We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monterrey
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$155
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$158
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dann Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$204
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$403
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
133
148
53
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
148
53
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerclock towerrooftop barold citymaintenance issuesgreat locationwalled cityrooftop viewquiet roomfacing the streetinner courtyardrooms are comfortableboca grandeplace to stayevery morningnoisebalcony
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 342 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Back last year in November I stayed there for a conference and it was a great experience, small boutique hotel very classic but renovated, rooms were very clean and with a great balcony to the La Ciudad Amurrallada y la Plaza del Reloj
The staff was great and so friendly
Great location being only a few steps from the convention center

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drblonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is what I pictured for a hotel in Colombia. It is not top of the line, but feels classic. The rooms are ok and reasonably clean. The staff are exceptional. They noted my birthday was the day we arrived and surprised me with a desert at the restaurant after we finished eating. They constantly went out of their for our infant daughter as well - bringing a highchair out for her each morning at breakfast (which is served in a beautiful courtyard filled with trees). I loved the location - outside the walls of the old town. It let us get away from the tourist craziness and visit some more interesting restaurants. Plus, the view from the roof deck is fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYer_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I traveled to this Hotel on a South America Gospel Tour with Harlem Jubilee Singers. This was our LAST STOP on a WONDERFUL tour in South America. This Hotel is about 300 yeards from the OLD CITY where it is a very beautiful scenic and HISTORIC place. One of the most pretty places I have ever been. The Hotel is just a few blocks walking distance from the beach and directly across the street from the Convention Cention where we performed. It gets a little "SPICY" on a Saturday night.... but it ia great place for lovers and families. I recommend this place. FREE WIFI....and the service was good. Restaurant on premise. Didnt eat there. However a SLAMMING SALSA Cafe right next door that was ACTIVE and just teeming with people during the weekned I stayed there.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony room.... WOW....this Hotel "over looks" the city square.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I never spend this much on hotels, but hotel Monterrey came highly recommended by a friend who has stayed in many Cartagena hotels. It's located just outside the old city, so close enough to walk, but also away from the chaos. The front desk staff were also very polite and helpful. However, the pool was closed for a day and a half without the front desk staff knowing about it. They kept insisting it was open, but the signs around the pool said otherwise. I think this confusion came down to a general lack of staffing. There were very few guests, so not a lot of staff. Fine for peace and quiet, but impossible to order drinks or food while at the pool. Wasnt impressed by the breakfast either - have had better at youth hostels. Wish I had spent less and stayed at a hotel near Boca Grande. There are more shopping and food options in that neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saigonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a very nice, small hotel. It is centrally located for tourism, just outside the old city. It is a charming, old hotel. The staff is very accomodating. Breakfast is included and while not the best I've had (limited choices) it is quite acceptable. The rooms open up to an interior courtyard, where breakfast is served. There is a rooftop bar and a small swimming pool. This rooftop terrace is a lovely place to watch the sun set into the Caribbean.

Of note, the elevator only goes to the 3rd floor. Our room was on the 4th floor and included a king-size bed which most rooms do not. If you wish to take the elevator, you must got to the 3rd floor and walk up the last flight of stairs. We chose to walk up and down all 4 flight, but those with mobility issues might want to request they be on a floor with elevator access.

Room Tip: Room 402 is large and has a king-size bed, but is one floor above the last floor accessible via elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews