We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair price, but disappointing tour guidance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Oceania
Ranked #93 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fair price, but disappointing tour guidance.”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The room was is good condition for the price and we had one of the few views of the water (across the street). The low-rise hotel is next to and near towering high-rises. Small pool. So-so breakfast. Beaches in the area are not good, perhaps a little ugly, so don't come here for beach time. Next time, I'd stay inside the walls of old Cartagena (even though the hotels there are much more expensive) or choose a more expensive, newer high-rise. We were disappointed by a front desk clerk who told us false information about a tour to nearby islands. In hindsight, we think she merely wanted to sell us a tour, instead of providing good service to paying hotel guests.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A_Travel_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMe, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Further to your stay at the Hotel Estelar Oceanía over 29 oct 2010. I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online. Naturally, we are extremely concerned to read your review, but are very glad you have detailed your complaints. It is only by guests sharing frank and honest feedback such as this that we can address and rectify areas where we are clearly failing to delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    72
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
52
14
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had a good stay and everyone was very nice at the hotel. We were surprised to learn that Ms Belkis Torres, a front desk clerk gave us a price for everything higher than the other front desk clerks. We are convinced that she is running a scam of the hotel's guests. For example a city tour when another receptionist told us was 35,000 pesos she said was 45,000. For the Chivas tour she gave us a price of 40,000 when the other receptionist told us it was 30,000. We didn't trust her after this and we just waited until someone else was there to ask for anything. Frankly,I think the hotel management should fire her. Otherwise they risk runining and alienating their clientele and ruining the reputation of all the great people in Cartagena. I love the country and will always go back but this left a sour taste in my Cartagena experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItMatters85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMe, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Further to your stay at the Hotel Estelar Oceanía over 01 oct 2010. I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online. Naturally, we are extremely concerned to read your review, but are very glad you have detailed your complaints. It is only by guests sharing frank and honest feedback such as this that we can address and rectify areas where we are clearly failing to delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The air conditioning was blessedly cool, everything worked as it should, the shower was powerful, bathroom ginormous, everything clean, beds were extremely comfortable. A bit damp/humid feeling, but damp is everywhere in this climate during this very humid time of year. 'European' breakfast is very European style - cereals, eggs, sliced meats and cheeses, small breadrolls, juices. Good strong coffee. Fairly modern style - white walls, angular, stark - but spacious and comfy. Location is about a 5-10 min taxi ride to historic 'old town' Cartagena. Hotel is in an upscale area of Cartagena, right next to an extremely swanky Hilton (which has great 'gift' shopping, I might add). There is a bit more of a breeze out on this Bocagrande/El Laguito peninsula than in Cartagena 'old town', which is nice when out walking. A lovely place to stay. Good value at $100/night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMeryG, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience from your past stay at Hotel Estelar Oceanía. We are very pleased to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your comments which are very important to us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fla
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The hotel is a great place to stay. The hotel staff more than met our needs, from the office staff, breakfast service, to the room service. Breakfast was included daily, but was the only meal at the hotel. There are numerous restaurants close by including a tiki bar with food and the Hilton is next door. Everyone was very courteous and polite. Everything you could need was within walking distance. Phone/internet, laundry, atm, grocery mart, shopping and pharmacy.
Taxi's are always outside and was only 2-4 dollars to go downtown.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelar09, E-Commerce Coordinator at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to make your next visit to Colombia the best stay with Hoteles Estelar. We want to invite you to use the services of another of our destinations. Please let us know about your experience in our Hotels; it is very important to us in order to be better each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Ocania is a marvelous small Hotel with neatly decorated and extremely clean Mediterranean style rooms, ,good taste, kind people, good service, good food, a delightful cafeteria with a view over the also cozy and beautiful pool.

For people who like charming, quiet, nice looking, natural colonial / mediterranean style hotels.

I would recommend it as an excellent hotel

Its location is perfect even though it is not on the beach.

It is only unfortunate I do not have any photos

  • Liked — The decoration and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azulara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMeryG, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We were very pleased to read about your stay at the Hotel Estelar Oceanía. We would like to invite you to visit other destinations where we can provide you the same excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
10.1 mi away
Occidental Cartagena
Occidental Cartagena
#46 of 155 in Cartagena
1,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estelar Cartagena de Indias Hotel & Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Concept
Hotel Blue Concept
#81 of 155 in Cartagena
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#68 of 155 in Cartagena
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Oceania

Property: Hotel Estelar Oceania
Address: Calle 1# 3-231 El Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estelar Oceania 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a simple, but elegant bed and breakfast concept in Cartagena. Strategically located in the exclusive El Laguito Neighborhood, Estelar Oceania is a contemporary and versatile hotel for practical travelers. Wide rooms with excellent technology services are available for your efficient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estelar Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Oceania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing