We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monterrey
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$158
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$390
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$274
$212
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
133
148
53
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
148
53
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerclock towerrooftop barold citymaintenance issuesgreat locationwalled cityrooftop viewquiet roomfacing the streetinner courtyardrooms are comfortableboca grandeplace to stayevery morningnoisebalcony
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 342 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Monterrey. Everything was clean, and shiny. There was a large shower and a pretty little balcony. We faced into a courtyard and didn't have any noise problems. The breakfast was excellent, they offered eggs (any style) plus very nice pastries and lots of fruit choices. The location was excellent, only about a block away from the clock tower entrance to the old city. It's a nice walk thro the Paseo de los Martires (men who were assassinated when The Spanish retook Cartagena in 1815). The pool looked very inviting and we would certainly have used it if we had more than 2 days. There was a Bartender when we visited. AC working perfectly...and certainly necessary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Monterrey. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the clock tower entrance to the walled city. We had a room with 2 single beds. The hotel is really charming. It looks to be a colonial building with a center courtyard. The bathroom was beautiful and looked to be recently updated with travertine. No issues with hot water as mentioned in one of the reviews. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit, juices, breads, and ability to order eggs (any style) as well. The roof top has a great view. We didn't have time to use the pool, but it looked inviting. Air conditioning worked fine and was needed in the hot/humid climate of Cartagena. The people at the front desk were helpful with tips about the old city. Would definitely stay here again if I ever find myself in Cartagena again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Handy for the bars and restaurants in the old town. A small hotel with pretty basic facilities but not bad over all. I've stayed here a few times and it's always been pleasant enough. Can be noisy at night but the hotel is located near a lot of bars and clubs so it is to be expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverDeepBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Hotel Monterrey and couldn't have been happier. The people are wonderfully nice, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room was lovely and clean. The pool on the roof was nice, and has a great view. There is also a bar on the roof, however there is never a bartender there...probably because no guests are ever up there. (Not sure why, because it's a very pretty deck!) That was really the only letdown because it could have been a fun place to hang out.

The location is PERFECT!!! It is a safe plaza right across from the clocktower, outside from the vendors and tourists. You can easily walk to any part of the town from here. We felt like it was in the center of everywhere we wanted to go.

I usually like to spend a bit less on hotels, but this place was worth every penny. I would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is just outside the walled city and a good location for us. We stayed here 4 nights. The room was nice with comfortable beds, a beautiful bathroom and plenty of storage. The air conditioner (which we needed) worked well. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room the second floor (with elevator), overlooking breakfast area. It was a quiet room but we heard other guests complaining about street noise in their rooms. The breakfast was good with eggs to order and a fruit and pastry buffet. The staff was excellent, espeically the doorman. Sorry I can't remember his name. He tried to help us with our Spanish.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews