We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the timid”

Museo Historico de Cartagena de Indias
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.95*
and up
Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites
Ranked #25 of 177 things to do in Cartagena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site is now a museum focusing on Cartagena's role in the Spanish Inquisition.
BremertonWA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not for the timid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The torture devices in the Inquisition exhibit are very good representations of how terrible those days were. We were told that suspected witches were weighed and the skinny ones were felt to be quite capable of flight and were convicted. Best to have carried some extra weight back then, apparently. Really is a "must" when you visit Cartagena.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    446
    369
    153
    78
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“upstairs exhibitions are good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We went upstairs to see the exhibitions on the indigenous peoples. These showcase how they lived in the lowlands and swamps but were able to direct the waters in the swamps by digging the most amazing canals. They lived and farmed on islands that they created in an almost herringbone pattern that allowed the flooding waters to flow through without carrying off the rich silt. I have never seen anything like this.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very interesting and worth the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Palacio de la Inquisicion give a very good historical view of the Spanish Inquisition and it's impact in Cartagena. The 30-45 minutes needed to walk through this historical place is time well spent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not in English”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

There was much to learn here but only if you can read in Spanish. We asked before we went in if the displays would have English and were told yes,well they don't but we did enjoy wondering around and trying to understand what we were seeing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vetgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“How can you enjoy this?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The brutal response for those who do not agree with the majority.
Gotta love the Christians for their love and charity. Should the organizers of Cartegena really make a museum of this sad part of Colombian history?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Historico de Cartagena de Indias also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Museo Historico de Cartagena de Indias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing