We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standout service alongside Garcia Marquez' Park of the Evangels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 152 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Standout service alongside Garcia Marquez' Park of the Evangels”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an excellent option for those who want to stay in the historic center of the city and appreciate the little extras when it comes to service. Casa la Fe is not a luxury hotel and is not priced as one; however, it is an excellent value.

We spent three nights there in early November. Our room was comfortable, well-appointed and very clean, with white linens on a comfortable bed, a very effective and quiet air conditioning unit (in spite of Cartagena's infamous heat and humidity, we managed to make our room even too cold at times), a ceiling fan (make sure it’s spinning in the right direction—we had to flip the switch on the base after realizing that it was blowing air toward the ceiling), and a desk and wardrobe (no iron, though). The bathroom was clean and comfortable and featured a modern walk-in shower with plenty of hot water.

The aesthetic of the hotel and rooms is charming and appropriate for the era of the building and its location on the Plaza Fernandez de Madrid. Our room featured a balcony that faced the park, which is small and absolutely packed with trees, so from the second floor, we only got a view of the street below and the leaves of the trees—nice but not striking. From our bed, we could hear horse hooves clopping on the street and music blaring well into the night, but we were warned of this before we booked a street-facing room—it didn't really bother us, but if you are a light sleeper, you should avoid booking a room with a plaza view and inform the staff of your noise preferences via e-mail shortly after making the reservation. An interesting bit about the plaza—it is reputedly the park that Gabriel Garcia Marquez refers to as the Park of the Evangels in “Love in the Time of Cholera,” and the house that supposedly served as the inspiration for the home of Fermina Daza in the novel is located directly across the plaza from the hotel—it’s the white one with the parrot doorknocker.

Staff member Adolfredis speaks English and promptly answered any question we sent him via e-mail before our arrival. He was on vacation during our stay, but all of the other staff members were courteous and extremely helpful. Some of them do not speak English, but if communication ever became a problem, I am sure an English speaker would be located for you. The hotel arranged for taxi pickup from the airport (for a fee, added to the hotel bill), and our taxi driver was extremely friendly and spoke English. He was right on time to pick us up for our departure as well. We briefly met the owner of the hotel, Jeff from the UK, and he was very welcoming. He seems to run a relaxed but efficient establishment.

I have not stayed in any other hotels in Cartagena, but I have stayed in several similar establishments (small hotels in old buildings) across Latin America, and what sets Casa la Fe apart is the level of service. They really do appear to be very responsive to guest suggestions and complains. Complaints left on this website seem to be addressed thoroughly by the staff and suggestions made here seem to have led to immediate improvements in service for future guests—to me, a sure sign that they are striving to be the best mid-level hotel in the walled city. The breakfast options I tried were all excellent, and the happy hour (first glass of wine or beer is complimentary) was a nice touch as well. We arrived before check-in and were allowed to store our bags at the hotel, which is not unique, but since our return flight did not leave until late in the evening on our last day in the city, we left our bags at the hotel and walked around the city for hours, working up quite a sweat. Much to our relief, we were allowed to clean up using the staff shower before departing for the airport.

The courtyard where breakfast and happy hour drinks are served is small but very pretty, with an abundance of vegetation. Neither the lobby nor the open-air courtyard is air conditioned, but there are tower fans available if you need them. There is a pool on the roof—it is very small but deep enough to submerge yourself in the cool, refreshing water—along with a shower, bathroom, clean towels and lounge chairs under a mesh canopy. The hotel is very conveniently located in the San Diego neighborhood, which is within the walled city and almost indistinguishable from downtown aesthetically but is a little quieter.

Through the front desk, I was able to secure tickets to a day trip to Isla del Encanto, one of the Islas del Rosario. Included in the trip was van pickup from the hotel, transport by speedboat to and from the island (an enjoyable ride offering a great view of the Bocagrande skyline) and lunch. We were taken to the beach in front of a very small resort on the island and were given access to everything except the rooms—the beach, beach furniture, bathrooms, hammocks and swimming pool. The sand was pleasant enough but not white. The water seemed clean but it was not clear, though it’s hard to say if the November date of this trip was to blame. Snorkeling and scuba diving excursions were offered (for an additional fee), and these activities took place in a sheltered inlet on a different part of the island. We skipped these, but their availability seemed to indicate that clear, azure water is not an impossibility on the island.

Isla del Encanto does not offer the sort of beach experience or view you might expect from a Caribbean island, but I found the day trip well worth the price and time. The sea breezes and the perfect temperature of the water made lounging and swimming extremely enjoyable. The staff on the boat and at the resort were friendly and attentive, and many of them spoke English. You just pick a spot on the beach, open a tab (which, in my case, was absolutely accurate), and a server will bring you drinks and food from the bar as you wish. The resort is relatively isolated, so unlike at Playa Blanca, there are no peddlers from a nearby town, though there are a few resident salesman at the resort who will try to sell you their wares if your paths cross—the resort has seemingly instructed them not be aggressive or too bothersome, however.

Probably the biggest drawback of this particular stretch of beach during our visit is the section of coral that separates the beach from the sandy bottomed shallow sea. It’s not sharp enough to cut you, but it’s rough enough to be uncomfortable to walk on barefoot, and it lasts a couple yards. Once you get past it, however, the sea bottom is nothing but smooth sand. I can’t say if this is a permanent feature of the beach there or not. Also, once the boat dropped us back off in the city at the end of the trip, we had to walk back to the hotel, but it was not a far jaunt at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonseokTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are very grateful to clients for submitting reports and we always listen to our customers. We operate a bonus scheme for our staff which means their take home pay is frequently double the minimum wage. They also get interest-free loans and medical bills paid when other resources fail them. So we have a happy team and a great reputation as a local employer. For our charity work in the local community check out our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    283
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
187
420
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stay at Casa La Fe for 3 night while we tour around the Cartagena area. All the staff was helpful and attentive to our needs as we we're the American with no Spanish speaking and they made it easy for us. We where meet at the airport by driver he had to wait as our plane was delayed but no extra charge for that. I do have to rave a little about Freddy the manager just the
best and if every hotel could find a Freddy they would never let him leave. Always with a happy smile and wanting to be sure all was 100 percent and he gave us great recommendation to many sites and great restaurants. Loved it truly. Jeff & Mary

Room Tip: Top floor was great but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 54Jeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great Cartagena experience. Wonderful staff. Perfectly situated in the heart of the old city historical center. Overlooks the quaint and lovely tree-filled Plaza San Martin. A small boutique hotel oozing with local color, bountiful garden, great character and flavor. Everyone at the desk is most helpful. There are many other hotels perhaps more spacious, but those come at a premium cost. For the price, this is an excellent buy. If this is your price point, this is your perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Would recommend it to everyone. Go for a room with balcony on the top floor. But don't have the reception to book your tour to Playa Blanca if you're trying to avoid the Acquarium on Isla Rosaria. They're in on the scam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Torben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We would dearly like to know what 'scam' we are engaged in. We request this guest contact the hotel to enlarge on this remark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garanhuns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed three nights in Casa La Fe at first, before we went to Santa Marta, and another night on the way back to Bogotá. The whole staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful (especially Freddy), the breakfast is simple but delicious, the rooms are nice and comfortable, the small pool on the top floor is great to get refreshed at the end of a hot day. On top of that, the location is great, in front of a charming little square, and near everything in the walled city.

If you have problems with stairs, like huge breakfasts and want big rooms, then it might not be an option for you; there are no elevators, and the best rooms are in the second of third floor; you get to choose only one (delicious) option out of four for breakfast; and the room is not huge. But if you don't mind those things, and if your interest is a small, comfortable and nice hotal in the walled city, Casa La Fe is the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Otavio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
This client and many others have taken advantage of our complimentary airport pick -up by reserving through our webpage or TA's new "'Sitio oficial". Reservations through Booking.com, Venere or Despegar do not qualify and you may ask why? The answer is that these online agencies take a huge 18% commission on each and every reservation, leaving nothing for customer perks. Hopefully the playing field will be leveled somewhat by TA's new initiative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Polite, friendly staff. Very accommodating. Hotel is in great location within the old, walled city of Cartagena. Rooms are comfortable and clean. We plan to go back. We were part of a large group attending a wedding in San Pedro Cathedral. It was perfect time of year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and we're going back for another because we had so much fun there. The location is perfect on a cozy little square with some bars and cafes plus close to everything in old town. Service was 5 star. Casa la fe proved 3 star hotels can be better sometimes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 152 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 152 in Cartagena
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 152 in Cartagena
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 152 in Cartagena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle segunda de Badillo # 36-125 | Centro Histórico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa La Fe is an oasis of calm and good taste located in the very heart of the city and our services come recommended in the NYT and London Times Group Newspapers. Visit our webpage in Trip Advisor and take a Virtual Tour of our rooms and facilities. Ensure that you obtain the best rate and free airport pick-up by booking direct with the hotel using promotion code SDBOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing