We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful and historic, relaxed atmosphere”

Walled City of Cartagena
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.00*
and up
Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus
Ranked #1 of 192 things to do in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and historic, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A beautiful city to wander around, visit sites, sip drinks and eat great food. It's a very easy place to take a self-guided tour and we really enjoyed the audio guides at the Museos and Cathedral.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank julia123NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,080
    3,348
    403
    56
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“European Feel!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

While walking through the cobblestone roads of the Walled City, I couldn't help but feel something quite magical! The area is absolutely stunning. Bright colored buildings have attached balcony's, most overflowing with beautiful flowers. The color contrasts here are unforgettable. It is almost impossible to take a bad picture while visiting the Walled City. As most areas in Cartagena, the streets are lines with vendors, however, most of the vendors here were not bothersome. There is a lot to see in this area. With each building more beautiful than the next, landmarks can be easily missed without proper guidance. Luckily, we met a man names Manuel Ignacio. Manuel works for a company called TRM tours. He is absolutely AWESOME! If you're looking for an English speaking guide that is trustworthy, fun, and genuine, MANUEL is your guy! If you do not know much Spanish (not the same dialect as Mexico), you will definitely need someone to translate! Take a lot of random photos, they all turn out beautiful!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I would have been lost without a guide”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were going to try the area on our own. We ended up choicing a paid guide and driver. Since we were there on a limited timeframe, I think we saw a lot in a short time. Walking distance was about 3 miles. Beautiful city however be prepared to say no to vendors who will harass you if you make eye contact or ask about their product.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shamrockarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old Wall”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The old wall is well maintained. The wall was built to defend the city against pirate´s attacks and it was very efficient. It´s lovely to take a walk close to the wall

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlazac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really a Treasure”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you go to Cartagena, try to stay inside the walled City....That is what makes Cartagena Unique. The historic value and the beautiful arquitecture make it all worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LiPiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walled City of Cartagena also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Walled City of Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing