We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, affordable hotel in Perfect Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Curato
Ranked #88 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, affordable hotel in Perfect Neighborhood”
Reviewed November 27, 2010

what a great hotel! we stayed for a day, then came back later in the week and stayed for 4 nights. for the second stay, we got what has to be the nicest room in the house, #207. Try to get it if you can. Although it's about $145 a night, or $25 more than the normal rooms on the 2nd floor, it's totally worth it. A big bed, colonial looking furniture and artwork and a balcony from which to watch the city pass by made it perfect. We arrived a day earlier than anticipated, so we had to stay in one of the normal rooms on the 2nd floor before the suite was ready. It was a very good room and I'd recommend it, but splurge for the suite if you can.

the great thing about the hotel is it's in the nicest location of the old city, where all of the other hotels cost a fortune, but is reasonably priced. it is across the street from the super swank sofitel (santa clara), so you can pop over for a coffee or drink in their beauitful courtyard and then return back to your beautiful room that is 1/5 the cost.

the staff at the hotel were very warm and open. i think there is a mother and couple of daughters who form the core group, and they treat the rest of the staff very well (which is not always the case in latin america). the lady who made breakfast, girls at the front desk, and guys who helped with the luggage and fixing anything that needed fixing, were all kind and eager to please people who were very honest and, as you'd say in spanish, correcto.

we're very glad we chose this hotel and will definitely return on our next stay in cartagena, which we hope is soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viento_lleve-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
136
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Although the photos on the website make you expect more (as it usually happens with photos) Casa Curato is very clean and the rooms are very pretty even if small. The staff was always friendly and helpful, and the location in the Old City is excellent (nearby you can find all sorts of restaurants, bars and cafes). Good value for money (taking into account the really high prices of Cartagena).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMbabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Very clean, excellent staff, pretty decent food. Make sure to ask for Doña Eufemia (picture below). She is a great cook and is opening up her own restaurant in town.

The only issue I would mention is that mosquitoes are abundant, as the building next door appears to be abandoned. Other than this, Casa del Curato is a pretty affordable and relaxing place to stay, the staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I was greeted by amazing staff of Casa del Curato. It was rewarding that Adolf spoke English which helped me since it was my first time in South America. I had stayed in a room for a single person. It is amazingly clean and neat and had everything I needed.

I was attending a wedding at the church next door and it was rewarding to be located within a minute to taxi, church, shops and attractions.
I was even assisted with lunch whilst I was getting ready for the wedding. I would go back definately. The staff even personally escorted me to where I could do foreign exchange so that I could feel safe.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We went with a big group from the US and Bogota. The key to visit Cartagena is to stay within the stone wall call the Old City. This hotel is close to lots of restaurants, plazas (squares), it is next door to Hotel Santa Clara which has a wonderful bar and live music at night. Very safe area! I liked this hotel for the architecture, price, service and location, location, location.... The breakfast was amazing. The chef was very good cooking the traditional food from the region i.e. caramanolas, arepas de huevo, etc.... The service of the staff and manager was outstanding. The pool is very small but cute. It is not adequate to sunbathe or swim. In summary this is big step up from a US B&B. It falls more into the boutique hotel category. The concierge would help you to arrange tours and give you guidance on what to do.

We walked everywhere and took an inexpensive taxi when going out to dine. The taxi drivers tend to take advantage of the tourist. Tell them the destination and fix the price before starting to travel. Ask the hotel for an idea on the taxi rates.
I would recommend to arrange with Hotel Bovedas de Santa Clara a day trip to the island of San Pedro de Majagua (Sofitel). We stayed one night but you can just go for the day. It is good for scuba diving, kayaking, enjoying the beach and the food is out of this world. Enjoy the beautiful and fun Cartagena!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We arrived at the Casa del Curato on a Friday afternoon. We came armed with my e-mail confirmation and exchange with at least 4 staff members, but we were told that they did not have our reservation and they had no rooms available. The front desk clerk could not reach anyone that I had been in touch with, so we were turned away. This was beyond frustrating.

On the bright side, the reception area was quite clean, they served us cold water and juice refreshments while we waited, and the clerk called four hotels nearby to secure us another reservation. Unfortunately, the hotel we ended up at was of a lower level of quality and service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholebowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

we have stayed there three times over last four years.excellent location in walled city, good breakfast, very nice staff, free internet, check out lots of photos on flicker. go to google, earthwanderer

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAmericanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#55 of 155 in Cartagena
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#48 of 155 in Cartagena
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Banderas
Hotel 3 Banderas
#53 of 155 in Cartagena
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#44 of 155 in Cartagena
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Diego de Alcala Suites
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 155 in Cartagena
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Curato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Curato

Property: Hotel Casa del Curato
Address: Carrera 7 38 - 89 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Curato 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa del Curato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Curato Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing