We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Ranked #49 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Mashhad, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

summery:
Food, shopping area close, clean room and helpful crew. close to port so no stocking in traffic to go to islands.
The room was clean, the shower and bathroom too, deserves 4 star for that. very beautiful architecture inside the hotel some parts are build like its a castle. crew very kind and helpful. very good location in front of beach with sun beds(u have to pay but cheap). good buffet breakfast. very good location if u wanna go to other islands(Rosario,...) and don't wanna spend an hour just to get to the port. also most of the restaurants are by walking distance of 3-10 min, such as burger king, KFC, MD. Lots of brands have shops there inducing Tommy Hilfiger and ... also in a 2-10 min walking distance.
At all I was happy to choose this hotel! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saharii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

El Hotel Almirante extends its sincere thanks for the comments posted on our Trip Advisor page. We have met our objectives, serve you with quality, efficiency, friendliness and safety.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, we would be honored to continue hospedándole.

I invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    371
    176
    74
    46
See reviews for
276
354
37
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have been 4 nights at Hotel Almirante for a business trip. The hotel is located 20-30 minutes by car from CTG airport, just by the beach. Good choice of restaurants, amenities (swimming pool and gym in the hotel), enough space in the room. Bathroom furniture could be improved. Hotel crew very kind. Breakfast selection wide, with many local choices.
Probably more a "four stars hotel", but I think it's a very good suggestion for business or touristic journeys in Cartagena.

Room Tip: It's possible to choose rooms with oceanic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena express thanks for the good comments posted on our Trip Advisor website, it is nice to be accepted and perceived by our customers as excellent service providers.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, it will be an honor to continue serving you.

Please, follow us on twitter and facebook.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms were ok but not overly spacious and the layout of the hotel meant that the entertainment area was open to all the rooms via the central atrium so even if you were on the top floor you could still hear lots of noise from the ground floor entertainments. Breakfast (inc in the price) was excellent but the service from reception staff was hit and miss depending on who was on duty. The swimming pool located on one of the higher floors gets sun only for about 1 hour in the morning at the time of year we were there whether it is more in summer i don't know but doubt it as it is on the north of the hotel and behind about 10 floors of the hotel that tower above it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena want to express our appreciation for your publication on our website Trip Advisor while offering our apologies for what happened with your luggage and the hotel services in general.

We strictly follow the feedback from our customers. We would like to be contacted by you so that we can determine its exact date and avoid it to happen again.
Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

on our first day, we had to carry our own luggage up to our room. There was no hot water and when we called they had us waiting for over an hour during which we had to call four times to get soneone to fix it. On the third day our room was not cleaned up and when we called we got a "we dont know what happened" reply. On the day we left, we of course had to carry our luggage down to the lobby bacause we got tires of waiting for a bell boy. Bottom line, this is not a 5 star service hotel. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena want to express our appreciation for your publication on our website Trip Advisor while offering our apologies for what happened with your luggage and the hotel services in general.

We strictly follow the feedback from our customers. We would like to be contacted by you so that we can determine its exact date and avoid it to happen again.
Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just a dire hotel, more basic and grim than a travel lodge. I've had the misfortune of staying here a couple of times on business thankfully never for more than one night at a time. The rooms are threadbare with dilapidated bathrooms and the utterly clueless reception staff take an age to check you into them. The breakfasts aren't even worth mentioning. AVOID!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverDeepBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thanks for your comment, we need to know in detail the circumstances that affected their perception of our service.

We would like to know the number of the room you stayed to inspect them and report you the current status of any details that might have caused your comment, they are arranged according to international standards that have certified us as a five-star hotel

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Was staying in this hotel for two weeks. It was a good experience, although I wish my room can be away from the central AC units (noisy). The breakfast is outstanding. The food is good and the service is good too. The location is also another thing to be considered. One block to a 24-hr grocery store, many eateries, street vendors, and mini stores.... The beach is right behind the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone if you are planning to visit Cartagena in the near future.

Room Tip: try to ask for rooms in the front end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeper24hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest.

I want to express our sincere thanks for the comment posted on our website on Trip Advisor.

We strive every day to ensure services of the highest quality to our guests.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena (La bella), contact us, we will gladly continue providing you unforgettable moments.

We invite you to follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel located in the centre of the esplanade in Cartegena. Before staying at this hotel I read some negative comments regarding the age of this hotel, but my worries were soon dismissed as soon as I walked into the lobby. The entrace is grand, the staff friendly, the rooms are spacious and elegant. It is a short taxi ride to the beautiful old city. The only negative experience which the hotel has no control over was the fact that the beaches aren't a fantastic standard compared to the beaches in Australia. The pool was also a little small and especially if there are kids jumping around having the time of their lives, it is a little hard to relax. But I'd never deny a child the chance to enjoy it while they can. Even though Cartegena is located on the coast, I wouldn't recommend people go there for the beaches. The walled city, old buildings, Crepes and Waffles, and the atmosphere of the city are all enough reasons to visit this wonderful city. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Almirante.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view over the ocean. However I imagine a view over the city would be just as plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broncos06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena express thanks for the good comments posted on our Trip Advisor website, it is nice to be accepted and perceived by our customers as excellent service providers.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, it will be an honor to continue serving you.

Please, follow us on twitter and facebook.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#23 of 155 in Cartagena
1,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#68 of 155 in Cartagena
595 reviews
5.8 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Property: Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Address: Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a five star hotel in historical Cartagena. Front beach located in the Bocagrande neighborhood,Almirante Cartagena Hotel is a modern hotel with elegant rooms and common areas to enjoy, an excellent place in the Caribbean for business and leisure. New Service: Satellite Television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing