We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second time staying here”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here for the first week of January 2012 and now for a week in November 2012. On my latest trip, I felt like the room was worse than I remembered it. Everything was old and almost cryptic. Nevertheless, it was functional and I found everything I needed. Here are some notes about my stay that might help others:
- If you want your room cleaned, it is your responsibility to call housekeeping and request it
- If you want room service, don't expect a menu. You need to call the restaurant and ask them what they have available daily. The menu didn't change in the 7-8 days that I was there so don't expect them to offer much.
- There are only two power outlets in the bedroom. Be prepared to swap out your chargers quite often.
- The hotel charges a VAT tax that is about 10% of the advertised price. They also charge you for the entire stay when you check in.
- The front desk = chaos. It takes forever to get anything done and there are usually long lines of people waiting for help. They have not been helpful on this trip or my last one almost a year ago. At least they are consistently bad.
- Breakfast is pretty decent but it only goes till about 9 or 10am. You are also not allowed to take any food with you upstairs, so if your girlfriend/wife/etc. wants to bring you some fruit, they do not allow this.
- WI-FI******** this was a real problem for me since I needed to work during my stay in Cartagena. The WiFi in the hallway works fine but once you walk into the room, the signal quickly fades. The signal consistently dropped anywhere in the room, causing a real problem during this trip. I asked them to move my room and tried a different room for a stronger signal but both rooms had the same problem.

I hope you have a good experience at this hotel. I know that there are nicer hotels but the nicer hotels are much more expensive. I don't know if I would stay at Cartagena Plaza again but if you plan on staying there, I recommend reading my notes above.

Room Tip: Find a room with a wi-fi signal when you are checking in - don't accept the room if there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rampage76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    532
    288
    112
    86
See reviews for
435
521
61
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here in August for a conference that was being held up the road. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I had free wifi and breakfast included at USD $85 per night - complete bargain! The wifi worked well with very quick download speeds and breakfast was delicious with loads of variety. Plenty of hot water in the room and the air con worked perfectly, The only thing that was dodgy was the shower, which did not have great pressure. I used the water jug in the room as a dipper to supplement it and had no further problems showering. Ate one night at the Sushi restaurant - had western food and it was nice, but dianne sauce on the steak was very salty.

Room Tip: Room 1645 was fine - overlooking the ocean and everything worked except the weak shower as mentioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

been there together with my wife, the lobby and hallways look little bit dated, but still clean and maintained, room was great, spacious, air con worked perfectly and bathroom was nice and big, restaurant food had lot of choices with fresh fruit every morning and big variety of meals in the evening... the hotel show was entertaining but nothing special, nice pool on the roof and great coctails at the bar...

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Milandob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After staying here for 6 of our 9 nights I can say that the other reviews are spot on. There are good and bad things to say about this hotel.

Let's start with the good: Great location. Right on the beach, all the best restaurants, grocery stores, shops are within a few blocks, plenty of taxis to take you wherever you want to go, everything is close by. We upgraded to the "superior" rooms which are certainly not superior but they are quite large and the view is great. The beds are comfortable. The workers here are very nice although the check-in staff needs training. The clientele is friendly and well behaved. The breakfast is sufficient but not great and it's loud but it's breakfast. If you eat heartily, you will be set for hours. The pool is small but adequate. We have stayed at Hotel Caribe, Hotel Capilla de Mar and this hotel all in the last 6 months. Each one has it's ups and downs.

The bad: It's old. The bathrooms are old. The 4 elevators are slow. The pool is old...OK, everything is old. The exterior pictures do not do it justice. It's much uglier.

But if you look at the price and figure you aren't going to be in the room THAT much except to sleep, bathe and change, how important really is the room?

The rooms at Hotel Caribe and the Capilla de mar are not that much better and they cost a lot more. The breakfast at Capilla is really great, not so great at Caribe after a couple days. The pool at Caribe is to die for but get there early or you won't have a lounge chair.

The Wi-fi at this hotel was very good which is important to me. It was horrible at Capilla and OK at Caribe. Far superior here if that's important.

Room Tip: I don't know that's it's worth it to upgrade. EIther bring your own favorite soap, shamp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williamgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

old school hotel whose golden age has been long gone. when I first entered the foyer I felt like travelling in time, back to communist Prague's posh hotels. Brown stone, heavy chandeliers. the room didn't get much better, six layers of ugly curtains and a bed made of two mattresses one on the top of the other. One would expect more from 4stars. service isn't nothing special either, reception was extremely slow and my room didn't get cleaned till late afternoon.
On its upside it's located in Boca Grande, it's got efficient lifts, pool on the roof, somewhat opulent breakfast. Generally not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakub h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I would not reccomend this hotel although the location is great, the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Staying at this hotel makes you realize that there's more to a hotel than its location and rooms. Although the personnel is polite and even speak English (if your Spanish isn't all it could be) thei seem unorganized and unable to provide any service beyond checking you in and out - which also seems somewhat unorganized.

For instance the staff is not able to order a taxy or any means of transport. Although taxis are avaliable everywhere, these are too small for a family with baggage. Furthermore, for safety reasons, even Colombians reccomend to order a taxi via the hotel rather than picking one at the street - and the more foreign you look, and the less spanish you speak, the more important this becomes. We never personally experienced any threatening situations, but as even local Colomians, both staff at other hotels and friends, warn us against this, I guess it should be taken seriously.

Less importand, but worth mentioning. The breakfast area is extremely noisy and the coffee is the worst I've ever tasted in Colombia.

Verdict: Spend your money at andother hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We found this Hotel affordable and close to the beach. If you're looking to spend time in your room these rooms are very basic. We had no hot water for the 5 nights we stayed but the weather was hot so wasn't too bad. The reception staff were very busy when we checked in and out and not very helpful.
If I had my time again I would of liked to stay closer to the old city.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talei84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dorado Plaza
Hotel Dorado Plaza
#107 of 151 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#70 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Property: Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Address: Cra 1ra No 6-154 . | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing