We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Casa El Carretero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa El Carretero
Ranked #83 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights. Location is outstanding in the heart of the atmospheric Getsemane district with local flavour and great restaurants and just a pleasant few minutes walk to the more touristic old town. Felt quite safe. It is an old house that has been most tastefully renovated to "boutique" standards. Staff most friendly and helpful. There is a very small but most welcome pool on roof terrace which we used early morning and at night after dinner each day. There are only 3 rooms ....each morning we met really interesting fellow travellers at the one long table where a sumptious/delicous breakfast is served. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Combins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Casa El Carretero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 306 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a wonderful time staying at Casa El Carretero. The property is in a great location that is surrounded by local flair and energy, and by close to the more "toured" areas as well. Air-conditioned rooms were a major plus as was the clean rooftop pool when afternoons got warm. The staff could not have been more welcoming and pleasant- and the desayuno typico was our favorite way to start off the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We liked it in the beginning, and the price was right since we got a 50% discount booking through TripAdvisor. In the end, we concluded that it did not live up to our expectations at all.

What went right: beautiful house, nice room, small rooftop pool, terrific restoration of old home, friendly staff, easy reservations and check out.

What went wrong: the number one problem is that I left my credit card in the room unlocked one day and one day only (I always keep my valuables locked in a suitcase at a minimum, and this place seemed so safe). Yes, bad mistake, but also El Carretero does not have safe deposit boxes so anything in your room is apparently at risk. Although I never took my credit card out of the room, and in fact, I never used it in Colombia during our entire time there, in the weeks following our stay, my card incurred a variety of fraudulent charges in several locations in Cartagena. The first was several weeks after we left. They amounted to almost $2,000 before the bank stopped the use of the card and called me. I am still working to clear this up. It has been a nightmare to say the least. One major problem is that here they take a copy of your passport, so with that and your credit card, thieves can easily clone your credit card and that is apparently what happened to me. As with any theft of personal items, and even though it was my fault, I feel violated by this and will never return.

The breakfasts here could be greatly improved. The fruit and arepas are OK but they can do better than the spongy white bread and watery eggs they serve. The Trinidad Plaza is one door away. It is highly active at night. It is loud. Bring you earplugs if you want to go to sleep before midnight.

Bottom line: OK place to stay if you can get their deep discounts, and if you can keep your credit cards very secure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonaBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarreteroGroup, Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Casa El Carretero takes pride of the service and level of security the hotel has. It is very unfortunate that this incident happened. We have initiated an investigation with local authorities and have installed safe deposit boxes in all rooms. We have hundres of positive reviews and wil continue to listen to our guests so that we can improve our service and facility for years to come.

In response to the "Copy of Passport", this is a practice that is done by all hotels in the city. It is a requirement installed by the local authorities to provide a control of guests in each hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the second time I have come to Cartagena and Casa El Carretero truly completed the experience. I stayed in a room with two of my friends, and since the moment we arrived we felt we were in a relaxed, cool oasis that was practically all ours!

We spent our days walking around town (Casa El Carretero is very close to everything), lounging by the meditation-like pool with great music and made-to-order cocktails during the day, and going to the best restaurants and salsa locations Cartagena has to offer, all at the recommendation of the Hotel Staff.

The rooms were dark and quiet when needed, the air conditioner was powerful and all modern amenities such as high-speed internet meant we felt truly at home.

The highlight of our trip was when we were able to go to Casa El Carretero's private island for the day, where we had a private house island to ourselves for the day and a lunch of heaping fresh lobster with coconut rice. We jumped off the roof into the amazing turquoise water and napped in hammocks.

I highly recommend Casa El Carretero and Cartagena in general for all who are looking for a great time in a FUN town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent a beautiful weekend in this colonial house in Cartagena with friends. The house is perfectly situated in the Getsemaní neighborhood, just outside the walled city, and a block from a little plaza where people gather to listen to music and hang out every weekend.

It's a gorgeous colonial Spanish home, charming and authentic, but with all the modern amenities you could hope for. The rooms are dead silent and perfectly dark, both day and night, thanks to the heavily reinforced windows. The air conditioning works beautifully, keeping temperatures nice and cool for sleeping. There is an awesome rooftop pool with an iPod doc for music, a great sound system, and plugs for your phones/laptops, so you can enjoy the sun and the beautiful city views all day if you want.

Service was incredible! The staff was extremely attentive to our every need and desire, preparing whatever we wanted for breakfast and bringing delicious rum cocktails up to the roof.

You will love Cartagena, with its great restaurants, salsa clubs, music and nightlife, beautiful historic center, beaches and islands. Casa el Carretero is the perfect base for a fun and relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, has a very charming Spanish-style decor. Our room was the Bali, has king bed, two windows with access to a balcony, and a large bathroom. The pool area is great, a beautiful view of the city. The typical breakfast was exquisite. But the most amazing was the attention: thanks Luz Maria, Maria and Luis.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaDuarte1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here with 2 other couples (so had the entire place to ourselves) for a long weekend and the experience was fantastic. Of the 6 people, we were able to put together a few sentences in Spanish. Don't worry, if it's something important, there's a computer to use google translate to get any point across. Breakfast was fantastic each day (arepas are where it's at). The rooftop pool was great for hanging out. Rooms have air conditioning which did provide a nice break from the heat. All rooms were meant for sleep, not much else. The walk to the old city is about 7-10 minutes. The nearby plaza (de Trinidad) is a fun place to grab a beer and some street food. Would recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#36 of 155 in Cartagena
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#60 of 155 in Cartagena
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#59 of 155 in Cartagena
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#67 of 155 in Cartagena
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friends to BE Hotel
Friends to BE Hotel
#70 of 155 in Cartagena
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Carretero

Address: Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $116 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa El Carretero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa EL Carretero is a colonial boutique hotel located in the historical neighborhood of El Getsemani in the city of Cartagena, Colombia. The vision was to create an Indonesian oasis in a century old Spanish colonial home with all the comforts of XXI century living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Casa El Carretero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Carretero Cartagena
Casa El Carretero Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing