We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“attacked by vendors on the beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Ranked #47 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“attacked by vendors on the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Cartagena is a very interesting historical place to visit. The old city is 6000 Pesos by cab and we feel it is very safe. Cabs were all honest. We speak little Spanish and were able to get around. The hotel staff is mostly friendly. The rooms need upgrade and are old. Two of the three main elevators were broken when we came and one was still not working when we left. Hot water was not available for two of the four day stay. It was barely warm and would get cold fast. Do not come for the beach. Massage, necklace and all sorts of vendors recognize a foreigner and wake you up, start touching you without permission and actually chased us off the beach becasue they would not leave us alone. It was a bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good afternoon Mr. Kurt.

We welcome your comments on Trip Advisor.

During those days, the hotel's water system had a flaw that fortunately was overcome.

We regret that your experience with the beach was not the best, we should have known about the case, we would have been able to advise on a transfer to other nearby beaches of the city, which is no harassment from vendors.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, contact us, It will be an honor to serve you again, your experience will be much better.

Please, follow us on twitter and like us on facebook

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    345
    167
    73
    42
See reviews for
269
331
35
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Guayana, Venezuela
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

It seems a little old both outside-inside, but the location is excellent -many restaurants and shops nearby- and the staff is remarkable. The food was not great but not bad either (when I stayed the menu changed day by day, putting special dishes from different countries). Overall, I didn't pick this hotel by myself but instead, it was "assigned" to me while being a participant in an international course on peacekeeping operations -so I was certainly not a tourist-. I know there are other choices around but this hotel does the job.

[Take into account that I actually stayed here in May 2011]

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omarhUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Mr. OmarhUN

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena, I express thanks for the good comments posted on our Trip Advisor website, it is nice to be perceived by our customers as service excellence providers.

We are renovating our facilities; I am sure you will like it, I invite you to visit us again, we are working to make you feel much more comfortable and pleased

Please, like our fan page on Facebook and follow us on twitter.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
592 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Almirante over the Hilton because we wanted a non-USA experience. Our disappointment was that it is not on the beach, but across the street from the public beach. And we did not know in advance that the water in CTG is murky in appearance and said to be polluted. We thought it would be like the Carribean islands.
The hotel is very clean, all the staff extremely pleasant, breakfast very nice. Front desk staff speak English fluently; nobody else speaks any, but all were gracious in dealing with our very poor Spanish.
The old city is 10 minutes away by cab, fare about $3 or $4.
Across the street is a food stand with amazing local take out - try it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cararro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Appreciated Guest

We sincerely thank you for the comment posted on our website on Trip Advisor.

We regret that your experience with the beach was not the best, during these days the wind has been blowing very strongly and the tide has been high.

Please contact us if you wish to travel to Cartagena, it will be an honor to serve you once again.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is located near the fortification.

The food in the hotel is not very good, in fact don't try the buffets.

The attention of he staff is excelent, they are very helpful and recomend everything, from where to eat, to the places you can go in the night.

The pool is very small, if you go ti the beach watch the people selling stuff and trying to give you massages, without giving first a cost.

One must visit the historic city or fortified city, its at walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, its almost the same as the junior suite for a better price. Don't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco711119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Respected Guest,

We greatly appreciate your publication on Trip Advisor, we are pleased to know that we have done our duty.

Whenever you come to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, it will be an honor to assist you again.

Visit our website, through it you can also make your reservations.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent our honeymoon there and it was fabulous!!! The room we got was really nice and overlooking the old city , what a such a beautiful and romantic view! Not to mention its quality in service and delicious food!
The staff made our stay unforgettable giving us suggestions about we could do both the hotel and the city so we could enjoyed every minute of our lovely trip.
The Hotel Almirante will be always our first choise when visit Cartagena!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Mr. GabrielGaz

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena express thanks for the good comments posted on our Trip Advisor website, it is nice to be perceived by our customers as service excellence providers.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, it will be an honor to follow serving you.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
269 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Got the opportunity with my wife, to visit cartagena de Indias in December 2012 for one week and stay at the Almirante, I found the hotel in perfect location, during my time there were some woks been done at the main entrance, but this did not hamper our holidays, the hotel has a perfect location, staff is very pleasant and i feel at home with so many smiles.

Room Tip: Got a corner suite with fantastic views at the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hernan1952LosCabosMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
On behalf of the Almirante Hotel staff we thank you for your sincere words and we hope that at the next opportunity will allow us to serve them and make you feel at home again. Believe us that we are grateful for your understanding and honesty.
cordially

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Almirante Cartagena during a business layover on October 2012. Upon arrival, the hotel staff helped me carry luggages to my room, very standard and smooth service. The front desk check in was easy and straightforward. Staff English knowledge were very decent as well.
I didn't get a chance to use its facilities such as breakfast, pool among others. However, the hotel looks very new, spacious and modern. The restaurant looks very nicely decorated and all the staff were very friendly.
Security is very good at Almirante, mainly because you'll need your key card to activate the elevator to your room's floor. However, you can get around this security feature by using the stairs, which kind of defeat the purpose of elevator key card activation.
At one point, I left my room slightly opened because I had to get ice, and right away within minutes, a security guard came to make sure everything is fine and that I didn't leave my room door opened by accident. Security was quite superb.
Upon check in, I was also given a voucher to the adjacent casino and since it's my first time in Cartagena, the front desk lady was very kind to suggest where to eat, drink and exchange money.
My room was very nice, located on one of the top floors. I could see the beach from the room and the view was quite magnificent. I don't know about other floors, but there were no carpet on the floor, so if you want to walk around freely, please remember to bring your own sandals.
The bed was a king size bed with very comfortable sheets. I did find the room a little cold, specially in the middle of the night.
The bathroom was spacious and clean with all the required amenities. Fortunately it was a business trip and I didn't have to pay for the room, so I can't comment on its 'value'. However, based on what I experienced, I would most likely inquire this hotel first before researching any other hotel in Cartagena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpy_lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Google Translation
Respetado Huésped,

Agradecemos enormemente su publicación en Trip Advisor, para nosotros es grato saber que hemos cumplido con nuestro deber.

Siempre que venga a Cartagena de Indias, por favor contáctenos, con el mayor de los gustos le seguiremos atendiendo.

Visite nuestra página Web, a través de ella también podrá hacer sus reservaciones.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
5.0 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#25 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#28 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#70 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Property: Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Address: Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a five star hotel in historical Cartagena. Front beach located in the Bocagrande neighborhood,Almirante Cartagena Hotel is a modern hotel with elegant rooms and common areas to enjoy, an excellent place in the Caribbean for business and leisure. New Service: Satellite Television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing