shops within a 5-6 minute stroll. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TallTravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

This magical haven tucked away off a street inside the walled city feels like an escape to paradise. The courtyard was beautifully landscaped with an inviting pool at the center and the rooms have gorgeous high ceilings and bathrooms that put spas to shame. The food and service were impeccable and we immediately felt as if we were right at home...if our home happened to be an 18th century palace. The warm welcomes and thoughtful service from an amazing, attentive staff made our stay truly memorable. I am already dreaming of my next visit. Thank you, Claude, you and your team have perfected the art of hospitality!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Casa Pestagua is former colonial mansion that has been converted into a beautiful boutique hotel. The hotel is so beautiful, in fact, that people walking past stop to peek inside. And the staff is so gracious, they welcome tourists to look inside.

Unfortunately, we had the worst room in the hotel. It was the only room that opened onto the street, and the new restaurant across the street played music with a strong beat until past midnight every night. We brought the noise problem to the attention of the manager, Claude, and he addressed it immediately, getting the restaurant to stop the music earlier.

We stayed at the hotel for over a week. It began to feel like our fantastic mansion of a home and we were treated like family. I want to say a special thank you to Jennifer who helped us plan a trip to the beach, to Julio and Orlando who welcomed us at breakfast every morning, to Sergio, Miguel, and Veronica, and to Johann who gently helped me with my Spanish and welcomed us back with a huge smile each evening.

Casa Pestagua is a very special place.

Room tip: Request a room not on the street.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Casa Pestagua for 4 nights and we absolutely adored this hotel. The atmosphere of a colonial palace with extremely elegant decoration and outstanding service made the all the difference. A Boutique hotel which offers personal attention to each customer. Thank you Casa Pestagua staff for such an amazing holiday. We will definitely come back!!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ohen1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

This was the main reason for selecting this hotel and we were not disappointed. Eventhough Cartagena is Avery busy noisy crowded old city center, the hectic is kept outside of the hotel. The rooms have the right quality. Bot breakfast and dinner were up to the expectation.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews