We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location and amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Ranked #5 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Titusville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What a great location and amazing staff!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were staying at this hotel because a friend of mine was getting married in Cartagena. She booked the whole hotel (11 rooms) for all of her wedding party. The hotel was beautiful! Amazing courtyard style hotel with a pool in the middle and a beautiful al fresco dining area as well. The staff was so pleasant and helpful the entire time we were there. The rooms were interesting, everything from lofted style rooms to smaller king size rooms. They all had sitting areas with mini bars, full huge bathrooms (though they could use some updating) as well as Directv and WiFi in each room. Along with our stay there we we also given complimentary breakfast everyday along with a complimentary foot massage.
It's located right in Old Town not far from Cafe Del Mar (great scenic bar on top of the wall of the old city, gorgeous views) as well as many other key sites within the old city.
I really enjoyed our stay there!
One thing though..there are no really doors to any of the rooms, more shutter style along with the windows..while you do have privacy it takes some getting used to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors if possible to get away from the noise down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    80
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
137
305
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It took me 35 years to return to Cartagena. I had been very busy traveling all over the world. Because of my coffee business, I had to return to Colombia. But a trip to Colombia will never be complete without a visit to the historic town of Cartagena de Indias. I was joyfully surprised to see how this fortified enclave had changed into a sophisticated and gorgeous city. But my greatest delight and captivation was to discover Casa Pestagua, one of the finest and most exquisite hotels in the world, a true Spanish colonial villa, a magnificent palace. I was so fascinated with its enchantment and splendor, that I had to return twice in two months. The staff is friendly, attentive, mindful, polite and pleasing. The ambiance is without parallel, a romantic, charming and peaceful hideaway. The architecture is gorgeous and unique. The food is exceptional. The rooms and gardens are breathtaking. In other words, Casa Pestagua feels like my home!

Room Tip: Best rooms in the second floor, overlooking the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Positive: Nice historic building and friendly staff
The Negative: Rooms are old, bathrooms have mould and humidity, when i touched the wall my finger went in it and the painting was coming off all the way, the interiors of the room are tired, I never slept on a bed harder, the switch of a bed lamp had frayed cables, the outlets came off the wall in certain areas, the curtain rails had no curtains and the day light would wake me up in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank monacoguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfectly downtown, you really can't do better. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom enormous and quiet and very intimate. Doesn't really feel like a hotel, more like staying in some rich person's mansion! There is a big pool, which was always empty, as was the jacuzzi on the top floor of the building. Some minor flaws, to get the jacuzzi going you always have to call someone (rather, they should think about installing a 15min button like in all hotels), the breakfast is good but limited to two choices (american or traditional, the traditional being the fried Cartagena breakfast which isn't all to healthy), however the quality and service is good. There is no bar, which is a pity I think it would be great to have one there for pre post dinner drinks, and the restaurant, which I didn't eat in because of the very high prices, looked very romantic but again the prices, like in all of the restaurants nearby, are just too much to bear. Advice: for dinner get out of the center and go to the less touristic areas of Cartagena with a cab, they're cheap. Back to the hotel...I would go back and recommend it. Camillo at the reception very friendly, always with a smile and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor near the pool, nothing beats waking up, walking out of your room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nxt20feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our experience with Casa Pestagua started 6 months ago, when our son's fiancee went to Cartagena to find a place for their destination wedding. She fell in love with Casa Pestagua after checking several places.
During the past weekend, our family took the 11 rooms of this lovely hotel and the experience was absolutely perfect.
While the culmination (wedding) was flawless, the journey was just as important. With Cartagena becoming a frequent destination wedding city, wedding planners are growing abound. With Casa Pestagua you don't even need that. Nayiby, in charge of event planning took care of everything we asked her for, and to perfection.
Once we chcked in, the hotel was our and we received royal treatment.
Everybody in our party, not only the lucky ones who stayed in the 11 rooms had nothing but praise for the hotel.
The staff was amazing and I am not going to mention names here for fear of leaving someone out.
If you have the opportunity to visit Casa Pestagua, you owe it to yourself.

Room Tip: The suite on the third floor gives extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is not cheap but it is worth the price. Absolutely stunning architecture, rooms are cool and roomy, ours (no7) with a huge bathroom. Friendly staff. Very well situated. We shall return!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the street can be noisy. Our sons had room 5 and I would avoid that if you sleep light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelskeepturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This review is long overdue, but my experience at the Casa Pestagua was so memorable, I had to take the time to write one. I had my wedding at the Casa Pestagua August 21, 2010. I rented the entire hotel for the night. Not only is every corner of the hotel eye candy, but the staff (especially Candalaria) have fine-tuned customer service skills. They are kind and patient and will cater to your every need.

My husband and I often speak about going back during one of our anniversaries.

Room Tip: Suite De Lujo is impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaNJNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 153 in Cartagena
1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 153 in Cartagena
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 153 in Cartagena
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa

Property: Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Address: Calle de Santo Domingo 33 - 63, Cartagena 30390, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the three best hotels of charm in the world (Magazine HOTEL & LODGE. Paris, January 2011). One of the 110 most beautiful hotels in the world (L'OFFICIEL VOYAGE, Paris, August 2008), FIABCI award for best architecture restoration. (November 2010) and Certified by Condé Nast Johansens.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa, known as “the most beautiful house in Cartagena”, belonged to the 18th Century Count of Pestagua, a rich and powerful aristocrat who gave his name to this mansion with its impressive colonial architecture.Distinguished by its exquisite architectural and artistic harmony, today the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa offers luxury hotel services, with the comfort and technology expected by the most demanding hotel standards.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa is a boutique hotel with its exclusive offer of 11 rooms housed in spacious grounds, worthy of a first rate luxury hotel.Enjoy the privilege of being attended to in the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa and receiving a totally personalized service in an oasis of peace and tranquility, sheltered by its surrounding walls where you will feel like a lord in the Count’s mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Cartagena
Casa Pestagua Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing