We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Walled City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walled City of Cartagena

Walled City of Cartagena
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.00*
and up
Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus
Ranked #1 of 176 things to do in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Grapeview, Washington
Level Contributor
555 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Interesting Walled City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed walking around the inside of this walled city. It has a very Spanish Colonial feel to it like being in some of the old cities in Spain. I enjoyed it more at night due to the lighting of the buildings, the open sidewalk cafes, smaller crowds, and cooler temperatures. If you go during the day it can be much more crowded and definitely hotter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,411
    3,174
    381
    55
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yes, very good... *(with an asterisk)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

It is amazing to behold and fascinating to explore, and I advise you to hike to the big fortress and walk along the top of the fortified wall. It is an astonishing mass of beautiful and durable work. If you go here when it is the hottest part of the summer, you may want to bring a physician because heat like this we don't ever see in the Unites States. It is a heat that meets you the instant you disembark and owns your soul for as long as you're there. Meanwhile you will be approached by a lot (really a lot) od children and adults who are selling goods and services... ahem. Some of the items are actually worth the haggle down, if you have t414he stomach for haggling, you can do rather well... just be careful. My folks went with myself and my Masonic Lodge on a cruise that stopped here for the most part of a full day. My dad and I were visiting on the top of the wall (it has a tunnel that leads to street level), and suddenly became aware that my mother had vanished. Hectic moments later we became further aware that she was being led into this tunnel which is a dangerous looking place with this random guy. No sooner had we noticed that two plain-clothes police showed up out of nowhere, caught up to my mom and her new "friend" and remedied the situation and the man was led away. Mom was fine but a bit confused.
Columbia is many things, even to a tourist walking through it is beautiful , unique, friendly, and relatively inexpensive... so by all means go and explore. Bear in mind that if it's too hot, you'll want to arrange a shorter journey into town and be careful who you talk to and don't go anywhere alone, particularly if you look like a rich American tourist that may fetch a vast sum of money. Watch that wallet, we were informed there had been some clever pick pocket teams before going into town. Just keep your wits about you. Maybe you'll get as lucky as I did in the walled-city mall (outdoor bazaar) and haggle yourself some goods!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you visit Colombia. Great to wander with no particular place to go. Can get crowded in places, but that is part of the fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a stunning city beautiful in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

It's stunning and perfectly preserved. A real Spanish colonial masterpiece. The balconies are covered with flowers and the town is full of beautiful restaurants and bars.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiufl Old Walled City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nice to walk around - I took a free bus from my hotel (Occidental) twice during the day and once at night.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walled City of Cartagena also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Walled City of Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing