We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting, friendly, attentive,clean, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting, friendly, attentive,clean, excellent value”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A truly charming hotel located in the center of the old city of Cartagena, Columbia near restaurants, entertainment and site seeing.We stayed three nights in the economy room and two nights in a more luxurious room upon our return from the island of Baru. The same outstanding service, clean, quite air conditioning with good bathroom amenities made our stay a delight. This former colonial house is kept immaculate and very well decorated with tropical flowers and vegetation in the lobby and the atrium overlooking the terrace where a delicious breakfast was served every morning by a friendly and accommodating staff.Complimentary Coffee and tea available all day, beer and wine during the happy hour provided a friendly atmosphere for all guest to socialize. There is a lovely small pool with jacuzzi on the roof with a great view. And then there is Freddy. The nicest hotel manager we have ever met in our extensive travels. He is the best go to person always available to provide information with a smile and congenial attitude. The place to go in Cartagena. Maya and Lewis

Room Tip: We recommend a room on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    283
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
187
420
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A very nice, reasonably priced and centrally located hotel in the centre of Cartagena. A small hotel in old colonial house with all basic facilities (clean rooms with good bath room facilities for each room, a good breakfast, well kept and clean and with a small sun terrace with pool).
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_g188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We have 24 hr reception, daily concierge, a la carte breakfasts, 24/7 freshly ground coffee, nightly happy hour with complimentary drinks, private marine launch and free bicycles for guest use. So I would question that we are a ´simple' hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Casa La Fe in a room with a balcony and we really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and helped us with any questions we had (trips, restaurants and so on). The roof top with the pool is nice. We highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in January. All the previous reviews are accurate - the rooms are small but perfectly nice and clean, the free breakfast is simple but great to have. The highlights were definitely the service (Freddie!) and the rooftop pool - only about 3 feet deep but we spent a few hours there each afternoon and it was never crowded. Also felt very safe there the whole time - they lock the front door at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Well-kept, clean, and charming hotel in the center of the walled city. The walled city itself is a must-see, and this hotel was the perfect place to come home to at the end of our nights and even intermittently throughout the day when we needed to drop stuff off. The staff is very accommodating. The breakfast was a bit bland, but the 24 hour coffee and happy hour were great touches. Didn't spend any time on the jacuzzi upstairs - it was always full of people, but also looked like a relaxing place to spend a morning or late afternoon. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor - where the cafe/eating area is - you'll be woken up by all th...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SoLa1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Casa La Fe for four nights in the beginning of January on the middle part of our trip to Colombia. Our room was on the second floor (Room #206) and it faced the main square. This meant it was very noisy much of the day and night; if noise is an issue for you, you may not want to request a room facing the square. We quite liked the energy it provided. We also had a small balcony that enabled us to check out the excitement when we didn't want to be "in" it.

Breakfast was the best of our trip; as a vegetarian, I felt like I was easily satisfied with scrambled eggs, arepas, and cheese as well as coffee and juices. All of the servers were friendly and were patient with our beginner Spanish; I think we improved over those four days! We also participated in the happy hour and took advantage of the coffee machine left out all day.

The small pool was nice. Because it is such a small area, I think it would he helpful if they had a small storage area (shelves) so people could store their towels and shoes when in the pool. Guests tended to put their belongings on the lounge chairs while in pool, which prevented others who just wanted to lounge from relaxing at times (or made it awkward). It all worked out, but a small storage area would have been great!

The staff was available and helpful; Freddy helped us book a trip to the Rosario Islands, which was a nice experience. I would recommend Casa La Fe.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A lovely house right in the heart of the old town. The room was fairly small and it seems that they usually only feature double beds(queen), so they were a little surprised when they saw two guys asking for twin! However they accommodated us by putting in an extra bed making the room even smaller.  There is tv with a variety of channels, air conditioning, a fan and two complimentary bottle of waters are offered.

Breakfast was good with a selection of 4 different options while the hotels offers a happy hour which is a glass of wine or beer on the house between 6-7pm daily!

Staff was very attentive and Freddy an oasis of information as he was the only hotel staff in whole Colombia that we cane across that actually spoke English!!

I found the hotel overpriced for what it is (but that seems to be Cartagena ...especially around New Year's period) but taking that out of the equation (alongside a rat running across the hotel at night :-)) I would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papagreko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
This is the first the staff or I have heard of an unwelcome non-paying guest - we will investigate. The hotel has three twin bedded and eleven double rooms but this gentlemen did a late room change from Double to Twin and the only way to accommodate him was to add an auxiliary bed in the room, not at all ideal but the only solution. Cartagena is an expensive city to visit in all respects but I believe we remain competitive on rates and unsurpassed on service - Freddy not only speaks English but also applies great judgement in interpreting and responding to a client's specific needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 153 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 153 in Cartagena
1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle segunda de Badillo # 36-125 | Centro Histórico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa La Fe is an oasis of calm and good taste located in the very heart of the city and our services come recommended in the NYT and London Times Group Newspapers. Visit our webpage in Trip Advisor and take a Virtual Tour of our rooms and facilities. Ensure that you obtain the best rate and free airport pick-up by booking direct with the hotel using promotion code SDBOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing