We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and expensive but good”
Review of Agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Hotel
Ranked #125 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Medellin, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small and expensive but good”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It is very well located, near to the main historical places in the walled city. It’s a good taste restored house, it has 5 rooms (not big) comfortable, calm and clean, a small poll at the last floor. The best of it is its people –and good service is not always easy to find in the city if you don’t show a bill-, so staff is so helpful. Another nice aspect is decoration and design –if you are sensible to that-. Nevertheless for that price you can get a big room in best chain hotels of Cartagena. So if you are traveling in couple and are interested in a luxury stay, this is your hotel, if you are more than two and love room service food, book somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Hotel Agua in April. What a wonderful and relaxing experience! Just off a busy street of the old Cartagena, you are suddenly immersed in a peace heaven!

The house is so beautifully decorated, it looks like a designer's shop. Actually makes you want to buy everything and copy all their ideas for your own home, since its style does not compromise on comfort. Their store was also very nice, offering well selected locally manufactured handicrafts, a bit fancier than what you get in the tourist shops around.

Our room (#4) was quite small and the window faced a wall but it didn't bother us since there are different common areas to chill out, like the library, or the pool on the upper terrace. The room was really cosy, when we arrived they had lighted up candles, put fresh roses and a special ambient scent (which they kept secret!), played a Buddha Bar kind of music on the ipod... it seemed we were entering a spa! The shower was amazing, like bathing in a waterfall!

We didn't see any other guest during our stay so it felt like the whole house was ours and had a really dedicated service. The staff are very kind and helpful with booking of activities and restaurants, flights online checking...
The breakfast was delicious and quite generous, and despite what some reviewers have said, all items are included in the daily rate (unless you want to have a second main!).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxelitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent four days at Hotel Agua and loved our stay. The location is perfectly situated in the "old town," the staff is wonderful, the breakfast delicious, and the rooms are beautifully decorated and stocked with iPods, L'Occcitane bath products and freshly cut roses.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2TravelSiempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I just came back from spending six wonderful nights at Agua Hotel. This is a remoled colonial house, exquisitely decorated. It has only six rooms, so it is easy to feel just at home. The pool area was nice and cozy, rooms were very nice, excelent linen and every detail was just perfect. Nice bathroom with a great shower. Breakfast was delicious! I loved the personal welcome note from the manager and good night notes every night...everything in this hotel was very charming. Since there are only six rooms, we barely saw other guests and the environment was nice and quiet. A very romantic place!
Jen an Leidys do their best to give you local information and help with reservations, and it was great to have Franklin greet us every morning for breakfast and tell us about Colombian culture, hotel anectdotes on the construction and other interesting detaisl. Everyone at Agua Hotel is there to make your stay unforgetable.
The location is just perfect, in the middle of the Historic Center of the city, being able to safely walk anywhere!
Agua hotel is the best hotel I´ve ever been to, not only for its beauty and location, but because of the warm and efficient people working there!
We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciQ-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel. It is in the middle of the old city, from where you can walk easily to the spots in Cartagena. The service was very good and attentive. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast is especially very nice. Unfortunately, the waiter did not inform some items on the breakfast menu were extra, which is not noted on the card so when we checked out, we realised we had some extra charges.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall the hotel is stunning. We had a room with a balcony, the bed was fantastically comfortable, beautiful vases of white roses, on arriving we had candles lit in our room. It was a very high beamed ceiling with antique and modern furniture so the mix was great. The bathroom was good, two basins, a big rain shower, L'Occitaine bath products, nice bathrobes and slippers. There was an iPod docking station and flat screen TV. It was a very stylish and sophisticated hotel and most beautiful. Downstairs seating area was superb too. Big white sofas, great big storm lamps with candles, fresh flowers, water features. When we arrived at about 6pm it was getting dark and when we walked in the hotel looked spectacular.
The downside though is the service is very slow. Breakfast can take a considerable time and starts from 8am. This is a problem if you have a tour or flight to catch - you won't get your breakfast. When we asked if we could arrange it earlier, we were told yes, but this was not the case. Also, there isn't a bar here so after-dinner drinks are limited to beer and wine which is a shame as there are so many places to sit and relax in the evening and there is no mini bar in the room either.
Hot water was also an issue, though I am not sure if this applies to Cartagena in general. You can have a very quick "hottish" shower but will have to wait for about 15mins before the next person can have a "hottish" shower.
In general I would recommend this hotel, we did have an expensive room (well, in my opinion it was) but was extremely pleased with it and it is a beautiful hotel in a good location, it's just the slow service lets it down a little bit - however, it's definitely worth a visit.
For recommendations to eat, try FM (about a 5 minute walk from hotel, beautiful building and dining room and fantastic food), and als La Perla (opposite hotel), again excellent food.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 1 was good, it had a balcony (though you couldn't sit on it and it overlooked the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We chose this hotel for its location and because we had read good reviews. It is a spectacular house with fabulous decor, the room was spacious with a beautiful antique furniture. The breakfast are exquisite and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located in a beautiful part of Cartagena and has terraces and cozy spaces that allow you to relax and enjoy this gorgeous house. It's nearby to all restaurants and all the shops, if you want to discover cartagena from a house with history this is a perfect place

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#81 of 155 in Cartagena
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#41 of 155 in Cartagena
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#53 of 155 in Cartagena
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Don Sancho By Mustique
Casa Don Sancho By Mustique
#74 of 155 in Cartagena
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotel

Property: Agua Hotel
Address: Calle de Ayos 4-29, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing