We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Easter sunday visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friends For Colombia - Tours

Friends For Colombia - Tours
Ranked #55 of 101 Tours in Cartagena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Friends for Colombia supports Colombian nonprofit foundations who are doing great works to address the social challenges faced by so many Colombians. In addition, we help visitors and others to experience the real Colombia and provide opportunities to get to know, volunteer and support the foundations. Let us know how we can help you experience the real Colombia and also find opportunities to serve here.
Lawndale, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Easter sunday visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We cruised on the Norwegian Sun into Cartagena, Columbia on Easter Sunday. Dan and Berit met us on the pier with their air conditioned bus. I think there were 22 of us on the tour. Our cost for the tour was less than twenty-five dollars per person.
Being as so much was closed because of the Easter celebration we did not get to see some of the projects. We were driven through different status neighborhoods, seeing both the best and the worst of Cartagena. The economy and how it is handled were explained to us as we went.
We were delighted to visit and give out gifts (most provided by Dan & Berit) at the children's hospital. The staff is limited in this hospital so one parent stays with their child and basically lives in a chair beside the child's bed. Many of these parents bring their children often by boat and then hours on a bus to get to the hospital. The hospital is getting more funding now because of recent changes in the local government. There was much renovation going on with outdoor areas being spruced up for the families to get some welcome outdoor time. We prayed with a family who had just lost a child but were told by a Dr. that the mortality rate is much reduced and now rivals the death rate in the US.
Our second stop was at a nursing home for abandoned seniors. While there was a definite language barrier hugs and kisses as well as birthday cake made for a wonderful time.
We did have two translators Nick and Sandy (young people from the community) who spent the day with us and helped with questions. What caring kids they were.
Then we had an hour long walking tour of the walled city. We visited three catholic churches where we were given the opportunity to pray if we chose too.
All in all it was the best Easter Sunday I have ever spent and a wonderful way to realize just how blessed I am.
I wanted to say Thank you to Dan & Berit for giving up their Easter Sunday to brighten the lives of those we visited and all of us tourist folks. You are truly a wonderful couple.
__________________

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I highly recommend a tour with Friends For Colombia. Dan and Berit Wick, who founded FFC, are extremely heartwarming and generous. It is no wonder that the tour they lead visits foundations where the Colombian people are cared for with love and concern. It is my understanding that the tour destinations may vary; regardless this couple and the people and country they will introduce to you is not to be missed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cgrace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Friends For Colombia - Tours, responded to this review, February 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. It was great to meet both of you and have you join us on the tour. You touched the hearts of those you met and really reached out to so many. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Friends For Colombia 4 Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We took a tour of Cartagena with Friends for Colombia (having read about it on Cruise Critic) and it was one of the best vacation days my husband and I have ever had (and we have traveled a lot). Dan and Berit Wick are two of the most comfortable, genuine and generous people we have met and through them you have the opportunity to meet other people in Cartagena making your visit there a true visit and not just and excursion.

Dan at Berit were waiting on the pier as we exited the ship and had a small comfortable van/bus waiting for us and several other cruisers. After we all introduced ourselves we were quickly on our way.

Our first stop was a community center. There we met the senior citizens who use it daily. We played dominoes with them, danced with them and gave them packages of healthy food (prepared in advance by Dan and Berit, for us to "give"). Next stop was a preschool where I (being a teacher both in a former life and in my heart) sat down on the ground and started teaching finger plays to the children who immediately opened their hearts and smiling faces to me. Next stop was the patio garden of a local resident. Through a program affiliated with the Clinton Foundation, residents are growing vegetables on their home-patios both for their own use and for sale (what an idea… why not do it in the US?). He was just so proud of what he had done, he was glowing with pride in the warm Cartagena sun. Finally we stopped at the old town and took a walking tour with Dan and Berit who were totally familiar with the locals (running into several friends and introducing us to them) and stopped to buy some sweets at a local bakery and treats at a small restaurant all of which they generously shared with us.

We were back at the ship in plenty of time. The cost of all of this was about $20 per person, barely enough, IMHO to cover the cost of the transportation, snacks and the gifts of food to the seniors.

I can't recommend this excursion which is so much more than and excursion highly enough. I dream of the day I can return to Cartagena for a longer stay, perhaps to volunteer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank My_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We did this half day excursion with three generations of our family. It was a highlight for all 5 of us, including a teenager, a preteen, mom, dad, and grandma. We met doctors, nurses and patients at a children's hospital for most of the visit and then saw a bit of the city. Dan and Berit are fabulous and they are inspiring people, to say the least. We hope to see them again some day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wife2reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends For Colombia - Tours also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Friends For Colombia - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing