We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting exhibits”

Museo Historico de Cartagena de Indias
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.50*
and up
Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites
More Info
$127.00*
and up
Cartagena City Tour
Ranked #30 of 194 things to do in Cartagena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This site is now a museum focusing on Cartagena's role in the Spanish Inquisition.
West Valley City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I went to the Palacio de la Inquisicion on our city tour when we went to Cartagena on a Panama Canal cruise. We found it interesting and informative, but a little on the morbid side as our tour guide showed us a number of instruments of torture and punishment, and told us of the justice system in the colonial days of Cartagena. I was specifically stunned by the thinking that must have gone into trying women charged with being witches. There is a courtyard outside that made for some interesting photography.

This was an intriguing stop on our tour, but not my favorite stop. If there was an admission cost, it was included in the cost of our tour. It was shady and a lot less hot than outside.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank moodblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    477
    394
    171
    91
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
“Good exibits: remodeling now to improve”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent more than 1 hour here today. Exhibits in English and Spanish, though English translation is a bit shorter and not every plaque is translated. Good array of artifacts, displays and more. Beautiful building off Plaza Bolivar. Inquisition instruments are disturbing.

They are remodeling some of the exhibit rooms as of 30 January 2014 so some of the displays are moved outside or are incomplete, but should be great when reinstalled.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“English speakers, look elsewhere”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We expected this museum to focus on the Inquisition. There was a small, fascinating courtyard area covering the Inquisition that included some gruesome tools of torture. The rest of the museum is a history of the city and had some artwork. For the hefty price, we would not recommend coming here. The building is interesting, however. There is a lot of potential, but the museum offers little and is mostly in Spanish.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Worth seeing, but temper your expectations”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It is worth stopping into the museam to see the exhibit on the history of Cartagena, including the models of the city in its various stages, and to see the various tools of torture from the Inquisition. About 20 of the explanations of the exhibits are translated into English- the rest are for Spanish speakers only. English speaking guides are avialble for hire, but gven the size of the museam, we opted to pass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BremertonWA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not for the timid”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The torture devices in the Inquisition exhibit are very good representations of how terrible those days were. We were told that suspected witches were weighed and the skinny ones were felt to be quite capable of flight and were convicted. Best to have carried some extra weight back then, apparently. Really is a "must" when you visit Cartagena.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Historico de Cartagena de Indias also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Museo Historico de Cartagena de Indias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing