We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down... Think about it twice before booking (not ESTELAR's standards!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Oceania
Ranked #95 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Unless you want to pay for a "4 star hotel" which is really a 3 star one, but with an overall experience of less that a 2 star stay... stay away. I almost never write bad reviews about any place, because my tolerance leve is quite high and don't relly care about little details. I'm not a picky client either, so believe me... this place is not good at all anymore.

Coul be bad luck, but a well run hotel cannot have the flaws I found since yesterday, and AT THE SAME TIME!

- No hot water. There were people complaining at the front desk that it had been going on for 5 days! When I asked, the recepcionist told me it was a failure they were working hard to solve. At a hotel, a chain hotel, this simply cannot happen

- No pool! Last time I came they were fixing it, which I kind of understood. But once again today? They told me it was available today, but if it was empty last night (filling it), the water treatment is not done in less than 6 hours. Lucky, unlucky... don't know, but really bad.

- Internet wireless: free! But no reliability. Last night after 10 pm it went dead. And today, technician had to come to fix it (the hotel's). On business trips, this cannot happen.

Since not everything's bad, the reason why I came back is till there: Location (great), spacious rooms, free light supper and breakfast. The guys at the hotel try to do a good job, but the manager is not helping at all. During my stay, the recepcionist told me he would contact me, which did not happen. The people compalining last night said he hadn't showed up to solve their issues in 5 days!

To be fair, it's not the staff overall... they try to do their best!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012
Google Translation

Buenos Días Sr. Yepes

Reciba cordial saludo, hemos recibido en detalle sus comentarios sobre los inconvenientes presentados en su pasada estadía en el Hotel Estelar Oceanía. Lamentamos mucho lo sucedido y le ofrecemos sinceras disculpas. Para las fechas de su estadía se presento un inconveniente con la caldera del Hotel dejándonos sin agua caliente. Nos contactamos con el Gerente del Hotel que nos comenta que este inconveniente ya está solucionado por lo que se han tomado las medidas correctivas con el fin de ofrecerle a nuestro clientes el mejor servicio bajo los estándares de la cadena Estelar, Así mismo le envío sus disculpas por escrito ofreciendo alojamiento gratis en el hotel o en alguno de la cadena, teniendo una respuesta teniendo una respuesta positiva por parte de usted.

Esperamos nos dé la oportunidad de atenderla nuevamente en el Hotel ya que usted es muy importante para nosotros.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

Out of the 10-12 hotels I know in Cartagena, this is a top 5 overall pick! Why? Great deal and value. It's not a 5-star hotel, but you have the comfort of a 4-star for the price of a 2 or 3 star place. that's it! I went with my wife but spent one of the two nights on a business trip, so I also recommend it if you're planning a work related trip.

Now, the place is very spacious in it's rooms, which are well kept, too. Located in El Laguito neighborhood, you're footseps from the beach and just a short walk from the Hilton beach, which you can also enjoy. Being part of the Estelar chain, you can also access its "big brother hotel" ten blocks from there (Almirante Hotel), which has a bigger pool, nice restaurants, spa, etc.

would surely go there again...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Good Afternoon Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us at Estelar Oceanía. We keep on working hard to provide our guests an excellent experience during their stay. Hoteles Estelar is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and didn´t want to leave us. We would like to invite you to visit us in other destinations where we can provide you the same excellent Estelar service.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just got back from 11 nights at this property, which could not enjoy a better location in a quiet area of Cartagena, next to the Hilton. The property itself is extremely nice. The rooms are huge and the hotel is extremely clean. If they would only take care of a few problems, my review would be totally different.
Number one problem. There is only one elevator for the hotel and it worked 41% of the time. (I kept a daily log). Every time I asked about the problem, I got a different answer. Mind you, this is a Schindler elevator, extremely modern, but it works intermittenly due to a missing part? I felt bad for older people and others with mobility problems.
There is a breakfast included in the rate, as well as an evening snack. It never changed in the 12 days I spent at the property. Even the fruit jam was always the same. Not a single Diet or Light soda. It never changed.
The room in which meals are served has a very strong smell of burnt vegetable oil that has been used over and over..An extractor is desperately needed. You can´t shower, dress and eat before heading out since you will smell like you´ve been working in the kitchen. All your clothes will smell like this for the duration of your trip.
The biggest problem is the lack of hot water. There is wondeful water pressure in the showers, but the average waiting time for the hot water to come out is approximately 27 minutes. I hate to waste water and the amount of water you waste really hurts knowing how many people don`t have running water. This problem exists in the morning. In the evening, when you return to the hotel prior to going to dinner, you have to notify the hotel reception that you intend to take a shower so they can turn it on for you. Sorry, but with 85 degree weather, I take two showers a day for obvious reasons.
The staff, if you are fluent in Spanish, is absolutely the best. They are friendly, helpful, kind and they seem to enjoy what they are doing. The ladies in the eating area are about the nicest people I met in Cartagena. They are definitely an asset to this small, but promising property if only some of these things would be remedied.
All the rooms including bathrooms have marble floors and they are cleaned daily with soap and water. The cleaning lady is forgetful, so you have to remind her to leave soap, shampoo, towels, since sometimes she forgets. Besides that, she was extremely nice and happy to provide it...but you have to ask. The towels were clean, but some had
holes in them.
I think that if the staff had not been extremely happy to help and friendly (in Spanish), the hotel would have gotten even a lower rating from me.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be extremely large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onemiamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMe, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments from your past stay with us at Hotel Estelar Oceania. We appreciate your feedback and the areas you have highlighted for our attention. I would like to begin by expressing my sincere apologies for a number of instances where your experience at Hotel was not delivered to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The hotel was generally very good. Getting a taxi into the city was really quick (and even cheaper when one of the staff negotiated with the drivers before we went out) but it did make the area a little noisy at night (earplugs worked fine). The room was quite big (and the bed was definitely the biggest I’ve ever seen). The hotel also offered a good buffet breakfast and convenient complimentary ‘sandwich bar’ for dinner (not as great as breakfast, but still okay).

There were a number of available tours/activities that could be booked through reception and charged to the room account. We also had the option of ‘withdrawing’ money from the hotel (i.e. charging an amount to our rooms and getting it in cash) rather than using an ATM elsewhere, which was a great saver on bank fees! The only main difficulties were the fact that not many of the staff spoke English (the hotel doesn’t even have an English website), but otherwise everything was okay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varsityblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience at the Hotel Estelar Oceania. Your constructive feedback will help us to continually improve. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The room was is good condition for the price and we had one of the few views of the water (across the street). The low-rise hotel is next to and near towering high-rises. Small pool. So-so breakfast. Beaches in the area are not good, perhaps a little ugly, so don't come here for beach time. Next time, I'd stay inside the walls of old Cartagena (even though the hotels there are much more expensive) or choose a more expensive, newer high-rise. We were disappointed by a front desk clerk who told us false information about a tour to nearby islands. In hindsight, we think she merely wanted to sell us a tour, instead of providing good service to paying hotel guests.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank A_Travel_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMe, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Further to your stay at the Hotel Estelar Oceanía over 29 oct 2010. I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online. Naturally, we are extremely concerned to read your review, but are very glad you have detailed your complaints. It is only by guests sharing frank and honest feedback such as this that we can address and rectify areas where we are clearly failing to delivery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had a good stay and everyone was very nice at the hotel. We were surprised to learn that Ms Belkis Torres, a front desk clerk gave us a price for everything higher than the other front desk clerks. We are convinced that she is running a scam of the hotel's guests. For example a city tour when another receptionist told us was 35,000 pesos she said was 45,000. For the Chivas tour she gave us a price of 40,000 when the other receptionist told us it was 30,000. We didn't trust her after this and we just waited until someone else was there to ask for anything. Frankly,I think the hotel management should fire her. Otherwise they risk runining and alienating their clientele and ruining the reputation of all the great people in Cartagena. I love the country and will always go back but this left a sour taste in my Cartagena experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItMatters85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMe, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Further to your stay at the Hotel Estelar Oceanía over 01 oct 2010. I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online. Naturally, we are extremely concerned to read your review, but are very glad you have detailed your complaints. It is only by guests sharing frank and honest feedback such as this that we can address and rectify areas where we are clearly failing to delivery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The air conditioning was blessedly cool, everything worked as it should, the shower was powerful, bathroom ginormous, everything clean, beds were extremely comfortable. A bit damp/humid feeling, but damp is everywhere in this climate during this very humid time of year. 'European' breakfast is very European style - cereals, eggs, sliced meats and cheeses, small breadrolls, juices. Good strong coffee. Fairly modern style - white walls, angular, stark - but spacious and comfy. Location is about a 5-10 min taxi ride to historic 'old town' Cartagena. Hotel is in an upscale area of Cartagena, right next to an extremely swanky Hilton (which has great 'gift' shopping, I might add). There is a bit more of a breeze out on this Bocagrande/El Laguito peninsula than in Cartagena 'old town', which is nice when out walking. A lovely place to stay. Good value at $100/night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McBDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzMeryG, Gerente at Hotel Estelar Oceania, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience from your past stay at Hotel Estelar Oceanía. We are very pleased to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your comments which are very important to us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#82 of 158 in Cartagena
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 158 in Cartagena
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Estelar Cartagena de Indias Hotel & Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#100 of 158 in Cartagena
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Oceania

Address: Calle 1# 3-231 El Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $61 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estelar Oceania 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a simple, but elegant bed and breakfast concept in Cartagena. Strategically located in the exclusive El Laguito Neighborhood, Estelar Oceania is a contemporary and versatile hotel for practical travelers. Wide rooms with excellent technology services are available for your efficient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Estelar Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Oceania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing