We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrifying Hotel”
Review of Hotel Dorado Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dorado Plaza
Ranked #96 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed August 22, 2007

I arrived at this Hotel and immediately knew I was in the wrong place. There were a bunch of kids running around in the lobby, several people waiting for one elevator, a broken down building that resembles the Projects of NYC. I was terrified to say the least. This place, in my opinion, should be demolished and rebuilt. It took us 2 hours to get checked in and another hour to cancel my room to leave to the Hotel Ocenia nearby. I recommend Hotel Oceani - great bed and breakfast. Hotel El Dorado has to be the worse hotel in the world!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JMO1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2006

When Irrived in Colombia The travel agent had lost my reservation to San Andres, I had no other choice but to travel to Cartagena. I had heard lot's of good things about, the best was to come.

The travel agent described the hotel as a 4 star property, As I arrived I found a run down old hotel, even the light bulbs were missing from the old and broken fixtures. The rooms were dark and dingy. The service was mediocre, the food terrible. The hotel was all inclusive but we still had to pay for using towel, sitting on the beach chairs, and so on. Cartagena was ok, but what made it worst were the gangs of street vendors harrasing you at any giving moment, everything was so expensive and the bad. The old cartagena was very nice I found some decent food and very friendly people. Ovel all Cartagena was ok, what killed the trip was general the actitude of the people, who wanted to take advantage of the turists. At any giving moment they would try to thieve you out of your money.

Never stay at the Dorado!!

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jorgealvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

Old, decadent hotel, in very bad conditions. Horrible food. May be a "one star" hotel if not a "half star". People is friendly but ...

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cachafaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 554claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: No tengo un consejo
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celia Liliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank riay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aromerosv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
#40 of 156 in Cartagena
1,737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Club Hotel
Playa Club Hotel
#47 of 156 in Cartagena
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#79 of 156 in Cartagena
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#35 of 156 in Cartagena
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorado Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorado Plaza

Address: Avenida San Martin 4 - 41 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $65 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorado Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dorado Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Cartagena
Hotel El Dorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing