We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Balcones de Badillo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$461
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
27
29
21
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
29
21
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 82 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2010

THIS IS NOT A HOTEL ! This is your basic backpackers B & B except you get your own room and pay dearly for it. It is clean but NOT WORTH HALF THE RIDICULOUS $65 a head. They DO NOT charge by the room but rather by the person, so if you are not alone it is an absurd $130 minimum for a hard double bed in a small room. It is in a bad part of El Centro and above a retail store on the second, third and fourth floor - something they don't tell you. The street noise is VERY loud late into the night and very again very early in the morning. Inside the tile hallways amplify every voice of those entering. Don't expect a good nights sleep. The electricity went out constantly so we had no air-conditioning and at one point had no water. We were told this happens a lot in this part of town and the hotel does not have auxiliary power or sufficient water supply . The staff was very unfriendly except the little cook Evelyn, though breakfast is skimpy. There is NO HOT WATER here. We finally had to move as it was unbearable and way too much money for what you get. NOT RECOMMENDED ! Worth about $25 a night max compared to other Cartagena offerings.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newmansown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Hotel is in the cheaper bracket in Cartagena (though that isnt especially cheap in comparison with most of the rest of S America), and so you shouldnt expect too much. Its fine - clean, safe, air conditioned and in a good location in the old city. But rooms are a bit bare, there isnt really hot water, staff are not especially friendly and breakfast is just ok. Theres no garden area or pool or even a lobby. Cartagena's a romantic city but its hard to keep in the mood staying here.....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_W111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

nice rooms, basic, but rather big rooms. We had a room with a huge balcony, ask for that as some rooms are smaller. Clean. Nice terrace upstairs where breakfast was served. Good but not a huge amount of food. Great location and I think it was a very good hotel, in relation to what we paid.
Stayed there July 2007. 1 week.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CeciSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Los Balcones de Badillo in Cartagena for one night in April. We rented two rooms since we were traveling with my in-laws and our two boys. The price seemed fair to us as travelers from the US who know how expensive Cartagena can be.
First, I must say that Gisselle and her staff went out of their way to accomodate our every need. They returned email messages promptly and welcomed us with big smiles. The entire team was gracious and very helpful. While Gisselle was sad to find out we were not staying the three nights we had planned on, she treated us very well and even allowed us to leave our bags while we did some last minute exploring the day we checked out.
This hotel is located in the walled city and very close to all the sites such as La Catedral, el Museo de Oro, different plazas, shops and restaurants.
The view from the balconies affords guests a glimpse into the everyday life of Cartageneros.
The rooms were big, the private bathrooms were extremely spacious as well. Everything was SUPER CLEAN. The rooms also included air conditioning and it worked very well. The room I shared with my husband and kids seemed especially large and had two balconies. The rooms contain small refigerators and one can buy beer from the hotel or bring it in from the Exito supermarket nearby.
A full breakfast is served from about 7:30-9:30 on the rooftop terrace. We had at least three choices and they included eggs, toast, fresh tropical fruit salad and fresh juice.
The terrace is open in the evening. We took advantage of this and enjoyed some time up there with our own drinks and snacks.
Please note the hotel does not have elevators. This didn't bother us and Giselle was considerate enough to put us on the second floor out of courtesy to my inlaws.
We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lospalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I loved my stay in May 2006, the low season. I walked in and got a room with tiny balcony overlooking Calle Badillo for $25. Very nice for the price but I'm now looking for late January 2008 and find it $47 for a single and $55 for a single in high season. I'll have to look for something cheaper. [--]

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinTom2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews