We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service at a trendy hotel”
Review of Agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agua Hotel
Ranked #132 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent four days at Hotel Agua and loved our stay. The location is perfectly situated in the "old town," the staff is wonderful, the breakfast delicious, and the rooms are beautifully decorated and stocked with iPods, L'Occcitane bath products and freshly cut roses.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy2TravelSiempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I just came back from spending six wonderful nights at Agua Hotel. This is a remoled colonial house, exquisitely decorated. It has only six rooms, so it is easy to feel just at home. The pool area was nice and cozy, rooms were very nice, excelent linen and every detail was just perfect. Nice bathroom with a great shower. Breakfast was delicious! I loved the personal welcome note from the manager and good night notes every night...everything in this hotel was very charming. Since there are only six rooms, we barely saw other guests and the environment was nice and quiet. A very romantic place!
Jen an Leidys do their best to give you local information and help with reservations, and it was great to have Franklin greet us every morning for breakfast and tell us about Colombian culture, hotel anectdotes on the construction and other interesting detaisl. Everyone at Agua Hotel is there to make your stay unforgetable.
The location is just perfect, in the middle of the Historic Center of the city, being able to safely walk anywhere!
Agua hotel is the best hotel I´ve ever been to, not only for its beauty and location, but because of the warm and efficient people working there!
We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciQ-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel. It is in the middle of the old city, from where you can walk easily to the spots in Cartagena. The service was very good and attentive. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast is especially very nice. Unfortunately, the waiter did not inform some items on the breakfast menu were extra, which is not noted on the card so when we checked out, we realised we had some extra charges.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall the hotel is stunning. We had a room with a balcony, the bed was fantastically comfortable, beautiful vases of white roses, on arriving we had candles lit in our room. It was a very high beamed ceiling with antique and modern furniture so the mix was great. The bathroom was good, two basins, a big rain shower, L'Occitaine bath products, nice bathrobes and slippers. There was an iPod docking station and flat screen TV. It was a very stylish and sophisticated hotel and most beautiful. Downstairs seating area was superb too. Big white sofas, great big storm lamps with candles, fresh flowers, water features. When we arrived at about 6pm it was getting dark and when we walked in the hotel looked spectacular.
The downside though is the service is very slow. Breakfast can take a considerable time and starts from 8am. This is a problem if you have a tour or flight to catch - you won't get your breakfast. When we asked if we could arrange it earlier, we were told yes, but this was not the case. Also, there isn't a bar here so after-dinner drinks are limited to beer and wine which is a shame as there are so many places to sit and relax in the evening and there is no mini bar in the room either.
Hot water was also an issue, though I am not sure if this applies to Cartagena in general. You can have a very quick "hottish" shower but will have to wait for about 15mins before the next person can have a "hottish" shower.
In general I would recommend this hotel, we did have an expensive room (well, in my opinion it was) but was extremely pleased with it and it is a beautiful hotel in a good location, it's just the slow service lets it down a little bit - however, it's definitely worth a visit.
For recommendations to eat, try FM (about a 5 minute walk from hotel, beautiful building and dining room and fantastic food), and als La Perla (opposite hotel), again excellent food.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 1 was good, it had a balcony (though you couldn't sit on it and it overlooked the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We chose this hotel for its location and because we had read good reviews. It is a spectacular house with fabulous decor, the room was spacious with a beautiful antique furniture. The breakfast are exquisite and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located in a beautiful part of Cartagena and has terraces and cozy spaces that allow you to relax and enjoy this gorgeous house. It's nearby to all restaurants and all the shops, if you want to discover cartagena from a house with history this is a perfect place

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Yes. the entrance of this hotel doesn't look that fancy,... in fact we ended up here as our agent messed up our reservation at another hotel. someone told us to stay here. well, we were impressed. staff is very nice and polite. rooms are very comfortable and overall the architecture and decoration of hotel/rooms is very roomantic. You almost feel inside a Garcia Marquez's Noble.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexsalomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I had a great time visiting the wonderful city of Cartagena. I was very pleased with Hotel Agua's excelent level of service and high quality everything!! We arrived and were treated like royalty we lacked nothing. The wonderfully restored house felt like a home away from home. We loved all the attention to detail and character and charm that was built in to the place. There is something to be said about a building that is over 200 years old and yet feels like it it was just a recetly built to look that way. From the modern A.C. and wifi, to the huge thick wooden door that must have been knocked by pirates in the 17th century. It was a great stay. We also had the wonderful pleasure to go to ther location In Baru island. The boat ride to Baru was scheduled by the main hotel and evertyhing worked just fine with out a glitch. We arrived in the Island and we greeted with delicious tropical drinks and offered food, other drinks and or what we wanted The level of comfort and security were great. I do have to mention that as we proceed with our story we are being charged for every thing we were comsuming. we thought it was included. The hotel did ask us several days in advance what kind of food we wanted to eat while we were there as the food has to be imported from the mainland. But to continue with the story. The bungalow we stayed at was the middle one with a great view. You dohave to walk up about 100 steps to get to it. But dont worry they bring everything to you. All the meals are carried up to your room and you dont have to leave the room if you don't want to. The view is incredible. The bed faces the glass flolding doors and to see the sunset is amaizing ( I have stayed in Hawaii, Key west, Numerous places throu out Florida, California) This by far is the most Romantic. The brezze is gentle and refreshing. The mosquitos are non excistent. The flora and fauna are comparable to much more remote areas of the world. We had a Great time!! The price was worth it for our honey moon. If you seek unique experience with out the cost of going to Bali or Thailand go to Colombia and have a great time. By t he way the food is fantastic!!!!! We don' even eat at places like olive garden because we are just snobish like that. But We ate some places that my wife would never step in to in the U.S. and had some of the best food we have ever tasted in our life. I did have to add 2 extra days to my excersice routine for about a moth lo loose the 4 -5 or so pounds we gained. HAHAH! Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carriesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#98 of 159 in Cartagena
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#11 of 159 in Cartagena
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
#75 of 159 in Cartagena
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#74 of 159 in Cartagena
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#31 of 159 in Cartagena
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotel

Address: Calle de Ayos 4-29, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing