We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms without a window”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Curato
Ranked #88 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms without a window”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Not sure how they could parade a trip advisor recommendation in the lobby of this "hotel", whose pictures are most deceiving. Not sure who worte the othre reviews as well, failing to mention one important point, that there are no windows to the rooms. Since I could not cancel, I found myself forced to upgrade to a suite. Anyone would be much better of going to cochera de hobo, next door, where I stayed after. This is really a scam, with no windows except in the suites, not so budget anymore...

Room Tip: Suites are the only rooms with a window. The others open directly on a corridor. no air, quite suffo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCurato, Gerente at Hotel Casa del Curato, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, we are sorry that you found your stay disappointing. Every room has a window, rooms at the economic rate however, face the lobby and not the outside. This is the first time that we have a complaint for the lack of windows facing the exterior. This house is of Colonial style and respects the architecture of the 18th Century which gives the charm and authenticity to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
136
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London/Athens
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a central location.Close to everything.Despite being central it is in a very quiet location. 24 hours reception and super safe.The rooms have a key safe.They provide a laundry service and all hotel staff was super helpful,polite and friendly.
For the non-spanish speakers, you are lucky as the receptionist have very good level of English.Free internet and wifi available.
Reception can organize tours for you(Totumo Volcano) or give an estimate of organized tour prices and you can then compare around.
Rooms are super clean and comfy.Lovely bathroom with hot running showers.
Top floor bedrooms have plenty of day light, but ground floor ones only have a window opening at communal hallway, therefore no privacy or plenty of day light.
Yammy breakfast everyday!!
Only down side, but small detail,there were plenty of hungry mosquitos.Mostly in communal areas(breakfast, swimming pool, internet corner).
I could not recommend it more.Excellent stay.Thank you!

Room Tip: Go for top floor bedrooms for more privacy and plenty of daylight coming through. Have mosquito ant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliolouloudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PC Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The building is located on one of the typical streets in the inner city. Once inside you are surrounded by a mini-tropical like atmosphere that is very appealing. This is an open air setting so it can be humid and warm outside your room but remember you are in Cartagena!. We had a balcony room that overlooked the street and we had our excellent pizza from the small restaurant a few steps away during the evening twice. You here the 'sounds of Cartagena' until about midnight but nothing intense enough that will cause you to question your stay here. The staff here were great! Alejandro spoke enough English for any questions you might have and was very accommodating. Room and bathroom was clean and a/c works well. Hot water is very hot but in limited amounts. The complimentary morning breakfast was fresh fruit, juice, coffee,and either eggs or pancake with that was the perfect amount served by a very friendly and always smiling chef! Free Wi-Fi provided but may not reach upstairs at times so just step outside your room and sit in open air area. Great value for the money! We will stay here again if we come back to Cartagena!

Room Tip: We had to cover the small window above our room door from the inside to block the lighting entering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is two blocks away from San Diego Plaza and you can easily wander around the magnificent historical city center from there. The attention you get at check-in and check-out is great - the receptionist accompanied me to the room and explained everything to me in great detail.

The building is a typical old colonial house, impressive and charming, but the rooms are really comfortable with air-con, fan and free wi-fi.

Really enjoyed my stay and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonvivant75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here recently with my girlfriend and it was really nice. The staff went out of their way to be nice and helpful, the breakfast was good, and the space was in a nice location. The old city is fantastic - the absolute place-to-be in Cartagena.

I want to give special thanks to Alejandro and Johann for being incredibly nice and helpful.

I think the place could be a little cleaner and the rooms could be more spacious, but it didn't bother me that much and I was with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krol1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As you knock on the door you won't expect to find what lays inside Casa del Curato. A remodeled colonial house with beautiful decoration and vegetation and very comfortable rooms. You feel really safe and very welcome, the staff is very friendly. The hotel has a GREAT location, you are close to a lot of restaurants and great "plazas". The breakfast is pretty good, you'll probably be served fresh juice, colombian coffee, eggs and toasts, and nice slices of fresh fruit. The wi-fi reaches all the parts of the hotel. As for the rooms, they are very nice, great satellite tv, safe and the best thing... the hot water shower (not too common in cartagenas hostels).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Although we don't speak any Spanish (shame on us) the staff were lovely and accommodating and were able to communicate with us in English phrases.

They serve a free breakfast each day which was a wonderful way to start each day and provided us with lots of energy to explore this beautiful city. Breakfast included an amazing fresh juice, fresh fruit plate and different cooked meal each day ( our fave was the scrambled eggs).

The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and the bathrooms were spacious and very clean as well. The Internet connection was good and we enjoyed spending time reclining in the lounge areas.

Well located in the old city and close to plenty of great restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will certainly be coming back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reidkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#58 of 155 in Cartagena
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#47 of 155 in Cartagena
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Banderas
Hotel 3 Banderas
#50 of 155 in Cartagena
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#45 of 155 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Diego de Alcala Suites
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 155 in Cartagena
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Curato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Curato

Property: Hotel Casa del Curato
Address: Carrera 7 38 - 89 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Curato 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa del Curato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Curato Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing