We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL WITH SOUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here recently and were delighted to find the hotel was even better than it appeared in the photos. The staff were attentive, professional and friendly. Location is superb, you step straight off a busy city-center street into a nice quiet hideaway with patio and garden. Our air conditioner was efficient but it shut it down automatically whenever we left the room. We asked the night porter to switch ours on in the evening just ahead of our return so we had a cold room and there was never any problem with this arrangement. My only complaint would be the cable TV picture quality which was mediocre. The owner told me he had a continual battle with the cable company over this and was about to install satellite TV

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Casa La Fe now has satellite TV (100 plus digital channels) installed in all bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 928 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

My fiancee, myself and our entire wedding party stayed at Casa La Fe during my wedding weekend and had a wonderful time. It is my third time at the hotel and each experience has been perfect. The rooms are nicely furnished with modern touches (flat screen tv) and the entire hotel has an old Cartagena charm typified by its open courtyard running through it's center.

The hotel's location is perfect. Very quiet in a lovely park, but close to the action.

Monica and Naomi and the entire staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast is consistently good and has a nice variety of menu selections to choose from. As a coffee addict, I really appreciate the instatn expresso machine in the lobby.

Only one note of caution -- the pool is very small. Don't expect to swim. Wading is more like it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smc20nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed in Casa La Fe last December with friends. We were lucky enough to stay in the room at the top of the house which was absolutely stunning (book it if you can, it's worth the extra money!). It was an amazing wood panelled room with double height ceiling and a balcony which overlooks a small town square. I honestly couldn't fault our stay here. The staff were brilliantly helpful and the overall the quality of the stay for the amount we paid was great value. It also feels really secure: There was a security person on the gated front door 24 hours a day, which felt safe without feeling OTT. I was staying with another female friend and we were made to feel really safe and welcome. The hotel is actually an old house set around a lovely courtyard where you eat breakfast. I would definitely recommend Casa La Fe, it's part of the great memories I have of a great holiday. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linghersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

With an air conditioning unit that had not been clean since the millennium. There was so much mold and dirt and pollen, that when I turned it on, I could barely breath. The whole hotel smells of mold, a sure sign of neglect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masterofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

The client had an issue with allergies supposedly caused by the room air conditioner, although all our units are cleaned (and finned tubing pressure washed) on a monthly basis with logged records. The hotel had an issue with the client smoking in the bedroom. Relationships between client and staff deteriorated to the point where early check -out by the client was the only solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We decided to stay in Casa la Fe mostly due to the great comments in Tripadvisor. Yes, the hotel itself is just about perfect, it's well located, the rooms are clean, the service is ok and breakfast is average as well when it comes to colombian standards etc.

We had booked a upper double, which in fact was a good choice because the rooms on the ground floor certainly are noisy in the morning or whenever people are passing by. My only complain is the price, which is slightly higher than the price offered by some similar nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I am Colombian and my wife is American. We went to Colombia to have a second wedding with our friends and family.
We spent the first few days of our vacation in Boca Grande. It was OK, but we really wanted to stay inside of “La ciudad amurallada.” While walking the old city at night I asked a police officer if he knew of a place that wouldn’t be too expensive inside of the old town. He told us about Casa La Fe.
We visited that night, spoke with the person at the front desk, and we checked-in the following morning. We did not care about loosing the money we had already paid at the other hotel. We wanted to stay there.
What a place! It has all the amenities that a traveler would want + more. The employees are very friendly; the place is immaculacy clean, and updated. You fell like you are staying at a friend’s house.
The espresso machine at the lobby, the Colombian chocolates, the pastries, and more are freebees that make you want to come back. I have never seen so much attention to detail and a place so customer oriented.
We loved taking the two little bikes for afternoon rides around the city (free of charge). By the end of your visit, you know everyone by name and you feel said that it is time to go.
They certainly made our vacation special and we cannot wait to go back!
Jose & Katie

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJnKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I have to be honest and start by saying that although there are several fancier boutique hotels in the old city, Casa la Fe can easily surpass any expectations you may have for this kind of hotel. On the plus side: location, cleanliness, service, housekeeping (both the room and the old house), value, cute small terrace/pool, free internet; and the list can go on. On the minus side: rooms are a little tight, breakfast portions may be a little small for those with a good appetite (got to say though that they were delicious).

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

No one should go hungry - just ask for a second serving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#17 of 156 in Cartagena
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 156 in Cartagena
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 156 in Cartagena
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 156 in Cartagena
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Address: Calle segunda de Badillo # 36-125 | Centro Histórico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $122 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa La Fe is an oasis of calm and good taste located in the very heart of the city and our services come recommended in the NYT and London Times Group Newspapers. Visit our webpage in Trip Advisor and take a Virtual Tour of our rooms and facilities. Ensure that you obtain the best rate and free airport pick-up by booking direct with the hotel using promotion code SDBOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing