We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace sleep in cute, authentic hostel in ace location”
Review of Mama Waldy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mama Waldy Hostel
Ranked #74 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ace sleep in cute, authentic hostel in ace location”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Mama Waldy after an epic boat trip from Panama and were pretty whacked, filthy and sweating and even though we had no passports due to boat situation the owner (one of the two lovely brothers) was totally cool with it and let us settle in- I even had a nice cold tamarind juice brought to me whilst I got showered!

Our dorm room was fine - just a basic dorm with lockers and ensuite.

When we were let in the room it smelt really clean - like orangey/peach coming from the scented sticks they use - this was so nice! It was a bit dusty (weirdly this was mostly in the bathroom) but it's a great big old house and with the doors open all the time to get a breeze in to keep the dorms fresh it's just life I guess.

Ensuite has a wall that doesn't reach ceiling so not as much privacy as would have been ideal when sharing with others....

Funny little dog wandering around and a parrot that looks demented but is harmless (only squawking on one of our 4 mornings there); there is also a cat stalking about there so animal lovers will be happy there!

The best things about Mama Waldy were the coffee, the healthy fresh fruit and toast breaky, the air con they put on at night and the sleep we got - the doors and windows close all the light out and our room was cool and pitch black - an absolute dream to sleep in!!

Oh and the location is awesome - round the corner from everything and 2 mins walk from cute Plaza Trinidad which you can hang out in at night. Our friends were going to stay at Media Luna but it's on the noisy street so they decided to come to MW instead - much better value for money at MW too!

They also did our laundry, sorted our bus to Santa Marta and have created a lovely family feeling at their hostel - you can tell the brothers are really proud to offer their place to tourists.

Thank you Mama Waldy!
Nat and Andy X

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FNathalieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    9
    10
    6
See reviews for
3
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have been asking myself whether to write this review or just let it go, but after 3 sleepless nights, I guess it is time. This is possibly one of the worst hostels I have been to in my many years of travelling. I arrived at night, to find they were having a party. My dorm was just on the main lobby, and since there are no keys to the dorms, people can walk in and out. In fact, while I was there, somebody who was at the party just did so. That, with all travellers belongings left there. The room was so dirty, the bathroom so filthy, that I did not even consider going there. I just locked my stuff and ran out to eat. As I got back past midnight, it was finally quiet. But the dorm was so hot, so suffocating, that I could not sleep there. I walked out and one of the owners saw me and asked what was wrong, and I plainly said the room was filthy, hot, etc. He explained that they clean the place regularly but that if travellers are dirty and messy he can't help that. Possibly, what would help would be putting less beds in a dorm and maybe a hanger and a basket to throw away stuff. Hats off for his friendly and cooperative reaction: he put me in a private room, which is only slightly better - yet, no shower curtain, tiny bathroom, and cleanliness is another issue (there is about an inch of dust here). Breakfast is supposedly included, and surely paid for, but consists of 2 slices of toasted bread (with, I guess, cream cheese or butter), and coffee. But what really bothers me the most about this place is the CONSTANT music and noise. It only stops past midnight, so if you are up for an early night and feel tired, forget it. It feels like being in a disco, really. The landlady is nice and helpful, she helps getting bus tickets etc, but this can only make up for about a tenth for how bad this place is.

Room Tip: Just bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Loved the environment and the relaxed filing of the staff and all the guests. I felt welcomed and a part of a little hosel family. Recommended for friends and lonely travelers. They even have breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sighoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great place and I would definitely recommend it, although definitely a backpacker budget option. We booked a double fan room on hostelworld for a price of 100k pesos per night but when we arrived were given an aircon room for 70k pesos per night :)
Positives: Getting a good deal on the room, location is pretty decent (although not within the main part of the walled city we found that area to be really expensive for eating out while in the hostel area there were loads of reasonably priced bars and restaurants), staff were awesome (gave us loads of advice for heading into Venezuela and at one point I accidentally broke a glass from the kitchen and they were totally cool about it), there was a parrot and some puppys, good common area, the room itself had some cool artwork and a mirror/dressing table
Negatives: Bathroom was really basic with a hole instead of a window and no shower head on the shower (but that's a minor point overall)

Room Tip: I would recommend an aircon room wherever you stay in Cartagena!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a cozzy budget familly hostel. Ideal for backpackers, althought you need 10min walk to make it to the historical centre. The service is excellent and very laid back. But it is a budget place, don't expect luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusarapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at mama waldy for 3 nights. It's in a beautiful part of Cartagena where it comes alive in the evenings with some really good food options people are cooking out on the streets. If that's not for you there are tons of nice little restaurants close by too.

We stayed in a double bed in the top section of one of the rooms so it had a bit of privacy, but others were in and out quite often as it was being used as bag storage in the bottom section too. Cartagena is HOT this time of year, so the fan in the room helped a little but it was an uncomfortable night's sleep with the heat and the wood underneath the mattress not being secure and falling out if you moved too much.

Also the shower seemed to flood the whole bathroom so it got a bit messy where people were coming in and out of it.

The hostel is family run and although I didn't see mama waldy, her son who was running it was friendly. Another american who was working there at the time did a good job of giving us info on where to go in the city.

The place had a lively atmosphere in the evenings so if you want to be sociable you got plenty of opportunities to mingle.

Its only a 10 minute walk from el centre where the streets are really nice to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#6 of 192 in Cartagena
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Venecia
Hostal Casa Venecia
#39 of 192 in Cartagena
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#28 of 192 in Cartagena
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Green House Getsemani
Hostel Green House Getsemani
#31 of 192 in Cartagena
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#89 of 161 in Cartagena
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pachamama Hostel
Pachamama Hostel
#21 of 192 in Cartagena
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Waldy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Waldy Hostel

Property: Mama Waldy Hostel
Address: Getsemani, calle la sierpe No 29/03, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the neighborhood is more emblematic of Cartagena (Gethsemane street No 29-03) this sector is considered as the beginning of the revolution of the villagers or lancersGethsemane to proclaim the independence of Cartagena under Pedro Romero Walker.This sector has a large variety of restaurants, bars, variety of cuisine, shops and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mama Waldy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing