We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cartagena 2012”
Review of Hotel Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bahia
Ranked #103 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cartagena 2012”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice rooms, next to the beach and restaurants. Nice area where you can jog, walk and site see. Taxi are available as we leave the Hotels. People are friendly.

Room Tip: I had a room by the road and it was quiet. All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartagena2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
27
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent two days at the Hotel Bahia since it was the cheapest hotel ($103 US) we could find with a decent sized pool, and we wanted to cool off in very hot Cartagena for a few days, but the pool was much too cold to swim in, and there were no umbrellas to get out of the sun (although near the restaurant was a palapa with two hammocks under it and also, there was an unused bar area up some steps where you could sit to get out of the sun). Hard molded plastic pool loungers not very comfortable. Also, they were doing construction the day we were there, and it was very noisy and dusty and made using the pool not so pleasant.
Room very clean but was either freezing from A/C or very humid if you opened the window. There seemed to be no medium area. So humid in the room that our bathing suits never dried. Breakfast very basic and not very generous - no fruit, only juice, bread, coffee, and eggs. No computer for guest use. Beds were comfortable but VERY firm, perhaps too firm for some people. One pillow very smelly and had to be exchanged. Did not seem very accustomed to foreign (non-Colombian) travelers. Some English spoken. Staff friendly. No non smoking floor. Had to change rooms because our next door neighbor's smoke was coming into our room. Hallway full of smoke.
This is a 50 yr old hotel that has had some upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back side to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have to agree with Stevezworld, this place has seen better days. At USD90+ for a single with eratic hot water and windows that don't open so that the rattling air con has to be on continuously, is a bit too much. And the pictures don't look like my room. But the people are friendly & speak English well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This Hotel had what I like to call the 3 B's. Bueno, Bonito y Barato. It has great services, looks good and is relatively cheap. Only 3 bloks away from the beach with lots of restaurants and little marts all around. The employees arevery hospitable and offer you towels for the beach. I recomend this hotel for anything from a weekend getaway, a business trip or a small family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weapon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I love Bahia, people are very nice and friendly, very clean rooms and the pool, excellent food, for this price we were very happy. It's very close to the beach and also close to everything, very peaceful, we are planning come back next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 297473Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

On the positive side which is limited, Hotel Bahia is set just 2 blocks from the "city" beach. It is located on a relatively quiet street considering its proximity to the shops and restaurants which offer a good choice catering to all budgets. The swimming pool is clean and pleasantly surrounded by greenery and a small garden.
On the negative side this hotel was built in the 1960s (there was a small exhibit in the lobby displaying its history). Unfortunately this means that it is in need of some serious renovation. The rooms are very dated with old wooden furniture and hard matresses. The air conditioner seemed only to circulate air of room temperature unable to cool the room down. The bathroom shower could not give a constant water temperature. The "American" breakfast included in the price was only adequate. It has an outdoor bar area next to the pool, but it appears not to have been used for some years. The room price of $87 for a single is expensive for this quality of room. I would say it is not worth more than $40 per night for what I consider to be no more than a 2-star hotel and I think that is being generous. Overall this hotel is way past its heyday and I was glad to leave it behind after 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Hotel Bahia prides itself on being 50 years old. It is true that this is a 50 year old hotel and it shows. The Hotel is a full service hotel, but it is very dated. The beds in the room are outfitted with sheets that need to be replaced. The floors, walls, windows, t.v., all need to be updated or replaced. The pool is fine as is the restaurant. The staff is average. A bright spot for this hotel was the hot water was good in the shower. If you book this hotel expect an outdated, full service hotel. The price paid for the room should reflect this reality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghotelbahia, Gerente at Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Google Translation
Estimado huesped:

Gracias por elegir el Hotel Bahia y gracias por permitirnos conocer su opinion sobre nosotros,
Para el Hotel Bahia es muy importante contar con su colaboracion y nos ayudara a mejorar.

Siempre le estaremos esperando en el HOTEL BAHIA ,su casa en Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
#29 of 155 in Cartagena
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#69 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zalmedina Hotel
Zalmedina Hotel
#127 of 155 in Cartagena
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#117 of 155 in Cartagena
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Club Hotel
Playa Club Hotel
#47 of 155 in Cartagena
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Concept
Hotel Blue Concept
#82 of 155 in Cartagena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia

Property: Hotel Bahia
Address: Carrera 4, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if you are dreaming of enjoying your next vacation in the Caribbean, we will help you make your dream come true we recommend a hotel with charm , where you are our friend, and where you will be able to enjoy the real Cartagena de Indias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing