We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monterrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monterrey
Ranked #57 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

While outside the walled city, this hotel couldn't be any closer. Not the least expensive hotel in town at $120US per night, but probably the best beds in that price range with a very nice duvet and ample pillows. LG flat-screen tv and cable, mini bar and nice bathroom. We had an interior balcony too, overlooking the courtyard. Wonderful views of the city from the roof top. Pleasant breakfast buffet included in the price.

All the staff I encountered were very helpful and spoke English perfectly, which helped as my Spanish is something of a work in progress. The staff were also very nice about our later-than-anticipated check out. Having stayed at more centrally located hotel priced at $80 per night would have to say Monterrey was the winner hands down -- entirely worth the extra money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backbeat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    126
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
39
143
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
293 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

While in Cartagena to attend an IDB meeting in 1998, I noticed this fine looking hotel while looking around the city. I liked its physical appearance and so when planning a short trip to Colombia this month, with my wife, I booked us in at Hotel Monterrey using E-mail.

Our room, 401, was spacious with a large comfortable double bed. We were not facing the street and consequently the noise level was minimal. The staff, especially the men who work the bar-restaurant, were extremely helpful. Luis lined us up with a friend for a traditional carraige ride out to Boca Grande and the San Filipe fortress.

We dined two out of the three evenings we were in town at the hotel restaurant as we did not want to go out in the heat again after strenuous days of wandering around. The food and service was excellent something unusual for hotel dining rooms.

Should one's travels take them to this historic city, Hotel Monterrey is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days. They served the best breakfast buffet we had in Colombia. We had our breakfast out in the charming courtyard. They also have a restaurant with a limited evening menu, but the food was well-prepared. Great location for just wandering around the historic area. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Nice rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

The Hotel Monterrey is 4 stories high and is about 200 years old. It is charming and simple. It is located just outside of the walled city, has a good police presence, ATM's nearby, an outdoor market, the convention center, etc.
We were given very good service by the staff and they made reservations and even walked us down a few streets to the restaurant that they recommended. The rooms are comfortable with Air Conditioning but it was very humid. This is a humid time of the year, and one of my cameras ceased to work until I dried it out at home. This can happen at any hotel in Cartagena. The breakfast is included, but they don't necessarilly explain that if you get more than just the fruit and juice that you are charged for upgrading your breakfast.
They arranged tours for me and my lady every day. These tours were economical and good.
The bedroom suited our needs and the price was well below the other area hotels. Cab ride from the airport is 12 Mil colombian ($8.00 USD). It is a quick ride to and from the airport, and seems to avoid much of the Cartagena traffic. There is a safe in the room and the cleaning staff was respectful of our personal belongings. The shower ran hot for a long time, and essential toiletries are included. There is a mini-bar and a decent television. I would stay here again, but my lovely lady wanted to be closer to the beaches. The beaches in Cartagena are mostly with grey sand and not particularly lovely. The beaches on Rosario are nicer. This works as a nice honeymooner's hotel, and with the exception of occasional voices in the hall, we almost felt like we were the only guests. I felt a little bit like I was in Spain staying here.

  • Liked — Good Service and low cost
  • Disliked — Humidity and small ant presence
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank artyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#42 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#41 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#86 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
#22 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#47 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterrey

Property: Hotel Monterrey
Address: Centro Historico | Carrera 8 B No. 25-103, Cartagena 1425, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#28 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterrey 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a magnificent building designed by the french architect Gaston Lelarge at the end of the 19th century, the Hotel Monterrey reflects Cartagena's colonial and original atmosphere combined with european finest style. The Monterrey Hotel is located next to Cartagena's convention Center and only ten minutes away from Rafael Nunez Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterrey Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing