We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$210
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$101
$94
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Lola(Cartagena)
$149
$141
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Martin Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$52
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$124
$83
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
592
300
56
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
300
56
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolold citywalled citybalcony roomcharming hotelthird floortiny poolwhere breakfast is servedexcellent locationcentral locationthe breakfast areano elevatorstayed nightsinner courtyardeach morningfresh fruitsanta marta
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 970 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location is outstanding, quite central in the historic center of Cartagena, and easy walking distance to all of this historic sights. The building fits inconspicuously in its surroundings, and has a homey feeling. My rooms (changed after the first night) were spacious, with working WiFi, air conditioning, etc. The breakfast choices were good, with extra points for the freshly squeezed orange juice. No breakfast choice on Sundays, though. The hotel offers a "happy hour" in late afternoon with a complimentary beer or glass of wine.

The hotel offers a private boat trip out into the Bay of Cartagena, with stops on the Isla de Tierrabomba and the Fuerte de San Fernando at Bocachica (see attached photos). That provided a very interesting contrasting perspective that wasn't available through other sightseeing itineraries. So we had these locations almost all to ourselves. With my interest in history and culture, that trip was a great opportunity to go off the beaten path. If you stay at the Case La Fe, I strongly recommend that you take the time to make this trip, though you should be aware that the boat ride can be rough even if the bay is calm.

I would have given the highest score to this hotel had the hot water worked dependably, but tepid showers make me grumpy, so that's why I marked it down a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from an incredible five day vacation in Cartagena, Columbia and one of the highlights was our hotel - Casa La Fe. Great location within the walled city and within walking distance to major attractions and fantastic restaurants. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast and complimentary Happy Hour was a great way to meet other guests. Geoff the owner was very helpful in restaurant recommendations and a special thank you to Freddy who had some great suggestions and insights into Colombian culture and history.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly.
I would stay here again and recommend to others.
The hotel seems to be GREEN in that your A/C is not allowed to run when you are not in your room. The room did cool very quickly once the A/C was activated.

Room Tip: You can hear people gathering in the commons area from the first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Yes we are green on unnecessary use of energy & detergents. However a point worth mentioning is that if you must return to a cold room after a night out on the town just ask the bell boy at reception to switch on your a/c ahead of your anticipated return time. He will be happy to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in a triple room with balcony and found it to be spacious enough for the three of us adults. There are two twin beds upstairs and a double bed down. We were concerned at the beginning that the upstairs would be too hot, even with the airconditioning on, so we called reception and the very accommodating staff came to our room and showed us the "turbo" button the remote and that did the trick for our entire stay.

Our balcony was pretty narrow and we had to stand up to see the horse and carriage action on the street below. The trees surrounding the park were high and blocked the view of the small plaza, but it was pleasant to sit out there in the evening just the same. The rooftop pool was very small, but the quiet and private area was welcoming. The plaza wasn't very happening in comparison to other squares but we could easily walk to the more vibrant squares and enjoyed doing so.

Breakfasts in the outdoor patio were pleasant and you have your choice of 4 different food combinations. Rooms were clean and the bathroom was modern, if only just a very nice shower.

Old world charm, friendly and efficient staff and an excellent location. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends. Two of us speak fluent Spanish and we felt right at home, while the third member speaks no Spanish and felt right at home also.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room and did not have any problem with street noise. We would not have been happy in an interior room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Just to add that we are in the process of renewing our a/c units because of age and all our new ones will be of larger capacity, global warming at play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Centrally located, clean and quiet! Breakfast on the patio is fantastic, and the tiny pool on the rooftop is incredibly refreshing. We stayed for three days - Tues, Wed, and Thurs - and were incredibly pleased with our room and the staff, all of whom were super friendly and helpful. (We speak minimal Spanish, but all of the staff speaks some English, and at least two of the staff are fluent, so it was no problem.)

One of our favorite things to do for lunch was pick up an assortment of fruit and empanadas from the local street vendors and eat lunch on our balcony, overlooking the park below. Gorgeous!

The room had AC but we never needed to turn it on - the fan and tile floors kept the place cool and comfortable. There's a little noise from the park and cafes below at night, but that's part of the charm of the city.

The location is great - Cartagena is a magical city and Casa La Fe is a perfect base for exploring it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annearky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews