We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magnificent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Ranked #36 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Vacation”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The hotel was great value, great food, service was great, staff very helpful. The room was clean and basic. Great location to the beach and to the walled city. We think the bad reviews are from very fussy and particular people! We cannot find anything bad to say! We will return, same time, same place. Barbara and Henri

Room Tip: If you stay in , get a suite, if you stay out and enjoy the wonderful area, a standard room is all y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraandHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    584
    299
    114
    87
See reviews for
507
559
62
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I am rating this hotel as value for the money. The hotel is most definetely not a 4-star hotel, however, it is a good budget hotel. The rooms are clean, most of them are facing the ocean. The area is very safe and it is accross the road from the main beach. The food is basic but there is plenty of salad and fruit. The people are fantastic. One of our girls got sick and the hotel staff (they have a resident nurse) went out of their way to make sure that we get the doctor to come to the hotel! They also made sure that the farmacy delivered and they also negotiated all the pricing for us. The pool is always windy but being 30 degrees and sunny this is not a big deterrant. There are great coffee houses and bars just around the corner. The cabs are parked at the front door and will take you to the walled city for 5,000 pesos ($3).

Room Tip: Even though most of the rooms face the ocean, ask for the ones that are on the ocean side (not the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ar118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was there for a week and the first 3 days without hot water in the shower. I went 2 times downstairs to complain at the reception. At the end I wanted to talk to a manager of the hotel, to ask about some discount, but all of them had off. Isn´t that great, no one of the management works on weekends in this hotel. Who thinks this is except able in a 4 star hotel? Finally the manager of the security mad a really hard decision, he gave me 10% discount of my laundry that they cleaned for me. That was really great of him, about 8 US dollar. I felt so pleased and from now on is it my favorite hotel in Cartagena.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Cartagena Plaza is well situated in Bocagrande a block from the main street, across the street from the beach and a 5 minute cab ride from the walled city (for about $3.00 cdn).
The rooms are spacious and maintained well. The pool of the 18th floor is great for kids and the bar for adults is a few steps away. The view of the city and the Bocagrande district is remarkable.

The restaurant is well situated on the second floor and runs a full buffet which is in a word healthy! Open during convenient times a good place to sit and watch the ocean. While the food is basic, the fish is great, and rice, fruit, salads will keep most very healthy. The juices and fresh smoothies are superior.

The front desk needs some management, and as with other reviews the hotel needs to pull its socks up here. But underneath some rather fustrating book in processes and checking out, the staff really wants to please and ensure that guests have a good time. This hotel is a favorite with local Columbians.

Because of new attention from Canadian charters, it will have to get used to booking a bus load of tourists. If you are travveling without a charter there is a lot of competition in hotel avaialability.

So good value for the price! Now the Bocagrande public beach, is clean, prestine volcanic sand, and maintained that way. The hotel has cabanas for its guests but remember the beach is thankfully public. Yes there are licenced vendors that come along to sell wares, and they are making a living too. Cartagena is not a city of beggars and homeless, but people will try to sell you something from the locals. Do explore the juices and some of the local foods and beer. There is a bublic cabana across the street, good for a beer ( about 4$ cdn)

Room Tip: you want a room with a window that opens for fresh air. There is a new and old section, pick the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingsinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was there last week and all I can say is that I had the time of my life, the hotel is right infront of the beach and just 5 minutes away from the city.The room is very big and clean. The food is amazing and they have a variety of different dishes daily. The roof top pool is amazing and very clean.. I will definitely go back there one day. I had the time of my life in Cartagena

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Reviewing this hotel is the most difficult review I have written to date.

Firstly let me state quite categorically that this is NOT an all inclusive hotel (in the usual sense) and definitely not a FOUR star hotel, perhaps it should be classified as a HOSTAL.

There are lots of problems with this place including:
There are no grounds
There is only one bar, located on the 18th floor, which dispenses all drinks in light weight 7 oz plastic glasses AND only serves one local beer and “cocktails” from a list (which never tasted twice the same). Don’t bother to ask for a Gin and Tonic or a Whisky.
The hotel is 20 years old and very tired.
The single dining room is really a cafeteria, where the tables and chairs are plastic, nothing like a normal all inclusive resort.


Having said that there are lots of positive things to say about this hotel:
It is in a good location, with shopping close by and 2.5 kms from the old town.
The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. For example we requested a safe in our room and one was provided, free of charge.
The rooms are large, have two very comfortable double beds and large bathrooms.
The air conditioning works and the place is exceptionally clean.
There was always something nice to eat, the fruit and juices were terrific and the salads great.
There are always taxis out front, and the local buses are a couple of blocks away.
The pool on the 18th floor is sun trap and always breezy.

Once we had adjusted to the “hostal” conditions we enjoyed stay.

If you do stay here ask for a room low down overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor - the restaurant is on the second floor, and ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johneo_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel was represented as a new hotel, in the picture in the internet site.
This is a very OLD (and not vintage!) hotel, never restructured since 1990 (or more)!
The receptionist is really slow and didn't answer to your request.
We went there in December for New Year, a really strange New Year start!!! We waited 3 hours for our food during the dinner, many people were leaving the restaurant and were asking for money back, the food quality was quite good.
They celebrated New Year before midnight, and the band that was playing left some minutes after midnight (fortunately... so we could leave the hotel and enjoy this beautiful and gorgeous city!!!)
Before I went there I saw the reviews but I ignored! But trust me; the reviews are real and accurate!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana07M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dorado Plaza
Hotel Dorado Plaza
#100 of 155 in Cartagena
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#68 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Property: Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Address: Cra 1ra No 6-154 . | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing