We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so much untapped potential”
Review of El Genoves Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Genoves Hostal
Ranked #14 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“so much untapped potential”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My background - I have been travelling through Central and South America for the past five months with my boyfriend, three months to go.

This hostel has so much potential!! The street is gorgeous, as is the building. Unfortunately there is just no atmosphere though and the staff are not very well trained or attentive. The only exception is the cleaner/night doorman who seems to work 24 hours and is very friendly. The manager has also been helpful when he has been here. Unfortunately the other staff members sit around on Facebook or eating and watching the guest television and it seems as though a big bother when you ask them for something.

With a bit of work and energy this hostel has the potential to be excellent. Some additions to the terrace and the communal television area would go along way. Also there is a bar area which isn't used.

The free breakfast is good by comparison though - cereals and toast with homemade jams.

I did feel bad for the man who seems to work 24 hours a day though. He could use some help from the other staff I think.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siân E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camc1984, Propietario at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello, first we would like to say thanks for the review.

We would like to clarify the situation about Jesus (the concierge) and his job. He doens't work 24 hours (that is exploitation), is illegal in our country working more than 8 hours and in case that happens, we as employers must pay extra hours. I our case Jesus live here, thats why you saw him at all time at the hostel. As I said before the working day consist in 8 hours per day 5 days a week.

In the other hand, we are new on the market, we are working on all the aspects that you mentioned. thats why we are not using the bar because is not finished and we have other details as you said before but we are working hard on all those aspects.

About the attitud of our employes, we are working on that problem and we are very sorry if you had a bad experience with us, we are going to try our best on that aspect because we want to give to our guest the best experience in Cartagena de Indias.

Thanks for the advises and the good energy!

Carlos Moreno
Owner/Manager
El Genovés Hostal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    50
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
6
23
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved this place but would hardly call it a hostel. This place is like a private villa! Super cool staff made our stay even better. Wi-fi is fast, nice kitchen, air conditioning and a small swimming pool made this hostel better than the bigger hostels in the area and it's still located in the old town. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: 12 bed dorm, 4 bed and some privates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camc1984, Propietario at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, It has been a pleasure to have you here sharing with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards!

El Genoves Hostal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I loved staying at the El Genoves hostel, very clean, great staff very friendly and helpful, nice rooms, a small swimming pool which is great to relax in, i fully recommend this hostel to anyone staying in cartagena, it would be stupid not to stay here!!! out of all the hostels i have stayed in this is my favourite by far!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian85M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camc1984, Propietario at El Genoves Hostal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, It has been a pleasure to have you here sharing with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards!

El Genoves Hostal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
0.3 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 169 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 169 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#11 of 169 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#15 of 169 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#20 of 169 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Genoves Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Genoves Hostal

Property: El Genoves Hostal
Address: Calle Cochera de Hobo # 38 - 27, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a colorful colonial-style hostel located in the city center in Cartagena. Magic for get-away weekends and group holidays at el Genoves Hostel there are rooms and dorms for everyone ... A roof terrace great for barbecues, predrinks and meet new people along your stay in Cartagena. And best .. Located in the city center, or as we call it locally in the "ciudad amurallada" everything is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your El Genoves Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing