We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heartbeat of Cartagena on the doorstep of a superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #15 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The heartbeat of Cartagena on the doorstep of a superb hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I mistrust reviews that award five stars in all departments. That's why I've given Casa la Fe only four in "sleep quality" sector - just to make the point that nothing in life can be perfect. What's amiss in the sleep category? Only this; that if you like silence, then the very heart of the old city of Cartagena may not be for you!
But for us it was FANTASTIC. Casa la Fe is set on the shaded side of a square (I think it's the city's only hotel in a square) where the heartbeat of this old Caribbean city provides a magical setting.
I give all the other departments five stars because Geoff and Carmen, and their smiling attentive staff, make this well-run hotel seem like home. When you come in off the throbbing city streets and step into the cool and elegant courtyard, it does feel like you're in a special place. We fell in love with Cartagena, and we fell in love with Casa la Fe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkLings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    287
    55
    13
    9
See reviews for
191
428
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, NL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We wondered why prices of hotels in Cartagena where so high and capacity scarce during the last few days of February and the first days of March. When we arrives we found out, because it was exactly the week of the Latin America Film Festival FICCI. Nevertheless, the rate of USD200 per night for a small room with a small window on an exterior corridor, is definitely too high. In fact it's the same rate as the beautiful 500 sqft (45m2) colonial junior suite in hotel L'Opera in Bogota where we stayed the previous nights. In general La Fe is quite ok; perfect location, friendly, clean and decent breakfest.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profi_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
This guest mentions La Opera but we recently stayed at Hotel Casa Deco in la Candelaria for $115 per night and can recommend it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Casa La Fe had a great write up from the New York times, which is why we booked.

In terms of nice things to say about the hotel, the service was wonderful. It is truly beautiful inside the hotel and breakfast area, with a gorgeous garden and architecture. They had a nice breakfast every morning with great options for veggies and meat lovers.

What worried me about the hotel was the amount of mould present in the rooms. We mentioned it to the hotel as we both were coughing when we entered in the room. They explained they are aware of the problem and use a spray, but that Cartagena overall has this problem due to the weather.

I should also caution any light sleepers that it can be noisy in the hotel depending on the guests activity. You can hear everything in your room. The beds smelled like mould and we put a towel over our pillows - hotel beds and pillows were old and hard.

I always think i t is important to highlight what happens in situations when things go wrong, and how people handle them. The hotel accidentally sent us on the wrong trip (were supposed to go canoeing and ended up at a mud volcano without the proper clothes). The hotel graciously apologized and offered to refund our money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Here we have two reports from clients who stayed in the same balcony family room in February just days apart - see " A wonderful experience for us and our children" of 01 March.
For the record there is no mould in our bedrooms, furnishings or bed linen. But we do spray all rooms regularly against mosquitos (as do other Cartagena hotels).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights with our two children, aged 11 and 13. The family room with balcony was perfect for this. Although a little on the small side, the loft space gave us plenty of room. The balcony overlooked the lively park - there was always something to watch. The hotel is located on the border between the Centro and San Diego districts of the city. Both are within the old city, and very safe, but while Centro is the major tourist district, we found a little more local flavor in San Diego.

I liked that the place was small and intimate enough to let me feel comfortable with the kids going down to breakfast on their own, and they loved the splash pool on the roof.

We did have street noise - I don't think there is anything one could do about that given the location and it really didn't bother us. Many of the other rooms do not have windows, but the inn has a wonderful central sitting area that the rooms surround.

One helpful hint - the ATM at the Santander bank in Plaza de La Aduana might be the best place to withdraw pesos. It is secure, easy to use with English directions, and let me use my Bank of America ATM card without charging a fee (Bank of America, on the other hand, charged me $5.00, plus 1% for the withdrawals). Santander operates as Sovereign Bank in the US.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thanks for the report but it does require correction - ALL rooms have large windows set into double entry doors. These have adjustable louvres to both admit light and at the same time allow privacy to the room occupant. You can see the arrangement in many of our room pics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This hotel was not in any of the travel books but lucky for me I had checked out reviews and everyone was right this is a great hotel in a great location. Cartegena is sooooo much fun...non stop action from the street performers to the street food there is something for everyone. The hotel is in the center of the historic district and is probably the best location in town. When we checked in the front desk was efficient and friendly. Our room was perfect for our family and was very quiet even though the streets of Cartegena party to the late hours. Breakfast is included and is quite tasty and served promptly when you sit down which is great for Colombia and I really appreciated having coffee offered early in the morning. Small hotel with charm!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingchefmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Casa La Fe is perfectly located within the walled-city. We were able to walk everywhere day and night. The staff was absolutely informed and helpful. We had a balcony room overlooking the plaza which added to our appreciation of the daily life in the city. Breakfasts were varied in choice and delicious. The coffee was first rate. We think Casa La Fe definitely helped us enjoy Cartagena, already a choice destination, even more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Casa La Fe earlier this month - great location, beautiful place, kind staff, delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#19 of 155 in Cartagena
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 155 in Cartagena
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle segunda de Badillo # 36-125 | Centro Histórico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa La Fe is an oasis of calm and good taste located in the very heart of the city and our services come recommended in the NYT and London Times Group Newspapers. Visit our webpage in Trip Advisor and take a Virtual Tour of our rooms and facilities. Ensure that you obtain the best rate and free airport pick-up by booking direct with the hotel using promotion code SDBOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing