We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice we could of made!”

El Balcon Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Balcon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #67 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were so happy to stay here. Initially we were staying in a cheap hostel in the center but after meeting Abdul in his restaurant in the plaza san diego we asked to have a look at the hotel and immediately changed. We loved this cozy little house to stay in. It was quiet, clean and beautiful..... just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelstar122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Love this place. Beautiful house with a lovely little pool to refresh in. Abdul the owner really made our stay unforgettable. Clean, beautiful, amazing owner and couldn't be in a better location...... try to get to his restaurant just up the road, its deff worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tavelling with my middle aged mother, I was a little skeptical of this hotel, as I was unsure whether the dorms that were available would result in noisy backpackers keeping her awake at night. Both her and I (22) quickly fell in love with El Balcon after we were accommodated with a lovely room for 2-4, at quite a decent price for the excellent location. It turned out to be a great place for me to meet young backpackers, despite not being one myself this time, while also providing her with the quiet and comfort that she needed.

The beautiful colonial home was equipped with a pool at the foot, where you could enjoy quiet time with Lato (la-tortuga), and with a lovely rooftop where I spent most of my nights reading and listening to the horses trotting along the calles. Everyone from the bilingual owners, Abdul and Mimi Falach, to the day and night time staff were accommodating, super friendly, and super helpful; taking their own initiative to make our two weeks in Cartagena most enjoyable.

Being a new family-run business there were little things that needed improvement, however, there was nothing that any visitors to an incredible city like Cartagena should've been overly concerned with. The services that were much more appreciated were the excellent tips on how to enjoy it to the fullest, such as where to eat (i.e La Mulata and La Malagana), where to get good ice cream, where to go on any given night, where to buy emeralds, and most importantly: where to get a damn good chocolate croissant for breakfast (a rare commodity in Cartagena). These guys definitely know their stuff and we thank them.

BRB,

- Toronto

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ2WRLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrirok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 157 in Cartagena
727 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 157 in Cartagena
2,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Arrecifes
Hostal Arrecifes
#103 of 171 in Cartagena
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Venecia
Hostal Casa Venecia
#46 of 215 in Cartagena
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#38 of 157 in Cartagena
1,618 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#23 of 157 in Cartagena
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Carbonara # 38 - 24 | Barrio San Diego, Centro, Cartagena 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: $16 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on the quality of service that we provide and the hospitality that we offer. All of our staff members are helpful and friendly, and our rooms are brand new and comfortable and clean. So, whether youre planning to stay for one night or one month, our bed and breakfast is a fantastic place for weary travellers to rest their heads and recharge their batteries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing