We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel with superb service”
Review of Casa El Carretero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa El Carretero
Ranked #76 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel with superb service”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Located at walking distance of historical center.
Person that designed the hotel has good eye for detail.
Place is beautiful, rooms are very convenient.
Service is one of the best. Anything to please you.
Looking for nice romantic place: this is it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwitsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    58
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
30
137
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The Hotel was all anyone could ask for in Cartagena.
The location was excellent-minutes walk to the center of the old town...the security was excellent as wal the privacy and intimacy of the Hotel. During my stay, Luis ran the show and was an excellent host caring for all my needs--from dinner reservations, to touring recommendations, breakfast, etc. The room was spotless , bed extremely comfortable and bathroom well stocked with a beautiful roof top view thru an open air window. The pool on the roof provided just the mid-day cool off one would need after walking thru the old city on a hot day. I would return to this Hotel in a second on a future trip to Cartagena.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed here for three nights in early May and had a wonderful time. This hotel is very tastefully decorated and the rooms are extremely comfortable and inviting. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The hotel has a pretty good location close to many bars and restaurants. It's a pleasant walk to the old town, although I think it would have been nicer if the hotel were actually in the San Diego or El Centro sections of the old town. I would definitely stay here again, though I think the hotel is best for couples rather than solo travelers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aak2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughrbaker
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Just had a couple of great nights at Casa El Carretero. The place is very charming with wonderful attentive staff and a tranquil environment in the heart of bustling vibrant streets. You are a short walk away from the old town and local bars and restaurants. The rooms are very tastefully thought out with Bose sounds systems and large flat screen tv´s, topped off by a very peaceful roof terrace.

I would definitely go back and would recommend the place to anyone wanting a relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughrbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We just returned from a three night stay at Casa El Carretero and we highly recommend it. The staff was very helpful and on call 24/7. The location is less than a 10 minute walk from the walled city and all the major attractions. The immediate neighborhood is also pleasant with plenty to see and short walk to many restaurants and bars. One of the best features is the swiming pool on the roof with great views of the city. It's a three-room hotel and we had two couples so this was basically a private pool for us all weekend. This hotel is perfect for couples or a group of six people could rent the whole hotel for a weekend. Breakfast cooked by the friendly staff was also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_nyc008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Casa El Carretero is an intimate boutique hotel hidden in the Getsemani neighborhood about a 10-minute stroll through Parque dl Centenario (Century Park) or across the Parque Camellon de los Martires (Plaza of the Martyrs) to the clock tower and Plaza de los Coches (coaches) marking the main entry to the tourist zone. The hotel is in a recently renovated Spanish colonial villa decorated simply but with sophistication in an Indonesian motif that compliments the hot, humid Caribbean setting. We opted for the smallest of the three rooms, which proved adequate as we had the run of the impeccablely clean house and rarely saw or heard other guests, including young honeymooners and a couple with a baby.

The staff, the charming Luis and the lovely Janettte, was friendly and helpful. They suggested good restaurants and helped us with transportation. Breakfasts were a delight of fresh cut tropical fruits and juices, fresh baked bread, and eggs cooked to order. Janette was enamored of the fried treats a vendor would bring to the door. One evening, Luis fixed dinner for a set of newly arrived guests.

After mingling with tourists in the centro historico in the heat of the day, it was a relief to retreat to the more sedate and authentic Getsemani neighborhood every afternoon. The oldest area of Cartagena, Getsemani is associated with the servants and black slaves who worked in the mansions of the central city. Now, it is a relatively well-to-do working class neighborhood. Casa El Carretero is situated in a residential area just off the Plaza de la Trinidad fronting the 1643 Iglesia de la Santísima Trinidad. The plaza, was the principal forum for the independence movement of the early 1800s and is still a gathering space for friendly local residents, with a few vendor carts, a corner store, a tipico restaurant, and Antonio’s, which has excellent pizzas and pasta. There is a police station just off the square. The area is friendly and safe: one of the other guests, a young woman, went jogging before breakfast.

Late in the afternoon, we would rejuvenate while listening to jazz on the Bose/Ipod stereo in the oasis-like rooftop pool at Casa Del Carretero before going out. The imposing Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest and strongest fortress ever built by the Spaniards in their colonies, dominates the view. It was built too late to stop the pirates that frequently raided the city and stole the gold being collected for the Spanish treasure fleets. The lighted dome of the cathedral, dating to 1575, marks the skyline of the central city, and you can tell dinner time by the clock tower. We walked to La Casa del Socorro, where my wife exchanged lessons in Spanish and English with our young waitress, or across the bridge to Club de Pesca in an old fort (Baluarte San Sebastián del Pastelillo) on Isla Mango for a romantic dinner at the marina looking across the bay.

Casa El Carretero was very accommodating, adjusting to last minute changes in our reservation, hiring a lovely young tour guide to greet us at the airport relieving the stress from our long flight, and arranging puerta-a-puerta (door-to-door) van transit to another Barranquilla. Obviously, we highly recommend Casa El Carretero to other travelers interested in the people of the countries they visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Paeonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We were a party of six and we decided to rent the entire house which was extremely reasonable.It turned out to be an amazing place to enjoy Cartagena. The best was the rooftop pool with excellent day and night views ( we were lucky enough to have a full moon one night!) ; most of our days were spent there!!! The staff, Janeth and Luis, were extremely accommodating, their cooking was amazing , they always greeted us with a smile and were incredibly resourceful ( they were able to get last-minute hairdressers for the wedding we were attending that weekend!). The house itself was beautiful, they made sure everything was kept clean , would highly highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#36 of 155 in Cartagena
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#60 of 155 in Cartagena
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#61 of 155 in Cartagena
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#66 of 155 in Cartagena
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#81 of 155 in Cartagena
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Tere
Hotel Casa Tere
#114 of 155 in Cartagena
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Carretero

Property: Casa El Carretero
Address: Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa El Carretero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa EL Carretero is a colonial boutique hotel located in the historical neighborhood of El Getsemani in the city of Cartagena, Colombia. The vision was to create an Indonesian oasis in a century old Spanish colonial home with all the comforts of XXI century living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa El Carretero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Carretero Cartagena
Casa El Carretero Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing