We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool boutique in old-town Cartagena”
Review of Casa El Carretero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa El Carretero
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very cool boutique in old-town Cartagena”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Great little boutique hotel in the Getsemani neighborhood of Cartagena!

We were the only guests the 5 days of our stay, so we had very personalized service. There was a staff member on hand 24 hours to take care of us, so we had a nice breakfast every morning as well as period dips in the pool to cool off during the hot summer days. We'd take a walk for a few hours then come back and relax at the pool.

The rooms themselves were smallish but well equipped with a Bose sound system and an LCD tv about 40" diagonal. The showers were particularly nice with a huge showerhead and great water pressure.

The rooftop pool was particularly nice. We checked with some other hotels and not all had actually working pools - double check if you go elsewhere!

Please note when you arrive, the door is pretty much unmarked. However there's a doorbell on the door itself, at the top left. It looks like one of the metal pieces of the door, so look very closely! We had to knock for a few minutes since no one heard us originally when we got there.

Wireless internet access was a nice touch as well, since that's hard to find sometimes in Cartagena.

All in all a great stay. Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbySteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    57
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
135
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2009

As a native of Cartagena I just have a wonderfull experience staying with my wife in Casa Carretero located in the heart of traditional Cartagena old district Getsemani.

We ware very impressed by the excellent job of recovering a classic construction and transforming it in a pleasant site with all the confort and all the facilities of a hospitality business.

The quiet sourrandings and amenities of a tipical area of the old city, gives you the opportunity of knowing the real Cartagena away of the massive tourist areas.

The personalized service you recive makes you part of the home and the warm behavior of the employees makes you feel the character of the people of the city and give you the confidence to come back and recomend your friends looking for a nice travel expirience.

Good entertaining places walking distance and secure, gives you the ideal complement for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustCartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Its the best boutique hotel... i felt that i was in paradise, i would definitely go back. i have no complaints. Fantastic

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarissavega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

The hotel is decorated tastefully, the rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The service is what extends above and beyond what I normally have encountered at other boutique hotels. Alicia and Luis take care of you while you are there and they are great at it! Any amenity is catered to from food to directions, taxi reservations and destination suggestions. The vibe is quiet and kind. The dipping pool on the roof provides a relaxed oasis, with a view of the surrounding neighborhood as well. It's a quick walk from the hotel to the Centro Historico, and the neighborhood around the hotel is vibrant with life and people hanging out in the local square. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I just stay one night in it, but the room, the bed all of it in the bedroom was perfect for rest and take the breath to continue my day work. Also the employers make you feel as you´r in home.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiloBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We are in our mid 50's, well-travelled and fluent in Spanish. We were very satisfied with the friendly attentive service of our house staff, Alicia and Luis. The comforts of air conditioning (room by room adjustable), flat screen tv and stereo systems, comfortable beds, soft cotton sheets and bathroom amenities, excellent house cleaning, breakfasts and well apportioned use of space.
Recommendations: Need new computer for guests; very little closet space in Java room could be offset by adding HOOKS to hang damp clothes and wet towels/bathing suits.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telluride,co.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Upon arriving at Casa el Carretero, it was like coming home.
the staff ,Luis and Alicia were attentive to our every need.
The rooms were VERY clean with fresh towels and linens every day.
The breakfasts ,served to order with fresh fruit,eggs,juice,coffee were delicious.
The roof top swimming pool was a treat after exploring the old city or in the evening after a night on the town.
the neighborhood was authentic and close to everything.
Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#43 of 151 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#54 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#59 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#25 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#101 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Carretero

Property: Casa El Carretero
Address: Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa El Carretero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa EL Carretero is a colonial boutique hotel located in the historical neighborhood of El Getsemani in the city of Cartagena, Colombia. The vision was to create an Indonesian oasis in a century old Spanish colonial home with all the comforts of XXI century living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Casa El Carretero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Carretero Cartagena
Casa El Carretero Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing